We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greaaaat place to party!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clique

Clique
Ranked #84 of 555 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Gastropub, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: CONCEPT An evolution of the groundbreaking concept of having two noises within one space, CLIQUE reopens with a bang and presents CLIQUE BAR and CLIQUE CLUB. TWO different ambiances, genres of music and design concepts in ONE venue. As the night progresses, your experience can follow suit without leaving the space. DJ's, live music and performances will seamlessly navigate your journey within the venue. SPACE What do YOU fancy, tonight? A lychee laced martini to take the edge off a long day, to dance like no one is watching or enjoy a fine fish dish. Whatever it is, you can get it at CLIQUE. CLIQUE is located in the Colombo Pharmacy building and is sprawled across two floors. The main floor is demarcated into a BAR, featuring a private walk-in elevator, outdoor seating area, and CLUB. The lower level hosts a fusion concept restaurant and intimate dinning area. DÉCOR & THEME CLIQUE GastrobAR A personality to dine for. Quirky, stylized, sophisticated and more than enough room for the booth of you! CLIQUE BAR has a nice mixture of modern diner and cocktail seating, there is a colourful story painted across the walls and more waiting to unfold. Whenever you stumble across an epic venue, you often wonder- "If only the walls could talk"....... so it is no surprise that this time around our walls are making a distinctive statement....come and get in on the conversation. Let us be a protagonist in YOUR story. CLIQUE CLUB The party leaves no room to LOUNGE. It is time to join the CLUB. Bring on the bigger, better and bolder. CLIQUE's boisterous alter ego defines the space and frames the city with a very distinctive (and breathtaking) point of VIEW. Modern in design and perspective, a very necessary late night adventure. It really is all of the lights. SERVICE & CUISINE Beautifully illustrated and illuminated, East meets West in all its eccentric glory at CLIQUE. The BAR opens early and the CLUB closes late, just for YOU- seven days a week. Serving South Asian gastro-pub inspired beverages and cuisine at the CLIQUE GastrobAR
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greaaaat place to party!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Good food , good music, good crowd ! It made Colombo a more happening experience !!! A must visit when u r there !

Helpful?
1 Thank tanvi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    37
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Amazing Ambiance, Best Steaks in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I took a bunch of my clients from London to this bar/lounge for a couple of drinks. Ended up staying the entire night! Ambiance was remarkable, as they have paid a lot of attention to lighting & design. The Service was very personal and even though it was our first time, we felt that the Manager (Romesh) went out of his way to make us feel at home. There was also a great band playing that night.

The menu is limited, but it has some interesting fusion dishes. The steaks we ordered were prepared to perfection. Even though it’s on the pricey side, I feel that quality standards are maintained. I will definitely be going back to try out their range of Japanese dishes…

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Drazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantaloupe_Aqua, Director of Sales at Clique, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Clique! We will be sure to pass on the comments to our Culinary Team and Restaurant staff on service. We strive to achieve the best in service and constantly challenge ourselves to improve in every aspect of service.

Glad to know that you have visited thrice ! Next time we shall have our team keep an eye out for it as you are eligible for a little treat :) We look forward to welcoming you again at Clique and Thank you once again for your feedback.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Chic and elegant venue in Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

When we arrived on the carpark, located behind union place, we were not too sure that we were at the good place; it is quite funny and original to enter in a restaurant by a building. We took an elevator up to the 5th floor and when the doors opened we were surrounded by a 180-degres view on the town Hall, the white mosque and Union place. There was a nice girl at the entrance to welcome us and direct us to our table.

The ambiance was cozy with black, brown and gold setting and nice chandeliers. It was quite romantic and the jazzy music was matching nicely with the candles. If you can book in advance, ask for a table at the window side so you can enjoy the view during diner.

The food was pretty good. I took some sushis and a salad, dragon rolls were fantastic. My friend took a beef steak which was also very good. The waiter explained that the cooking was “sous-vide” (a gastronomic technic apparently) and the beef imported from Australia. I guess that is why it was very tender.

After diner we went to the lounge bar where a lady was singing modern songs with a guitarist. The girl had an impressive voice. We sited and order some drinks, again with the view on the town hall. The service and cocktails were good. I took a Mojito without sugar and they did it correctly, which is rare in Sri Lanka. The lady continued singing up to midnight I think and after more people joint. The music got lauder and more people started to dance. It was a more dynamic ambiance with girls and boys dancing on electronic music.

When we left around 1.30am, we still met people in the elevator who were coming to continue the night...

In conclusion, fantastic scenery and elegant place; perfect for a date or for a chic night out with friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Been here a couple of times and the food has been absolutely fantastic and the service has been so fast as well. The sashimi was great and the mixed fried rice was also excellent. Try the steak as well which is cooked to perfection.

The music has also been superb here. There is a fantastic live band on Wednesdays and the weekend draws a good crowd.

Pricing is also reasonable. I would recommend it all in all and will certainly be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amrithds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great ambience - not so great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

When you walk in, (to the restaurant side of course:)) the setting is really romantic, the view of the town hall on one side, and all the way down the road towards Slave island on the other, on a night, it really sets the mood for the absolute dining experience.

When we were brought the menu however, it was disappointing to see the limited choice. Personally it is the menu with the most limited options that I have ever come across. We were starved by the time we got here, so we just quickly ordered whichever was acceptable, among the the items which were somewhat exorbitantly priced.I ordered the chilli prawn pasta (if i recall right) however, the plating up of the dish was really disappointing. It was quite simply, noodles "chucked" on a plate (Harischandra special - a local product at that!).

NO attention whatsoever and gone in to plating, and the taste was an even bigger let down. it was just noodles with tomato sauce. May be the tried to pass it off as vermicelli, but they were over done and mushy, way past the point of being "Al Dente"!!

had the food been 5 star, or even 4 star, the five star prices would have been acceptable. Overall this was a disappointment, the only reason we even at the food was because all of us were absolutely starving!! Shame, if they improve on the food, it would be a superb restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lakigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clique S, Guest Relations Manager at Clique, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Our intention with the Supper Club is to provide early to late night dining which combine Soul, Tradition, Modernism and Glamour. We believe that the interior style of Techy Baroque combined with the breathtaking views of Colombo skyline make it the perfect spot for a romantic evening.

The menu you sampled was our Introductory Menu. As a new establishment focusing on Eurasian Modernist Cuisine, and using methods never seen before in Colombo, we decided to start with a shorter menu in order to introduce and perfect some of our signature dishes first.

In regards to the pricing, all of our steaks are imported from Australia which is why they are slightly more expensive than your average steak in Colombo. Our full menu will be introduced in mid-June and will include many new options varying in price.

One of the main features of our introductory menu is our Condiments and Sauces section. The idea behind this is that, although the menu may be small, it allows the customer to customize his or her own dish. For example they can choose to have their steak with our mushroom red wine reduction sauce, or if they prefer it spicy they can sample our Jalapeno chimchurri sauce and can accompany it with one of our pickled vegetable options.

Our Chilli Prawn Pasta is enriched in a tomato sauce and is served with prawns and linguine pasta, the brand of pasta used is San Remo. We do apologise your pasta was overcooked, this is something we will continue to aim to perfect.

We look forward to you returning to try our new dishes. If you enjoy live music, we currently have Tanuja and Nathan playing a mixture of Blues, Jazz, World Music, Neo-Soul and RnB on Wednesdays and Slipping Chairs playing a range of modern cover songs on Thursdays. Please call me (Emma) on 0766412946 to make a reservation and I will personally ensure that you are well looked after.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clique also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Clique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing