We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A well located business hotel, situated along the lake. Storks and pelicans in the lake make it a nice setting. The outside dinning is great but 2 time it was full with one hour waiting time. Add some tables..... Enough space around.

The hotel is well equipped but some things start to wear out and become old. Rooms a specious and everything is there. There is no minibar. The fridge is disconnected and empty and the bed is not that good.

Breakfast is not bad but have seen by far better in a 5 star hotel.

The downside is that is does not have a soul. It’s just s hotel to work and sleep in. For that price you can get better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikeToExploreThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We have noted your comments on TripAdvisor and regret you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not very sure if you did stay with us, as such, we really appreciate if you would give us more details such as your name and address; dates of stay, room number etc., via our e-mail address indicated below, for us to look into this matter and take corrective action. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you sometime in the future, and enable us to indulge you with our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,638)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Grand Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,543 - 2,549 of 3,638 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

First impression is that it is a barn of a place, large and disjointed. But it all works. For a hotel with 501 rooms it is very efficiently managed. It is a bit ragged at the edges, probably because it is over 30 years old but it is still functions well. The rooms are arranged in a dormitory style, long corridors etc. Hard to beat the amount of restaurants on site and all of very high quality (with prices to match, especially at the Lagoon). One of the best breakfast buffet I have come across. Don't forget the shoe shine person discreetly tucked away. Incidentally if you do not want to splurge there is a reasonable food court in the basement of the arcade next door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travancore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Your descriptive compliments on TripAdvisor were a pleasure to read and we are truly glad that you had a good stay with us. Indeed we are pleased you were able to experience our choice of restaurants as well, and enjoyed the breakfast.

We do look forward to welcome you again, to enjoy more of our facilities and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A well located big hotel which continuously holds functions in its courtyard. Decent, helpful staff but there was a series of technical problems. No internet for more than 24 hours, reception never answered the calls made from the room (not once), so if you have a problem, it seems difficult to fix. Otherwise, it's possible to have a good stay here. A very good choice of restaurants and a convenient adjacent shopping mall. The check in was problematic, but check-out was brilliant. The view from the room was dismal, so choose carefully. It may be worth to pay more. It's also wise to exchange currency at the airport, there is a commission on top of a questionable rate at the desk. Breakfast was not included. All in all a good four star. I will give it another try.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Whilst it is heartening to know you enjoyed our dining options and location, we are most concerned about the issues you faced and would appreciate if you could kindly let us know more details regarding your stay, such as your name, room no and dates of stay via our e-mail address indicated below, for us to look into this matter and take corrective action. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies.

We sincerely hope you will respond to our email address and that you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I previously stayed in the Cinnamon Grand when it was good. On my return it was perhaps even better, nice room, good food, good facilities, broadband that works. Well worth consideration for visitors to Colombo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaelflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for returning to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted to know that having stayed with us some time ago, you chose to stay with us again and you were not disappointed. We appreciate your words of praise and recommendation on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcome you again, to yet another indulgence of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for one night for a wedding. Staff were friendly and courteous. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was delicious for $10 AUD.

Overall very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThanhN832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are pleased your stay was a pleasant experience and thank you for your compliments on our amenities, service and of course the breakfast buffet.

Whilst thanking you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor, we do look forward to welcome you again to enjoy more of our facilities and services and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

No Nonsense. Extremely well located. Comfortable - and the shopping mall next door is very convenient for those gifts you need to take back but don't have much time to put together!
Breakfast is OK. Hard to get a good coffee anywhere in Sri Lanka anyhow!

Room Tip: go high - the view gets better. noise is not an issue though.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajbawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your kind review.

We are delighted you had a good and comfortable stay with us and found the location convenient. We note though, your search for good coffee!

Hope you would stay with us again, maybe for a longer time, so that you can enjoy more of our dining options and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here many times though I live in Colombo and most of our company guests also stays here for last so many years. The live feeling you get when you enter this hotel makes you feel like your in the right place. The vast number of restaurants which serve all unique food with super service makes you not want to step outside to eat. The shopping mall adjacent to the hotel makes it even unique as its the only hotel with such facilities in S.L. as at now. The Angsana Spa makes it even more unique with the separate pool and gym.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeewa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your loyal support to the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted to read that you and your guests have enjoyed every stay with us. We thank you for your compliments on our hotel, facilities and service, as well as your words of praise for our dining options and look forward to your next visit with pleasure.

Whilst thanking you once again for the confidence placed in the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, we look forward to delight you with more of our hospitality, when you stay with us again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
2,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $149 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing