We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

After a negative hotel experience in Galle, what a relief to arrive at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. Professional and polished. Service-oriented. Discreet, considerate staff. Our suite on the 9th floor was very comfortable, offering a city view with a glimpse of the ocean, a beautifully made-up bed to sink into, and a great hot shower. There was even a room service menu in the room (which seems to be a novelty in Sri Lanka) and breakfast was excellent. The Cinnamon Grand is centrally located with some of Colombo’s best restaurants either in the hotel, or very close. We’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakshincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable and memorable stay on our executive floor and appreciate your kind feedback of your experience. We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    1,185
    308
    112
    86
See reviews for
666
886
200
952
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was the last hotel in our trip in Sri Lanka - it was a typical 5 stat hotel. we arrived on the 31 December and trying to book for dinner was very hard - everyone was rushing around and we were not exactly sure what was going on ! We did manage to get a reservation for the Gala meal - which was outstanding - great variety etc. On the Second night we ate in the Lagoon Seafood rest -- if you stay here then try and book a table - its very good.
We asked for a room in the new section and were told by reception that is where we were. they then took us to the older section - I asked at reception who then said yes it is the old one but is been done up ! I would prefer honestly from the start and not be lied to - I also left my hat at reception - when I asked for it the next day the receptionist said they could not find it! Surely a hotel of this standard has a lost and found area!! When we arrived we stayed in Negambo - we only went to Colombo to be close to the airport - next time I would give Colombo a miss - we did not really enjoy the city -

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing - and make sure they don't send you to the old one and say its the new one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewilkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review.

We do appreciate your compliments on the Gala meal as well as the cuisine at the Lagoon restaurant. However, we apologize sincerely for the inconvenience caused by the issues you faced. Rest assured we will be looking into the mentioned issues and will take necessary action.

We sincerely hope you will not let this incident deter you from staying with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

well located, great food and excellent staff. The Check in and check out was quick as well as information available from the front desk was accurate. We also stayed in Cinnamon grand Habarana which is also a great property. In altogether, this was my second stay in this hotel and I would prefer to stay in this hotel always.

Room Tip: mention that you want a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bidyut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are delighted that you were satisfied with our service and food offerings as well as the location; and thank you for your loyal patronage. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Used to be the Oberoi property here at Colombo but when it comes to behavior they are way off. Facilities wise it is good. Food is one of the bests and Lagoon is a must visit. Their local cuisine restaurant is also great especially with the traditional show

Room Tip: Room on the new side of the wing is better and try for the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajatGanguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We appreciate your complimentary feedback and have noted your comments. Indeed we are glad that you enjoyed your dining experiences at the Lagoon and Nugagama and look forward to your continued patronage.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We loved the Cinnamon Grand! The Grand is perfectly located at the heart of Colombo – a Tuktuk away from all the attraction. The service was superb from beginning to end – no hick ups, no excuses, just good, friendly and efficient service.
The hotel is beautiful and luxurious. I dined at the Cheers Bar (after three weeks in Sri Lanka, there’s nothing like a nice hamburger and some cold beer), and it was lovely. Perhaps not Michelin, but still good value for money.
The room was nice and specious with nice view to the pool. The pool is big and fortunately also shady which can be important for people like us with easily sun-burned skin.
The breakfast was a delight. There are good food choices for tourists, locals and kids. They even packed us some breakfast early in the morning when we went on tour.
We would definitely go back to Cinnamon Grand and recommend it to our friends. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoav_Shechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback on our rooms and amenities as well as the service and food offerings. We are delighted that you will stay with us again and thank you for recommending us to your friends.

We look forward to welcoming you to yet another indulgence in our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel, beautiful in all ways especially the Christmas decorations. Staff were always there to help, the food was great and the breakfast was amazing with untold options. The egg hoppers were fantastic and hard to find for the rest of our Sri Lanka trip. The only negative was the price of the hotel taxis, avoid them as the price is crazy. Normal taxis or tuks tuks are not hard to find. The Poland outdoor bar were a great place to drink cocktails and soak up the restful atmosphere. I thought the price was fair. I had been here 22 years ago when it was called something different so it was special to go back with my daughter who is now 24.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us after 22 years. It was then known as the Oberoi.

We sincerely appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services, facilities, our food and especially your compliments on our Christmas décor and look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is very well located and close to most tourist spots in the city. Since we stayed during the holiday season, the hotel was beautifully decorated and the festive spirit was very palpable.

The Angasana Spa attached to the hotel, though pricey, is one of the nicest spas I've visited and the therapists did a fantastic job of relieving the travel aches n pains.

The best part of staying at Cinnamon Grand was eating at the Lagoon seafood restaurant - most highly recommended - steamed moda fish, pepper crab and tamarind cuttlefish. We ate at the restaurant twice in our day and half stay.

Buffet breakfast was an elaborate affair with a large international and local spread - well laid out and delicious.

Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonishaKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review.

It is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the location convenient. Thank you for your compliments on our Christmas décor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Spa treatment as well as the dining experiences at the Lagoon

We look forward to welcome you to yet another memorable stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing