We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Location is good , parking is not n issue , rooms are clean but one may not find them large but ok and I consider It in top 4 of srilanka . Restaurants are great.So no regrets to select this hotel for our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nadeemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your kind review.

We are glad you had a good stay with us and appreciate your feedback on our location, facilities and dining options and look forward to having you stay with us again when you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,638)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Grand Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,430 - 2,436 of 3,638 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

From check-in to departure everything was professionally run. Rooms were very smart and replenished several times a day. Good pool, two well-equipped gyms, and nice to have free access to a health club. Wide variety of choice and excellent food at breakfast. We ate at the London Grill one night, and whilst first class quality and an enjoyable experience, it was a little pretentious and portions were on the small side - which is fine if that is what you want.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbrookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review on TripAdvisor.

It gives us tremendous satisfaction to know that you were more than happy with our service, rooms and facilities; and thank you for your compliments on our breakfast offering. Your comments on London Grill were noted and will be looked into.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Sri Lanka, to delight you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great choice of accom for my conference! This is a crazy city and would not plan on walking or driving anywhere by yourself! the hotel provides a reasonably priced car service. I have driven in many countries around the world....but would never never never drive here!! Not only are some drivers crazy but pedestrians are as well!! We were provided with police escort for our conference and still nearly ran down a crazy pedestrian that had to run in front of our bus!!!??

Room Tip: probably would request a pool view but probably not much in it if your out all day! always something...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usedpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to know you had a good stay and your conference was a success. Thank you for your words of praise on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again to another memorable stay with us.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was always a place i have walked through (being on either side of the walkway towards the pool!). But last night we decided to actually dine in there.In terms of ambiance it probably wont do if you need a quiet peaceful dining experience. We were exceptionally lucky as not many walked through this, probably owing to the fact it was a week night.

But if you do go here, your best bet would be to sit towards the pool side :)We were persuaded to select this restaurant by the supervisor who greeted us, Desheera ( i hope i got the name right) He was a warm and attentive host, from attending to us and offering to customize our meals, to suggesting the best items on the menu.

This is definitely fine dining. beautifully plated, gorgeous n fresh ingredients. we selected the combination platter, Malaccan fried rice and the marinated pork chops. they were all wonderfully cooked, with great respect to the natural flavours of the food. i recommend the Malaccan fried rice to anyone, it was absolutely YUM! fusion at its BEST! its a cross of Malaysian and italian - much like a pesto pasta, only with rice in it!! The combination platter, although sounded like a significant quantity it was slightly disappointing but it made up in taste!!

the cocktails i thought were over priced here and of course the food is pricey too. but like i said should you be looking for fine dining, and art on a plate, this is a great choice!!!

We have been to all the restaurants at cinnamon grand before, repeatedly but have never gone to Tao so i really do feel this is the most understated restaurant there!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are delighted you decided to dine at TAO at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

My team and I are very pleased that you enjoyed the culinary experience along with the service. It is with great pleasure that we note you have been patronizing all of our restaurants. Thank you for appreciating the hospitality and services of Disheera.

Whilst thanking you for your loyal patronage, we do look forward to welcoming you to yet another memorable dining experience at the Cinnamon Grand’s choice of restaurants.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is frequently visited by me as it is conveniently situated in Galled road and in the CBD of CMB. The rooms I've stayed in are of international 3-4 star standards, with a very clean and courteous room service staff. The hotel usually has a population of Western, Indian and Asian mixtures along with the presence of a few tiresome looking CC members of Etihad.

The hotel has a very unprofessional GM, namely Rohan Karr and is struggling to back to its usual splendor which surrounded it during its Oberoi days.......

The Hotel houses some of the finest restaurants in CMB, as the famous Sinhala style "Nuga Gama", Echo: which serves Italian, Chutneys, dishing out delightful Indian rices along with Tao sorting out the fusion end.

The coffee stop and the Tea lounge offers some of the worst bread based items and pastries along with sub standard coffees at astounding prices.

The Cheers Pub is an ok pub when you take the local Pub standards, but compared similar star class Pubs resembles an average minute......

All in all as per CMB standards this could be classified as a 4 star hotel with a very supportive staff going through minor chores and a very unprofessional senior management.

Room Tip: No preferable tip on this.......
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 606SamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It is this professional, constructive feedback that keeps the hotel going and is what we thrive on for our continued growth. Thank you very much for your loyal patronage of the Cinnamon Grand and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Rohan Karr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a room at the executive floor and had access to the Cinnamon Lounge where we had a lot of great food and pleasant staff, special thanks to Sanjeewa, Thisara and Diluksha ! The rooms were outstanding and clean. We will most certainly come back :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your kind review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your promise to be back. It’s a pleasure to note that you enjoyed the facilities on the Executive Floor, along with the food and staff, especially those you have mentioned.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next visit, to indulge you with more of our facilities and Cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good hotel will all the facilities , ideal if doing business in colombo.I upgraded to the executive floor which gives you access to dedicated lounge (happy hour 6 til 8pm.. Drinks are free, unlimited snacks which are adequate and offer a good choice) free wifi, fresh fruit everyday etc.. Rooms are reasonable size, clean and well equipped. Staff are extremely efficient and very friendly. 2 good size swimming pools, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnydays24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

We are delighted to note that you had a good stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Thank you for staying with us and for your encouraging feedback on the facilities available at the Executive Floor as well as our rooms and staff. It is a pleasure to know that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcome you to yet another opportunity to enjoy more of our facilities and Cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
2,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $149 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing