We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive name”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bed Hostel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed Hostel Colombo
Ranked #20 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Attractive name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2014

I've stayed there with some friends
very cozy place and the staff where very helpful and their manager
nice outside place to chill out
really recommend this place to stay
it's the place to sleep, work, and have fun

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IbrahimZooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for the feedback Ibrahim! So good to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    21
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
11
46
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

They have lots of facilities (free bikes, kitchen, fast wifi,..), it's a good neighbourhood, every evening there is some party and an awesome vibe! Best hostel i've been to in my travels. You must go there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thanks for the review! It was great having you here. Best of luck in India!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed in this hostel only for a night, but spent my whole next day there as well (waiting for a flight). It is amazing how great everything works, regarding the hostel is brand new. They offer so much free stuff (food, towels, adapters...) and the girls working on the reception couldn't be more friendly and helpful. I was so happy when they told me they offer laundry service (they even do it for you) and it is pretty cheap. The common areas are perfect for meeting other backpackers and kitchen is well equipped. The only downsides are, that the wifi sometimes works very slowly (impossible to upload photos to dropbox for example) and the mosquitos. Because of the river in the back yard there are houdreds of them. Fortunately each bed has a net and a small fan. Bathrooms are pretty clean and private. There is a wide selection of DVDs and good sound system. Great surprise are the bikes you can rent for free (first two hours). All around the common areas you can find this clever hostel ideas, for example a big board with counting nationalities, a world map where you can mark your home town. They also offer many activities every evening, have book exchange... I think many western hostels could learn sth from BED hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teja92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thanks for the review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Bed Hostels Colombo. About the wifi: we have a 4G connection, but it had run out the day you were here. We are looking into solutions to avoid this happening again, and we appreciate the feedback. Enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Feels better than a hostel. Really appreciated the attention to detail that generally doesnt come with $12 a night. The games nights and organised bar crawls was a nice touch by the staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thanks for the review! It's great to hear you had fun in Bed. Enjoy the rest of your travels, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We decided to treat ourselves to the most expensive accommodation we paid for in the whole of Sri Lanka. And we visited based on other peoples advice and were disappointed. The rooms were basic but very clean, however there was an infestation of ants in the bedroom and bathroom. Although, the beds all had mosquito nets they hung too close to the bed so we all got bitten through the netting. The hostel being placed right next to a canal didn't help either. The use of 'big white towels' were more a tea towel and were only given when asked for.We never got told you could help yourself to jam and toast. The two ladies running it saw us struggle opening the fridge on numerous occasions and told us we couldn't use that fridge but didn't think to tell us there is another communal fridge by that time our food had all gone mouldy. The communal areas were very clean and sociable and being able to check in at 4 am was a gods gift. However, we were asked three times if we arrived that day after four days of being there.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaandbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
So sorry to hear you weren't happy with your stay at Bed Hostels Colombo. We value the feedback. The (locked) sales fridge, guest fridge, and breakfast are usually explained on checkin; I'll make sure all the receptionists are still doing that. We use repellent chalk and spray daily to make sure no ants get inside, so this is not usually an issue, but we will start paying special attention the dorm where you stayed just in case. It's important for us that we are not only the best value backpacker hostel in Colombo but also the best experience, and we are constantly working to make sure that's the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
388 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Te gentleman behind the Bed's Collection of Hostels is a Very Smart Man, as there is no other hostels in my research that came close to, and would of delivered, what Bed's have offered and succeeded in Achieving.

Currently writing my review from thier pong pong table, Bed's should be the only Choice as the hostel in Colombo.. and Soon many other locations around Sri Lanka.

New in every aspect, separate large chill out rooms and outside chill out areas aswell. Events on Every night and helpful young staff that will show you whatever you need to know to get out and about in Colombo.

Those travelling from India... Super fast Internet, great chance for those photo uploads and movie downloads for the next long haul trip.

can't realy comment on Price, £7.34/night for a 10 bed dorm does seem kind of high, for this part of the world, but the inclusions (towel, hot water, big dorms, simple breakfast) does justify its price.

Always spotlessly clean with the local staff always doing some type of cleaning, and a supermarket just outside the door making either eating out or cooking in the kitchen both super simple and easy options.

highly recommended Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Wow, you're making us blush! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the feedback. Have a brilliant time in KL and on the rest of your travels -- and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had a seriously fun time staying at Bed. The management is laid back and really takes the time to help you out, show you around the area, and just be fun and cool to hang out with. I have been to posh hostels in Europe that are WAY less sociable and fun. Sure, the rooms are basic, but it's a hostel. To be honest I didn't spend much time in my room anyway because I was enjoying being out in the common areas hanging out with staff and other guests. Highly recommended and be sure to bring bug spray!

Room Tip: Just reserve your bed early and don't be snooty about sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckygutsy, Manager at Bed Hostel Colombo, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi Greg! Thanks for the review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time in Bed as much as we liked having you. We will work on making the dorms bedder (not as good a pun as yours, I admit...).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Boutique
Sunrise Boutique
#26 of 51 in Colombo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#24 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel at Galle Face
Hostel at Galle Face
#3 of 131 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 131 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#4 of 131 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed Hostel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Hostel Colombo

Property: Bed Hostel Colombo
Address: No 17 17a, Park Avenue | Off Park Road, Colombo 05, Colombo 00500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed Hostel Colombo 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're BED. Not your average, run of the mill, everyday kind of hostel accommodation. 50 Bed hostel located in the heart of bustling Colombo. The contemporary design-led chill-out areas and bars make Bed the place to socialise with friends, old and new. With a range of rooms at competitive prices, great food, excellent security, free WiFi, Computers, Bike Rentals and friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed Hostel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing