We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I would particularly like to thank Prasad and his team in the executive lounge at the Cinnamon Grand for their humanity and great kindness during a week we spent there whilst our son was seriously ill in hospital. They did everything they could to make what was a very stressful time as comfortable as they could. The hotel has a great vibe and Chutneys is a restaurant where the quality of the food and the service are outstanding. A big thank you to all.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank njcHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review.

We are delighted to note that Prasad and the team at the executive lounge have gone the extra mile to ensure you had a comfortable stay and we do hope your son has totally recovered. Whilst appreciating your compliments and valuable feedback which has been shared, we do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,640)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Grand Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,299 - 2,305 of 3,640 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

My review of this hotel is mixed. Stayed three nights. Broken and slow elevators slowed us down repeatedly. Food buffets were very good. Service was ok to bad, especially bad at the weekend tea and in the coffee stop in the lobby. Rooms were clean and comfortable and housekeeping was attentive. The wifi signal was weak and I could never get it to work properly. The spa was very good. Altogether I expect more consistency and better service from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixelsnFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review, we are sorry to learn about your disappointment over the issues you faced with the amenities and service. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that has been caused to you as a result.

Furthermore, we sincerely hope these issues will not deter you from staying with us on your future visits to Sri Lanka.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

i really liked my stayyy and everything was top notch. people should visit the sea food restaurant there.I would also recomend the lobby bar and also the coffee shop.the angsana spa situated at the hotel is also top notch. More than anything this property is always buzzing with activity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun007m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your appreciative review.

We are delighted you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the experiences at the lagoon, lobby bar, coffee stop and angsana spa. We trust you will stay with us again and look forward to welcome you to indulge in more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

On arrival the car was not at the airport to pick us up, and when we got to the hotel we found that our reservation had gone missing. However, we were accommodated within 30 minutes, and after checking what had happened with our office, we found that the error was at the cinnamon. But within 24 hours the deputy manager had asked to see us, and was lovely, he was apologetic and ensured that all our needs were met going forward - which cannot be underestimated.

So thank you to Jude, and all the other staff for ensuring our stay was as good as it could be given that it was for work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slt3305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Let me at the outset sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were faced with on arrival. We can assure you that corrective measures are being taken to ensure that there are no repetitions of similar situations.

However, we are pleased to note that appropriate action was taken by our team to ensure you had a good stay. Your appreciation to Jude and all other staff concerned will be conveyed as we look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went back to Colombo after 10 years and was disappointed with the congestion and growth and obvious lack of infrastructure. Hotel check in was tedious. Rooms were OK. Major plus was the Lagoon Restaurant. Food is very fresh and tasty Restaurant staff are courteous and very familiar with the menus and wine lists. Trip back to the airport took a little more than an hour because of traffic. No plans to go back to Colombo in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ujustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review.

We regret to note that you have not had a pleasant stay with us, even though you did enjoy your dining experience at the Lagoon. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience faced by you and hope you will reconsider returning to Colombo and stay with us again to enjoy our true cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was in Colombo recently on a short business visit and I decided to stay at the Cinnamon Grand partly because I liked the location - it was on the main Galle Road, it was close to the offices that I had to visit and it was only a very short walk from a shopping mall (good places to go to when you are bored) - and partly because it was reasonably priced for a five-star property. It didn't disappoint me. The rooms were good, the staff were gracious, breakfast was great and the Lagoon seafood restaurant, where I dined two nights in a row, was outstanding. My only criticism is that the bathrooms need to be modernised - e.g. they still have the old hot and cold faucets instead of a mixer. But I would go back again specially if they remain reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaynyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking time to share your feedback.

We do appreciate your compliments on our amenities, staff and breakfast offerings, and in particular your dining experience at the Lagoon. We also thank you for your comments on areas for improvement.

We trust you will continue to patronize the Cinnamon Grand on your future visits to Sri Lanka and look forward to welcome you once again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

went back to Sri lanka after four years....before that I was visiting for business 3/4 times and year and I had the best impressions from the hotels...I stayed at the hotel because of the great reviews it had...maybe that put my expectations too high.. yes has a lot going on...yes has great restaurants...but personal contact was no where...rooms need to be freshen a little as well as common areas...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback.

We are sorry that we did not come up to your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken your comments as constructive feedback and will work on it, taking the necessary corrective measures in order to rectify the issues you have mentioned.

Hope you will stay with us again and enjoy our improved services, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
2,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $149 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing