We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for business or pleasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Perfect for business or pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

From the moment I stepped up to the front desk to the moment of check out I was greeted and treated with superior service. Wonderful staff and beautiful rooms. I will be coming back to visit again and staying here.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank w8amin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    1,183
    307
    111
    86
See reviews for
665
884
198
950
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

One look at the rooms, and my reaction was: "Is this place called the Cinammon Grand or the Cinammon Bland?" But, in fairness to the hotel, the rest of the facilities were really nice. Good restaurants, nice pool, friendly staff, good location. And everything was reasonably priced

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktchmeefukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

At first glance the Cinnamon Grand looks inviting and impressive - until you check in! After you check it they treat you like a herd of cattle - service is terrible and the rooms are a throw back to a less impressive era. A colleague was ill after eating at the hotel restaurant - the hotel sent a doctor to assess his situation, which is the very least you should expect from a 5 star hotel. What we were not expecting was a bill for the doctor! And they did not take off the food from the hotel bill.

There are so many super hotels in Colombo - this is not one of them. Stay Away!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kewwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Visited Sri Lanka 13th March 2009.
3nights at Cinnamon Grand Hotel, had them pick us up at the Air port, which is great.
Good Driver, no problem getting to the Hotel. Nice Room, good service at the reception
most of all the breakfast was excellent, and the staff at the restaurent were great.
This Hotel is at a very good Location.

Coral Sands Hikkaduwa. We spent two nighrs at this Hotel. The Hotel is on the
Main Road, the Bank ia opposite the Hotel which was great, the food was good and staff friendly, the Room was good, the room looked out to the Ocean. Having seen the DLX room shall upgrade next time.

Mt Lavinia Hotel we spend most of our time at this Hotel. The Train Station is walking distance from the Hotel. Great Staff helpful and friendly.

Kandy Panorama Resort, this Hotel has the most beautiful View.One has to see it to believe it, The Hotel is right on top of a hill, Very High.

Sigiriya Village Hotel close to Sigiriya rock. Thanks for the 2great plates of fruit, everything i liked! the drink from the bar great, it is worth spending at least a couple of
Nights at this hotel, take a walk enjoy the landscape.

Club Dolphin least liked Hotel, nothing seem to work for us at this Hotel

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eurasiancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed at the cinnamon grand for 6 nights. Customer service was great, friendly and willing to help out with any questions we had. The London Grill was by far our favorite by far. The waiters and chefs were fantastic and saw to all our culinary needs. Rooms were good, kept clean and tidy at all times, with room service attending to rooms throughout the day and night
all in all great stay with lots of shopping in the hotels vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tazi_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed in April 09 for 4 nights, the lobby is amazing.sitting in the coffee lounge eating pastries, drinking coffee, listening to the music and watching the world go by was bliss.
Restaurants are lovely, had a wonderful meal in 'Tao' with beautiful surroundings overlooking the pool.
I really did enjoy this hotel and would definately return in the future, however, one small gripe..the carpets in our room were filthy, everything else was clean but with a seven month baby crawling around his clothes were filthy, and they looked stained and grubby, so could do better there, but still, would willingly put up with this to spend a few more days in that wonderful lobby listening to the live music.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicks_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

As i decided to stay first couple of nights in the Hilton and then a few days in the Cinamon, i have a good impression of both and can compare those two top class hotels.
I started with the hilton and went in the evening to a few clubs/bars nearby and also went to the cinamon grand. When i saw this hotel, i was so stunned and could not believe my luck to stay there, as the lobby look fantastic and was all shiny and stylish. Also the wedding venue looked marvellous and the restaurants seemed to offer everything u want.

When i arrived at the hotel it was 1pm and in front of the hotel i had to open my suitcase as i mistakenly put my passport in it. As i had to carry it a few meters away from the entrance, no assistance was offered, altough there were plenty of staff around and my suitcase wasnt the smallest one.
Check in went smoothly and quick, but not 5star quality- especially the direction to the room was more than poor as it is a big hotel and u can get easily lost.
Well, at the end i found the elevator and could see from there, that i have a room in the old wing.
if u compare the lobby and the room i have stayed in, u would think, u are in two different hotels as the room had a very bad view, the furniture was old and shabby and no one explained the room to me. Also there was a light smell i cannot intentify.
There was no adapter in the room and when i called housekeeping, they told me, they will send one. 5 Minutes later, someone appeared and was looking for an adapter as he didnt have one- very disappointing! At the end, he asked me, if its ok to plug my hair straigthener in a normal plug using his key to do it.
There are only small lamps and no big ones in the room, so in the night, the room appears to me to be very dark!
Also the AC was far too cold as I am used to have 25 degrees in the room, so I called housekeeping again and they send me an engineer to solve the problem. Sadly it didnt work out really well and I got a terrible cold from that room.
After that my boyfriend visited me and we didnt want to be disturb, but housekeeping still came knocked twice to do the turndown service!

The bathroom was nice, the toilet flush was good and the products used were fantastic! I even found a sewing kit in the shabby drawer, where they keep the hairdryer.

I had check out on my last day very early and called reception to ask for a morning breakfast box. They noted that and asked me, if i wanted that or that sandvich- but no question about tea or coffee!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hesperia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing