We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you may need upon arrival”
Review of CityRest Fort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityRest Fort
Ranked #5 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“All you may need upon arrival”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I believe CityRest-Fort is the first choice for a growing number of solo or friends visitors as they arrive to Sri Lanka. It actually works well for that purpose. The location is very good, the service nice and the rooms and baths are relatively clean. I would not give more than a 4 mark if it was in Europe, but considering the options you have in Colombo, I would say it is an excellent option for a b&b/hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RM00184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    119
    47
    21
    6
See reviews for
22
66
155
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

After struggling to find value accommodation in Colombo we decided to stay at Cityrest Fort

Agree with other reviewers great to get a juice and cold facewasher on arrival we had been on a bus for last 4 hrs from Kandy so were feeling a bit yuk.

My BF and I got two beds in a mixed dorm lucky us we had it to ourselves !

Very clean really good AC - power plugs had different connections so we could charge all our gear with Aussie Plugs

Breakfast was good for what you pay for the accommodation - fruit tea coffee toast eggs and cereal.

Staff are friendly but not too in your face

The location is literally next to Dutch Hospital restaurants - as with most parts of Sri Lanka expect the "hello miss - come here do this" being in such a touristy location you will get a bit more people bugging you on the street,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank North_Queenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawar Islands, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

While booking online I thought this place is bit pricy ,, but it turns out worth it .. Super good location ,, many restaurants and bars around the corner ,, very clean ,, upon check in I got a refreshing drink and towel ,, the give breakfast ( I didn't try it, I left super early) ,,, there isn't any other place around the same location with the same price range with the same value ,, I will diffidently come back when In Colombo ,,

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bhr477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I spent one night in this hotel at my arrival in Sri Lanka, I chose it basically for its location, despite -being so new- it didn't have any review yet.
It is fantastically located, being at the very centre of the city and with an easy connection to all the other areas; you can get by foot to the ocean shore, to the market, to the bus or train station in a few minutes. All the other hotels in that area are very expensive luxury hotels, so it was a grat deal to me to be able to stay there without spending a big money.
The manager, Mr. Hameed, was incredibly kind to me and helped me a lot giving tips on what is more worth visiting in Colombo, where to eat, how to book bus or train tickets, and finally he called a tuk-tuk for me in order for me to get to the place where the night bus to Jaffna was leaving.
Rooms are clean and A/C equipped, at the time I stayed there everything was new and spotless.
I would definitely advise it to every traveller.
Paola

Room Tip: It's probably better to choose a room in the internal part of the hotel, as they don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulinaBoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed only one night and didn't do sighseeing. Location is good, close to bys and train stations. Staff is nice and helpful. For breakfast there's not only toast and egg but also cereal, sausages, juice, fruits - this is great, some more variety available. Room is clean and with small closet for your things. Bathroom is clean. I saw one dead cockroach there on floor, but it happens... Unfortunately bathrooms, as there is way out to firecase, are used as smoking rooms. There's no window in the room - that's the biggest disadvantage. In general nice place for short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porec, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great place! I stayed there three times, each time I returned to Colombo. The location is perfect for all the sightseeing, shops and restaurants, the ocean, the Fort, Pettah world market and also for transportation out of Colombo. Both Fort and Secretariat Railway stations are in walking distance. You can take the local bus 187 to the airport just down the road, and it's his first stop so will be empty at the begining which is great for your luggage. The wi-fi and AC are working perfectly, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadoka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel and were immediately greeted with a welcome drink and cold towels (much needed in the hot climate!) we were helped with our luggage,shown around and given a little amenities bag! The rooms were spotless, comfortable and had the best air con!
Located right in the heart of Colombo, close to the train, temples and a short ride to the beach wall. There was a great group of restaurants about 1 minute walk away. Lots to choose from and a great atmosphere.
The breakfast that was included in our stay was awesome! Freshly made and lots to choose from.
The wifi was an added bonus and had a great fast connection. The staff were super friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel/hostel!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasing_the_Sun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#21 of 55 in Colombo
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#18 of 55 in Colombo
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 55 in Colombo
2,048 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 55 in Colombo
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityRest Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityRest Fort

Property: CityRest Fort
Address: 46 Hospital Street | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CityRest Fort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within a 5 minute walk to the City's main Bus and Train stations, CityRest Fort is located at the heart of Colombo City Center. The Hotel offers clean and comfortable accommodation to budget conscious travelers and backpackers. The Hotel comprises of 17 Quadruple and Triple Dorm rooms as well as Private shared or en-suite rooms. All rooms are fully Air Conditioned and are additionally fitted with a ceiling fan for guests' comfort. The rooms also include free high speed WiFi internet, individual reading lamps, large personal safety lockers, and a writing table. En-suite rooms also include a large washroom with walk-in shower and free toiletries, LED TV with cable channels, minibar and a room safe. Bed linen and towels are provided free of charge at the Hotel and each of our guests are greeted with a refreshing cold towel and a welcome drink upon arrival by our very friendly staff. The Hotel also provides free buffet breakfast with hot and cold food for all guests and has a large common room with cable TV, board games, public computers (with internet) and a book library. Furthermore, guests can unwind or sunbath in the Hostel's rooftop garden with a drink and take in the breathtaking views of the World Trade Center and the Colombo Dutch Hospital Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your CityRest Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing