We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand stay at the Grand Cinnamon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Grand stay at the Grand Cinnamon”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent location, around the city. The hotel was grand and excellent with hustle bustle of locals and foreigners around. seemed very busy hotel.. Lots of dining options and a sports bar(Cheers club) to catch those exciting matches on big screen.

Room Tip: the hotel is quite huge, we had got the swimming pool facing rooms so may be try for a higher room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhiren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are delighted that you had a grand stay with us and appreciate your complimentary feedback, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    1,238
    326
    125
    90
See reviews for
735
934
210
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I went to Sri Lanka for an official trip and stayed there for 3 nights
pros:
1. Great rooms
2. Luxury at its best
3. Awesome location
4. Good decor
5. Courteous Staff
6. Multiple options for eating
Cons:
1. Horrible food probably because I was a veg
2. Too crowded at times

All in all a great place to stay if you are in a lively mood with lots of people around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipti1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are pleased you had a good stay and appreciate your feedback on our rooms, service and location and have also noted your comments. Thank you, we shall look into them and hope you will stay with us again when you visit Sri Lanka next.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

One of the fantastic property i have seen..Very well planned and spacious rooms with good quality food. Also, well connected with the city nearby shopping places..will stay for sure next time.
Had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try Potato dishes..:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishnegi1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are delighted you had a good stay and do appreciate your complimentary feedback; and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Though we were not in the premium wing (I am not sure how the premium wing is) it was a wonderful experience. Very nice restaurants and pub (Cheers PUB). Most interesting in room dining menu with detailed consideration for kids and diabetic. Food is not expensive considering the hotel. They need more space at breakfast place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharitraMaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review. It is a pleasure to note that your stay with us has been a wonderful experience.

It is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience for all our valued guests and hence we do look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

From the moment you enter the spacious lobby of the Cinnamon Grand you know you are in for a treat. Smiling staff greet you, willing hands remove luggage, the check in is done seamlessly, with a smile, cool towel and welcome drink.
We were shown our lovely room by a very proud and polite young man, with a delightful smile.
Breakfast is wonderful, and there is something for everyone. The variety of fresh fruit his amazing.
The evening buffet is really delicious, and features many different foods, I am quite sure even the most discerning of diners will be very happy with the choice.

The hotel grounds and pool are beautiful and so well maintained.

The Cinnamon Grand is luxurious, but it is the staff that make it perfect. Each and every staff member greeted us with a huge smile, nothing was too much trouble for them, it is not just a stay, it is an experience, and one I would recommend to everyone. It is wonderful Sri Lankan luxury and hospitality at its very best.

Room Tip: I think they would all be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missy88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review and recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. It is a pleasure to note that your stay with us was a memorable experience.

We appreciate your encouraging feedback on our service, facilities and especially the food offerings. We very much appreciate your compliments to the team. They do indeed work hard to ensure the comfort and well-being of all our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again, to indulge in more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is certainly one of the better hotels in Colombo. I have stayed there on a numerous occasions and find it very enjoyable. The staff members are great and cannot do enough to please you. At reception a young lady named Tharangi was just so efficient and helpful. She made our stay very enjoyable by taking the time to provide us with what we required. She is an asset to this hotel.
The lagoon restaurant is very, very good and is a must do. This restaurant also has a Sunday seafood buffet that is well priced and has all the seafood specialities that Sri lanka is renowned for.
A hidden gem at this hotel is the pool above the Spa area in the Crescat building which can be used by hotel guests. This is a far better and cleaner pool that the actual hotel pool and has bar service. This is also less crowded.
In addition the Srescat shopping centre attached to this hotel is so convienient. This has a supermarket and a food hall at the lower level which is handy.

Room Tip: This hotel has recently been refurbished. The previous new wing is no longer the better wing. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udaya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for patronizing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and appreciate your valuable feedback on our services and facilities. We are very glad you liked the pool in the spa area and enjoyed your dining experience at the Lagoon.

It is also a delight to learn that you have been well served by our staff, and thank you for appreciating the services provided by Tharangi, to whom we’ll have this conveyed. We do look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit, to serve you with more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here twice as part of an organised tour of Sri Lanka. Whilst we didn't go exploring far from the hotel, it seems quite well located being only a kilometre or so from the start of the old part of Colombo. There's a small beach about a few hundred metres away (turn right out of the hotel) and there's a selection of shops adjacent to the hotel. There's also a couple of cash machines just outside the hotel. The hotel itself is quite imposing with large airy reception area with a coffee bar and cake shop. The outdoor pool and associated bars are very pleasant and sheltered. There's a fitness room somewhere with some sort of swimming facility but we didn't use it. Of the 2 rooms we occupied, one with a glimpse of the sea was somewhat larger than the other which only had a view across the city. Both rooms were however fine with good facilities that all functioned OK and very comfortable beds (not always the case in Asia). There are at least 4 restaurants in the hotel. The one we used provided an extensive and appetising range of (mainly) asian food and we enjoyed our meals there. Staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and helpful. Overall, whilst it's quite an expensive hotel to stay at, I don't think you'd be disappointed if you decide to go there.

Room Tip: The sea can be glimpsed from some rooms and some are larger than others but can't be more specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimstone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are delighted to note that you had a good stay and appreciate your descriptive and complimentary feedback on our rooms and amenities. We are especially glad you liked the location and food offerings as well as our pleasant and helpful staff. We do have 13 restaurants though and welcome you for a longer stay so you could experience them and their unique cuisines.

Whilst thanking you for your recommendation, we do look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 55 in Colombo
2,048 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 55 in Colombo
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing