We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to be impressed about!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing to be impressed about!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night at Cinnamon Grand Colombo in August 2013, and I think that it is an average hotel that. Lacks charm. It's location is very central but mainly that's it. It is a big hotel with no personal attention whatsoever. It is very crowded and sitting at the lobby while waiting for rooms to be ready made me dizzy, because of the constant movement. Rooms are old, and need refurbishing. Room 465 had yellow water running from the shower and sink. We used the bathroom of the other family staying with us in room 464. Wifi connection was terrible. The only good thing about the hotel was the Lagoon seafood restaurant, which offers fresh sea food, cooked in so many different ways, a must try.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gugablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We regret to note you have not had a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize sincerely for the inconvenience caused to you. We have taken particular note of the issues you have highlighted and will certainly have them rectified. However, we are glad you did enjoy your dining experience at the Lagoon.

Whilst appreciating your feedback, we look forward to serve you once again, should you decide to stay with us in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    1,183
    307
    111
    86
See reviews for
665
884
198
950
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed there for two nights on business. With the odd arrival times into CMB, I arrived at 04.30am and check-in was quick, efficient and friendly which is not usual at all. I did get a nice and quiet room (standard) that was spacious and clean (the shower would need refurbishing but it wasn't bad at all - appliances a big outdated). Had everything I needed for a business trip. What I always appreciate is a fast and reliable WLAN which they had - complimentary. Also, what most others don't yet have - their WLAN supports multiple devices so one does not have to connect and disconnect constantly. Had lunch at the Lagoon restaurant - always a pleasure to chose from the fresh fish and seafood. Service was a bit slower than usual. Maybe something for the F&B manager to tackle. Had dinner at the Indian buffet - simply magnificient. As a European, loving meat, I must admit that vegetarin buffet I did not realize until my business partner had told me at the end that it was a vegterian selection - food was simply gorgeous. Breakfast: good selection but way too long waiting times at the egg cooking station. I was not that much in a hurry but the queue was unacceptable. Also, they might be increasing their breakfast service efficiency by cleaning up the used tables quicker. There is enough staff. They are very friendly but it appears the process should be managed better. As I had a 04.30am departure to Doha, Qatar, I went to bed early that night to check-out at 01.30am. Also then, quick and efficient. As always, in relation to the room rate paid, a very good place to which I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor, after your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Your impressions of our check-in and check-out service, the facilities provided and location are highly valued. Whilst thanking you for your comments regarding improvements to our service in the F&B area, we wish to assure you that we will certainly look into this aspect so that our guests could have the best possible experience.

Thank you once again for taking time to share your comments and we take pleasure in welcoming you back to indulge in our ‘Cinnamon’ hospitality.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went for The Lagoon for their Sunday seafood lunch buffet. There are decent choices for starter, main and dessert. The food is delicious and is good value. Most of their starters and main courses are spicy, so for people who can’t stand spicy food there may be little to choice from.

We experienced something quite strange from the waiters though.. they seem to want to get rid of us quite soon. As soon as they saw that we stopped eating after a few dishes, they took our cutleries away, hinting that it was time for our dessert courses. Other 5 star hotel restaurants wouldn’t do that. Also, though it is a seafood buffet, it doesn’t seem that the restaurant is well equipped with cutlery for it. They have asked the few of us to share our cutlery for the crabs as they only have limited amount of them. It was ok for us to share as we are friends, but this wouldn’t be so convenient if we are having the buffet with clients/ customers. It does seem strange set up for a seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Lagoon Restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are glad you enjoyed the food and appreciate your compliments. We also thank you for bringing to our notice the issue you faced. Please accept our sincere apologies and assurance that we will take necessary corrective measures to rectify this issue.

We do look forward to welcome you again in the near future, to enjoy more of our dining options.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We (My husband and I) arrived tired after a long day in Kandy. The receptionist told us there were no king bed rooms available though we already booked one. They went to show us a 2 beds room then a smoking king bed room but the smell was really bad then they arranged a room for us that has a king bed on the ground floor next to the elevator! Room was nice but we couldn't sleep all night cause of the noise. We asked to be relocated on the next day so they arranged a king bed room for us on the 9th floor. I believe the hotel needs restoration because the walls are so thin you could hear what ur neighbor was doing. All restaurants had great food esp taprobane and echo. Atmosphere was very dry and business like. It's overall a nice hotel but it needs to give a sense of belonging to couples on vacation. I honestly wouldn't stay there again for vacation, maybe for business

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review on TripAdvisor.

We regret to note you have not had a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize sincerely for the inconvenience caused to you. The issues and atmosphere you experienced is totally unacceptable and thank you for bringing it to our attention; we will certainly look into it. In the meanwhile, we deeply regret your disappointment.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to indulge you with our cinnamon hospitality, not only on a business stay but also when you are next on vacation.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
324 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We wanted somewhere safe and with no surprises to start our tour of Sri Lanka. The Cinnamon Grand worked well for us. The transfer from the airport was effcicient and we were allocated rooms with a connecting door. The breakfast buffet was excellent, particularly in the dining room near the pool. The pool was inviting and not at all crowded. Plenty of places to eat and relax. You could have been anywhere in the world but this is a safe and spotless place for a family to stay.

Room Tip: room 451 has a connecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review.

We do appreciate your encouraging feedback and delighted that you had a safe and comfortable stay with us. Whilst thanking you for recommending us, we do look forward to welcome you again to experience more of our dining options and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
270 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Cinnamon Grand for the second time (my first being in 2008). I love the location of the property and the fact that there is an attached shopping mall where one can pick up snacks and drinks for the room. There are around ten restaurants on the property. I definitely recommend going to the Lagoon Restaurant, where you pick out your fresh fish. The rooms are large and quite comfortable. The bathroom is a decent size with a shower and a separate bathtub. The swimming pool is large and the fitness center has an abundance of exercise equipment and personal trainers. The large lobby and bar area is an excellent place to grab a drink and people watch. I'll be staying at the hotel on future trips to Colombo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay again after five years, at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, and for your encouraging feedback.

We are delighted to be your favourite hotel and we appreciate your compliments on the location, services and the convenience of an attached shopping mall; as well as the dining options.

Whist thanking you for recommending the “Lagoon” we look forward to welcome you back, to indulge you with more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We only stayed here one night, our first in Sri Lanka so difficult to have a really objective opinion. However, check in was fast and both rooms ready which after an 11 hour flight was just what we wanted. We had a quick trip to the pool and a nap then a meal in the bar which was a typical bar meal. We had lovely comfortable beds in a clean room and all slept well. We were able to have breakfast even though we left early which was good. Everything was as it should be at a good hotel and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyAmblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind feedback.

We are pleased to note you had a good and satisfying one night stay with us. We are also glad that our services have met with your expectations and trust you would stay with us again, giving us the opportunity to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing