We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Colombo”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Casa Colombo”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

As a business traveller I have to say what a fantastic hotel. The room was absolutely incredible, large and spacious including a computer to access the internet, and a lounge area with a large flat screen TV. A great touch was having the sound system in the room to attch your I-pod to.
The bed was large and comfortable, the bedding always clean.
The master bathroom featured a beautiful copper bathtub, a large walk through shower and some fantastic modern archetecural design.
The pictures on the website only tell half the story, because the service was just as fantastic, special thanks to Arrun Suseenthiran for his exceptional service and attention to detail. Ensuring that all my requirements were met during my stay. I have to say all the staff were a pleasure to talk to, and always there to help.
The food was also easily five star quality, some of the best dishes I've had anywhere.

I will be coming back not only for business, but also will be coming for a holiday with my wife. Which is something I'm truly looking forward to in July.

Not to mention the bill is easily a quarter of what I would expect to pay in any other country. It was quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at CASA Colombo. We will share your comments with the other members of the CASA Colombo Team.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the service we offered you, as a business traveler, and we are already looking forward to your next visit!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Karachi
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

After the tea country the second best thing that happened to me in sri lanka. Top notch and comfortable boutique hotel.
The staff is very polite and efficient. Our domo Arrun was there to help us in every way.

my suggestion to the management would be to add tea making facility and an iron in the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We greatly appreciate your review with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. Your comments will be shared with the entire CASA Colombo Team.

We have made note of your suggestions and will try to implement something very soon. In the meantime, we do hope that you will visit us again for the unique “CASA experience”!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed two nights in mid-March, arriving at 3.00am. Welcomed and shown to room promptly. Breakfast by the small water feature is lovely - we were greeted the German GM with great enthusiasm. My mother-in-law (Sri Lankan) lives around the corner and we were there solely to visit her so did not need local advice. We had dinner with her in the restaurant on our first evening - completely empty due to either no licquor licence (except for hotel guests) or mediocre food. Service was always over- attentive and under-whelming in delivery - far too much 'chat' - 30 minutes for dinner and then bread arrived at same time as food - not the end of the world but a recurring theme. Breakfast always slow - we advise you have the Sri Lankan breakfast which is delicious, avoid cold, hard omelette. Room was lovely and quirky and charming and very comfortable beds, big shower and reasonable water pressure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levijaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. Your positive as well as negative comments help us to improve further the service we have to offer you and thereby giving you the totally unique experience that is CASA Colombo.

We have taken to heart your comments with regard to the delay in serving your meals, and will work towards improving that end of our service.

However, we do hope that you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to show you that CASA Colombo is all about serving our guests!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Recently, my wife and I returned to Sri Lanka for the second time. We opted to stay at the Casa Colombo and were glad we did.
We liked the location on Galle Road in the heart of Colombo. The restaurants, shopping and sites were all close by.
The hotel is actually a restored mansion. It is a boutique hotel with 12 restored rooms.The rooms are large, unique and decorated in a retro style, very funky! There are choices of three eating areas the most appealing to us was the outdoor settings next to a tranquil pond. The coolest feature however was the pink swimming pool surrounded by large inviting lounges some of which had canopies. If we had criticism about the facilities it would be that it is getting tired.Things like cleaning the air conditioners to eliminate mould build up and some paint touch ups wouldn't hurt.
The absolute best feature for us was having our own domo, (...think cool butler). Our domo's name was Kumara and he was amazing. Should you decide to go to Casa Colombo we highly recommend that you ask for him. He clearly likes people and enjoys his job. He is available for your every wish or to solve problems should they occur. He is very knowledgeable about Colombo and made great restaurant recommendations for us (Tao at the Grand Cinnamon was fabulous). In our case too his English was good so communication was not a problem. He definitely was the best aspect of our stay at Casa Colombo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at CASA Colombo, which will be shared with the entire CASA Team.

The specialty of CASA Colombo is the service we offer our guests, because YOU are our greatest asset, and our prime objective is to keep you happy and relaxed.

We have taken to heart your suggestions and will make arrangements to sort these out as soon as possible. Your suggestions help us to provide you with an even better service, and we thank you for it.

We hope that you will visit us again soon and enjoy the unique “CASA experience”!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Stayed at Casa Colombo in early March for 2 nights .Cassa Colombo is a very special property , Clean ,welcoming,great service and good reasonably priced meals.We got to Cassa at approx 10 am as our flight to Colombo was early that morning.We did not expect to get checked in that early , and were happy to hang around till it was ready.We were greeted on our arrival by Kumara who introduced himself as our Domo,we didnt really no what a Domo was ,he turned out to be our ver own private butler.Kumara said we can check in straight away and went on to say that any thing we wanted during our stay will be taken care of by him personally.Kumara was a excellent Domo and as promised was always there for us.The deco of the rooms are a bit retro but very tastfully done When you first enter your room you might think you maybe in the waiting room as there are 2 rooms ,a lounge area and your bedroom. the bathroom was also very spacious ,and had a beautiful inviting cast iron bathtub ,with lovely led glass windows and a huge shower area .If I really had to look for a negative at Cassa I would say the pool area could be more inviting . My wife and I visit Colombo every 3 months as we have business in Galle so we have tried many hotels in Colombo .This trip we also stayed at Paradise road (look at my review on Paradise road).Paradise road was also a boutique hotel but didn't come close to Casa Colombo To sum up , Cassa is a very special boutique hotel with great rooms, great food, great service and your very own Dommo, And if you are lucky to get Kumara your stay will be even more special.
Brian Pieris.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raider5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at CASA Colombo, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the service we had to offer you. Your comments will be shared with every member of the CASA Colombo Team.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo real soon!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night at the start of my Sri Lanka holiday. The room was wonderful, excellent quality fixtures and fittings along with the all important comfortable bed.
The bathroom had twin sinks, along with a large twin shower room. The standard of the room exceeding expectations. Compared to other hotels in Colombo, this represents the best value for money. The only meal eaten at the hotel was breakfast, which wasn't that great. I would highly recommend eating at The Gallery Cafe (just a five minute tuk-tuk ride away) rather than the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We are very thankful for your comments with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo.

We were saddened to note that you were disappointed with the meal we had to offer you, and will certainly try and improve this end of our service.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future and enjoy the “CASA experience”.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Possibly the coolest hotel room I've ever had. The bar, garden and pool are equally cool. Every room is unique (and a suite), the lighting is fantastic, high ceilings, huge bed, and all of the showers and faucets are waterfalls. Service was mediocre and the food was not good, but still worth the splurge just for the excellent decor. Very romantic.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your review on your stay at CASA Colombo, and are pleased that you found the ambience of CASA Colombo to be something of a unique experience.

We do note with concern however, your disappointment with regard to our service and the meals on offer, since we always strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will certainly look into the matter and try to improve on this end.

In the meantime, we do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing