We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy & popular hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Busy & popular hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Though a very busy and popular hotel in Colombo, we are given a room at a quiet end of the hotel, away from all the hustle and bustle. We enjoyed our stay there. Friendly & efficient staff and service, especially the concierge. Foreigners do not need to worry about eating out as there are a number of restaurants in the hotel serving different kinds of food. Crescat shopping arcade is also adcajent to the hotel. Another plus point for us as you can get anything you need there i.e. mini market, pharmacy, book store, art & craft stalls etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary feedback.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your words of praise on our friendly and efficient staff and service; as well as our dining options. We note your special compliments to the concierge and look forward to welcome you again, when you do visit Sri Lanka next.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,699
    1,221
    320
    123
    89
See reviews for
701
915
207
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed overnight in a very well priced room with all facilities and extras. Service by reception and concierge outstanding - 5 star.

Breakfast room disappointing and food below par.

The best hotel outside swimming pool we have ever encountered with adjacent pool bar and many restaurants.

Highly recommended as a transit hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are glad you had an enchanting stay with us and appreciate your words of praise on our rooms, facilities and service. However, we have taken note of your comments, sincerely apologize for your disappointment and hope we would have another opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have stayed in Cinnamon Grand for about a weeks time and its been a through pleasant experience, with all the efforts the staff has put, it indeed needs to be great experience. Has a nice pub called as Cheers! and its is Cheers and good experience. Overall a very pleasant place to stay and no hiccups at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharadwaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. We are pleased to note that you had a great stay, sincerely appreciate your compliments and look forward to have you stay with us again, maybe in the not too distant future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is nice, and certainly 5 star, however the internet wi fi is awful, it didnt work properly in the room, mainly only in the lobby and takes ages to re-connect once you leave and come back. The staff tried to overcharge me on my check out, but I called the manager and it was sorted. Its a shame that happened because overall they do try to please. The pool area is nice, but not resort style its more of a business hotel then a holiday resort, as the gardens are small and no real views of anything other then green metal fencing. Overall its nice but there are loads of new hotels opening in colombo so watch this space, unless they improve they will get left behind.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are sorry for the issues you faced during your stay and check out. We would really appreciate if you could give us more details of your stay, such as the room number, dates and your name via the email address given below, so that we could investigate further into this issue and take corrective action.

Meanwhile, we do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The workshop that I had to attend in Colombo was organized in Cinamon Grand and therefore, it was very convenient to stay in the same hotel. My experience from the time of check in to check out two days later ( a late check out at no additional cost) was very enjoyable and relaxed. The staff were very friendly, just like everyone else in Sri Lanka. The restaurants are just too good. Try the confectionery store in the lobby. I had two observations: 1. There are just a few sea facing rooms. It is such a shame that the architect didnt give this a thought in the planning phase and 2. Our group had dinner in Cinnamon Lakeside but wifi access, which was provided in the Grand was not extended to the Lakeside. Perhaps the second lapse can be corrected, if not the first. In any case, I have decided that all my future stays in Colombo will in the Grand.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review. We are delighted that you had a perfect stay with us and appreciate your words of praise on our service, staff and dining options.

Whilst appreciating your comments which we have noted; we look forward to welcome you back to indulge you with more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

grand hotel with one of th largest lobby (in its catagory) faster check in . very good rooms with top quality neat toilet.located in an up market area with a shoppingmall just attached to the hotel.good breakfast spread but we had a disappointment at buffet breakfast as it didn't have much for Indians though they have a speciality south indian restaurant.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rachotappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

While we thank you for your compliments on our rooms, facilities and location, we do sincerely apologize for your disappointment and hope this will not deter you from staying with us again, if you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Cinnamon Grand is wonderful. I stayed here for about 2 weeks and didn't want to leave. The staff is wonderful and the food is delish! Highly recommend it! The location could be a little better. I was a little lost on where to go outside the hotel because the road is so busy and the sidewalks are very bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. We are delighted to note that you had a grand 2 weeks stay with us.

Your recommendation and compliments, especially on our staff and food offerings, is greatly appreciated; and we look forward to welcoming you back if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 52 in Colombo
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing