We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food poison at taprobane restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
welling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“food poison at taprobane restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Reception is very slow and trainee staff at the desk! Everything else ws good other than the food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdWelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    1,202
    317
    120
    88
See reviews for
685
907
204
982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed at the Cinnamom Grand for one night prior to a tour of Sri Lanka. Arriving at 6.00 a.m. you are desperate to get to a nice room. I hadn't really researched this hotel as it was only a one night stay so it came as an extremely pleasant surprise. The entrance is certainly impressive, the service was efficient and the room was delightful, and of a very high standard, bathroom was superb. But the beds wow, never have I ever slept in such a comfortable bed it was like sleeping on air. Once refreshed we strolled around the gardens which are exquisite. We booked a table at the Tao restaurant adjacent to one of the pools and the meal and staff were first class. I couldn't believe the choice of restaurants, and even the most expensive were very reasonable compared to the UK. Breakfast was excellent, and we certainly felt recharged for the tour ahead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnygirlNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Overall
1. Lobby is like fish market - busy full of people and noisy.
2. Huge hotel attached to Crescat Blvd Shopping Arcade.

Room
1. Size is about right.
2. Flat tv and complimentary fruit (just two apples though) every day.

Service
1. Arrived at hotel around 1pm. Was given a room with twin beds. Requested for change since originally requested for king size. Went back to the receptionist and he asked back "you want king size bed?"... I mean, the travel agent requested as such, and i dont think it should be questioned!
2. We only got our room at 5pm!

Breakfast
1. Stayed at old wing - so, first morning, had breakfast at The Courtyard. Small, cosy and friendly staff. Not much choices, but good enough for me.
2. Second day, had breakfast at The Toprabane. More choices compare to Courtyard. Have a row of local Sri lanka breakfast buffet. Waiters are young guys with, from my observation, have little experience. One of them came to me and asked where I am from and asked how much salary they pay over there.. huh!

Restaurants
1. Had dinner a The Lagoon. Advisable to make reservation, especially when it is a raining day. Price is pretty reasonable, however, we taught it is a bit steep for lagoon crab (cost Rs410 per gram). The biggest crab I ever seen.
2. Second night, dinner at Echo, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Pretty decent price. The pizza and pasta are not bad either.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at the Monarch Apartments in November/December 2010, and were frequent visitors to the hotel for meals and entertainment. We had many meals at the Taprobane Restaurant and were always warmly greeted and treated by the Manager Mr. Prasad Fernando and his staff. The meals were of high quality, variety and value. We also enjoyed the music at the Lobby Bar especially that provided by Yohan and Honorine. Cinnamon Grand truly embodies the spirit and hospitality of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mharvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I stayed for a brief business trip. Was on the 8th floor in an executive room, so I had access to the lounge on the 9th floor and also got a streamlined check-in. Everything was nice and it made for a pleasant stay. Would like to return here if I have a chance to visit for pleasure! The restaurant serving live seafood was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is a terrific hotel and we had a very comfortable stay here over four nights which included New Years Eve celebrations on 31/12/2010.
We had travelled from Australia and paid $150 each for a ticket to attend the function at the Oak Ballroom.
Unfortunately, not long after midnight and while we were dancing the night away my wifes camera was stolen from off our table.We brought this to the attention of the hotel security people and even the GM of the hotel who was at the function.
We were very disappointed with the follow up on this matter.No one took our name or contacted us regarding any action taken re recovery or lack of or apologised for what had happened.We expected better from a five star hotel that sets itself up as a bench-mark in Colombo SL.
The only blemish on a great trip to SL.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaPa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Aamazing Hotel with High standards of services , Recommend it , I have been there twice .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled-S83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing