We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil oasis in the chaos of Colombo...”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A tranquil oasis in the chaos of Colombo...”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This hotel was excellent from the moment we arrived until when we left. The design of the hotel and the interior of the rooms are stunning. They combine classic colonial architecture with modern and funky design features. The rooms themselves had all the facilities you'd need, from i-pod docking to bathrooms and toiletries.
Each room is allocoted a 'domo' who acts as your concierge throughout your stay, and we found the service from all staff at the hotel was good.
The location itself is a little out of the main hotel district in Colombo, but we didn't find this impacted our stay, as everything is a tuk-tuk away.
We ate a few times in the hotel, and each time the food was cooked to perfection in true Sri Lankan style.
Price wise it's at the top end, but definitley worth it!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0rthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
We were so very happy to read your review of your stay at CASA Colombo, that we shared it with our entire CASA Colombo Team!

It was a great pleasure serving you, and we feel that we have achieved our goal in helping you to have a relaxing and memorable stay, while at CASA Colombo.

We hope we will see you again very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our check-in was delayed although we arrived at 4:00 pm and had to wait for about 45 minutes till they got the room ready for us.However,this was compensated with a late check-out.

Pros:
1)The rooms are to die for,absolutely stunning!!We just didn't want to leave.
2)We had lunch and dinner there and the food was excellent.

Areas for improvement:
1)Breakfast selection was limited.
2)Our domo was not very approachable.It seemed like he wasn't really interested in ensuring we had a comfortable stay.

Overall,its a great property and 'almost' perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prathiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at CASA Colombo. We very much appreciate the positive, as well as negative comments, as these help us to improve our service further.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the ambience that we had to offer you, and have taken your other comments also to heart.

Please do visit us again, and enjoy a unique CASA Colombo experience!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a few days whilst on honeymoon. We were assigned a domo (Dan). The hotel is stunning and our suite was gorgeous. Unfortunately, on our third night my husband became ill with food poisoning (not from the hotel restaurant). We were to leave Colombo the next day. Dan arranged for us to stay an extra night and booked another hotel for us to stay at the day after, as there were no rooms at Casa Colombo (by this time I was also ill). Even after we had left the hotel he helped us to arrange transportation to Nuwara Eliya. We returned to Casa Colombo on our penultimate day in Colombo. Dan had arranged an upgrade for us to a suite even more sumptuous than the last.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
We were very disappointed that your stay in Sri Lanka was marred by illness during the final part of your stay, but we hope that we at CASA Colombo have been able to make it up to you in our own little way.

Thank you very much for your very kind comments about CASA Colombo, and we are certainly looking forward to your next visit with us.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

In an excellent location set back from Galle Road in Colombo 4, Casa Colombo's first impresssion is near perfection. A beautiful villa, a nice lounge garden and swiming pool. The interior is a staggering combination of authentic looking tiled floors and wooden staircases set off by ultra modern furniture, golden ceilings, white leather wall panelling and mirrors everywhere. The rooms go even further: vast spaces, Nakamichi sound and video systems, polished cement bathroom fixtures, green glass shower and toilet enclosures, a copper bathtub and a really superb bed (the best in all 10 upmarket hotels we visited). But after the first impression some setbacks do appear: all windows are frosted glass, so you cannot look outside from your room without opening a window. Airconditioning is very hard to control. The double vanities lack place to put your toothbrush. The lighting system is very sophisticated, but takes a lot of study to understand. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, but service is very slow. On two of our three nights a nearby disco club rocked away deep into the night. The restaurant is nice with some surprising and tasty dishes on the menu. Some rumours say Casa Colombo is an off license place, but we were served a fine selection of drinks and wines.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RallyWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you so very much for your review of your stay at CASA Colombo. We greatly appreciate the comments both positive and negative, as this is the only way in which we can improve on the service we have to offer you.

It is great that you found the décor and ambience of CASA Colombo impressive, and we will certainly take the other comments to heart and work towards possible solutions.

We look forward to your next visit at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our last night in Sri-Lanka and this hotel was more in line with what we were used to.

Everything was very good from check in with our private butler (Domos), the room (simply amazing), the ambiance and charm of this hotel, the breakfast (no buffet), and the help of all the staff around.

The only negative point was the presence of a show during our stay and nobody informed us upon booking (it didn't look like a last minute event). We didn't hear anything which was a very good thing and quite surprising as the hotel is an old mansion but we could only have dinner in the room or outside the hotel. Not in the hotel.

Will definitely come back if we are in Colombo.

Room Tip: All suites are different so just get surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebeachwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
It was a great honour to the entire CASA Colombo Team to read your review of your stay with us, and we are glad that the service we had to offer you was to your satisfaction.

With regard to the Fashion Show, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, and we assure you that we will endeavour in future to ensure that none of our guests are missed out when informing about special events such as this.

We look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is an excellent boutique hotel. Each room was done up differently. To the delight of our children, their suite had an MacBook, iPod dock etc.

Food is of decent quality although the staff could be a little bit more attentive.

Their concept of "personal butler" or Majordomo works well specially if you are lucky to get Dan. Knowledgeable, helpful and ever smiling...the guy is outstanding.

Be sure to get your own wine etc. since the hotel does not have a liquor license.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Your review of your stay at CASA Colombo was read with great enthusiasm and was shared with the entire CASA Colombo Team. We are very happy that we have been able to exceed your expectations with the service we had to offer you, and that you had a fantastic experience whilst with us.

We too would absolutely love to have you back again at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Finished our 2 week holiday by staying here on our last 3 nights. What an experience! We were a family of 14 , so we had 5 suites - each one different and amazing. Pure luxury. The staff made it fabulous as well as they couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was very pleasant and 'made to order'. The pool wasn't big, but also a fantastic experience just by the design of it.
Would love to go back sometime.....

Room Tip: Each suite was different and special in some way. Couldn't choose 1 in particular as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Your review of your stay at CASA Colombo was read with great enthusiasm and was shared with the entire CASA Colombo Team. We are very happy that we have been able to exceed your expectations with the service we had to offer you, and that you had a fantastic experience whilst with us.

We too would absolutely love to have you back again at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
751 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing