We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to honeymoon, don't miss the village restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great start to honeymoon, don't miss the village restaurant.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I left this morning and travelled to Kandy however didn't want to leave. Being the start of our honeymoon and 3 weeks in Sri Lanka, we wanted somewhere nice to stay...this was just the place. We got a room on the executive floors which gives you access to the executive lounge where you can have free high tea in the afternoon, great for a snack or even a meal as they have hot and cold buffet style items available. After high tea finishes, happy hour starts for the next couple of hours. Great to watch an incoming storm or enjoy the city lights while consuming your favourite beverages for a couple of hours and its also FREE!
Pool area and all amenities are clean and outstanding along with the rooms being great also.
The main highlight of our stay was dinner both nights in the village restaurant where they have created a small Sri Lankan village and serve a great buffet of Sri Lankan fare. I'm not normally a buffet fan however this was awesome. The staff are dressed appropriately for the atmosphere they are trying to create and the service is excellent. It's a little hard to find, we wouldn't have known if we weren't told to have a look by one of the staff in the foyer. You have to walk out through the Cheers bar to get to it but well worth the look for a great experience and not too expensive either.
Overall our experience at the Cinnamon Grand Hotel will be one we never forget.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo at the start of your honeymoon.

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us, enjoying the facilities of the executive floor as well as the dining experience at our typical Sri Lankan Village restaurant Nugagama. Many thanks for the kind sentiments expressed regarding our facilities and service. The team and I appreciate your very encouraging feedback; no doubt we are pleased to have ensured guest satisfaction.

We take this opportunity to wish you all the best for a fantastic future together and look forward to welcoming you again to indulge in more of our facilities, services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    1,219
    320
    122
    89
See reviews for
698
913
207
1,000
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed one night, the room was big enough for 2 adults and 2 young kids. It was very clean and the bathroom was not huge but had a comfortable bath.
We had dinner in the Indian restaurant, it was good but very spicy for Europeans!
The pool is very big, kids loved it. There is also a "typical village" in the hotel garden that shows how Sri lankan's village used to be. They sell handcrafted dolls that are very cute. And you pay your respect in front of the 2500 years old banyan tree!
Breakfast buffet was wide and the cooks and waiters were all kind and smiling. It was nevertheless really too cold in the room so we went outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalini5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your kind review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, though just for one night; and the typical Sri Lankan Village, tucked in the premises. Thank you for your words of praise on our facilities and services and we do hope you would stay with us again if you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spent 4 nights here for business, with 2 colleagues, and we had no quibbles about the hotel. It has some excellent restaurants even the vegetarian with us could find something to eat (in most of them). Modest dress code is a nice touch, however, the lobby seemed to double up as a film stage for every bride in Colombo; yes, it might be your wedding but when we are trying to head to work in the morning the vast majority of us don’t care!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for sharing your experience.

Whilst appreciating the fact you had a trouble free 4 nights stay with us, we do apologize for the inconvenience you faced on your way to work in the morning. I hope this issue will not deter you from staying with us again, to delight in more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality; if and when you do visit Sri Lanka.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

stayed here with family for 3 nights. lovely experience. reasonable prices for room service items. surprisingly a cup of coffee is more expensive than many items on the menu. the mall attached to the hotel has a good food court & a small departmental store. extremely convenient. restaurants at this hotel serve great food. rooms are well appointed; nice large luxurious pillows. the pool was awesome.

Room Tip: take one overlooking the pool. dont bother about the railway track behind the hotel. just about 5 tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjayshivnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your kind feedback.

We are so pleased that you and your family had a good stay with us, enjoying the food, location, rooms and facilities as well as our dining options. If you do intend visiting Sri Lanka in the near future, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and indulge you with more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wife and I went there due to a recommendation from the owner of a B&B where were staying and we were not disappointed ! Food was of good quality and this is the place to come for real authentic Sri Lankan cuisine- service was excellent and everyone was very freindly- we will stay here next time we visit Srilanka...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theexecchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to know that we did meet up with your expectations during your stay with us and that you also enjoyed the authentic Sri Lankan cuisine, as well as the friendly staff.

We are pleased that you will stay with us again and look forward to indulging you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Hotel great. The staff, like the people of Sri Lanka are very welcoming. However they sometimes communication in English can lead to misunderstanding. Make sure your request is well understood even if the waiter replies "Yes Sir". Make sure you dine at the Lagoon Restaurant. One of the best sea food restaurants in Colombo.

Room Tip: As for rooms close to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM_Family111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your kind review.

We are glad you had a great stay with us; however, we note the issue you faced. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this would have caused you. Whilst thanking you for your high recommendation of the Lagoon restaurant, we do hope you will stay with us again to enable us to indulge you with more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've stayed here twice now and both times I have been impressed by the room, staff and facilities. The business suite on floor 9 is well worth having, the pool is great and I can particulalry recommend the food in Tao - really, really tasty! Looking forward to my next visit already...

Room Tip: Persuade your company to get you an executive room (floor 7?) with access to the suite on floor 9 fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay again at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your complimentary feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the Executive floor and that you continue to be impressed by the amenities and staff. Thank you for your words of praise on your dining experience at the TAO restaurant; and we do look forward to welcoming you again for yet another indulgence of cinnamon service and hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 51 in Colombo
750 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 51 in Colombo
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing