We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute....Excellent hotel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

After staying in another hotel in Colombo that was horrendous, I decided to move and spend 2 nights at the Cinnamon Grand.

They knew I was there on business and the receptionists were hugely accomodating and found me a business room. It was quite expensive at £150 per night, but at that point I was willing to pay anything!

The room was nice, with a business desk, free bottle of wine and access to the business lounge, which had some lovely food.

The hotel is enormous, and easy to get lost in. It has a huge number of high quality restaurants and amazing facilities and amenities, including outdoor swimming pool.

This hotel is a quality place, with great service provided by all staff.

I look forward to stay with you on business again this coming summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your appreciative review.

We are delighted that you found the Cinnamon Grand a quality place to stay in and thank you for appreciating our executive floor with its facilities and services. Our associates no doubt would be pleased to hear they have ensured guest satisfaction.

It would be good to have you stay with us again and we do look forward to welcoming you to experience more of our dining options and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,634)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Grand Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,577 - 2,583 of 3,634 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked a day trip through Walkers, LTD which is located in the lobby and recommended by the hotel. It was not a good experience. The trip to the elephant orphanage and the tea factory were nice but the rest of the day was a disaster. The driver took us to shops which tried to pass themselves off as factories or museums but they were nothing more than tourist traps. It was very evident that the goals was to get us to spend our money on overpriced items. Some of the shops were very dirty; the products were of poor quality and the prices were extremely high. He never stopped for a meal even though we were gone more than 13 hours. He kept taking us to more shops. He did not take us to the botanic gardnes which are considered part of the day trip. I could go on and on and on but I think you get the point. More than half the day was wasted.

Room Tip: I hear another customer asking for one of the newer rooms but I was given an older room. Disappoint...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intnltrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We regret to note your disappointment over the day trip and apologize sincerely for the inconvenience caused to you. In the meantime, please note that we have taken it up with the 3rd Party Tour Operator - Walkers Tours Limited, who has assured us that they will take it up with the driver concerned.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we sincerely hope it will not deter you from staying with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first hotel on a three week tour of Sri Lanka and it proved an excellent place to start from. It's well located near the sea front but within easy reach of the city's attractions.
It's a large hotel but despite that its not impersonal and the staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are standard for a large modern hotel, clean and the beds are extremely comfortable and a choice of four different pillows is offered. Something that would be welcome in every hotel.
There is a choice of five restaurants to eat at within the hotel and the ones we went to were excellent (the seafood supermarket restaurant and the London Grill) compared well in terms of food and service with external restaurants. The lobby patisserie was also great for lunch particularly if you like pies!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are so glad you decided to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo at the start of your three weeks tour of Sri Lanka.

It is a pleasure to read that our friendly staff and amenities made your stay a memorable one and thank you for your words of praise on our pillow menu and choice of restaurants. We are certainly glad that you left with good memories of your dining experience at the Lagoon and London Grill as well as the Coffee Stop.

We do hope you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to delight you with more of our cinnamon hospitality if you do visit Sri Lanka again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for the last 5 years whenever I visit Sri Lanka for business trips. I have stayed in almost all the hotels in Colombo, Sri Lanka and find this one the best to stay. The staff is extremely helpful and always cheerful. Right from the doorman to the reception to the staff at the restaurants, you dont feel lost. All the restaurants are top notch and my favorite is the Lagoon for the best sea food you can ever eat!!!

It's amazing that the management does a good job to retain this people as the service industry is always a challenging job. I recommend anybody visiting Colombo Sri Lanka for business or holiday to stay in Cinnamon Grand. I am looking forward to staying in their other property called the Cinnamon Lakeside on my next trip to see the difference :-)

Room Tip: Choose the one with the pool view....
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santoshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for patronizing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed staying with us on every business trip to Sri Lanka. It was truly a pleasure for my team and I to read your complimentary review and we do appreciate your commendations on our helpful and friendly staff. We are also glad that you were able to experience our dining options, and note that Lagoon is your favourite.

Whilst thanking you for recommending Cinnamon Grand on TripAdvisor, we do look forward to you staying with us again, maybe sometime in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very big hotel. However rooms are a little small but good. I went during Christmas season and the decoration was all around. Very big and busy lobby.People are all around. Excellent service at the hotel restaurant. Good managers who can handle issues. Overall a good hotel. Try to explore the hotel as there are many restaurants. Also there is a outdoor restaurant where you will get a change to have traditional srilanka way of eating. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand.

We are delighted to read you had an overall good stay with us and enjoyed the service and amenities. Whilst appreciating your compliments on our traditional Sri Lankan restaurant, we do look forward to having you stay with us again in order to experience more of our dining options and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. It was my first visit to Colombo and I was very pleased with my hotel choice. I got quite a good rate online and found it very good value. The staff were helpful, food was excellent (and varied, with several restaurants to choose from) and pool really good. Although the rooms were a little dated they were clean and well maintained. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to know that we did meet up with your expectations and that you got good value for your money. We appreciate your words of praise on our amenities, service and food, and choice of restaurants; and look forward to indulging you with more of our cinnamon hospitality, on your next visit.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I made a few days stay here during a business trip to Colombo and can honestly say this is a true 5-star with all the credentials worthy of any top-class hotel.

From the moment I arrived I was very well looked after and found that nothing was too much trouble.

The many in-house restaurants are excellent - the London Grill is a little more expensive although by Europeans standards this is still good value, not to mention the best steak I have eaten in many years.

The poolside bar is a gem with a great team who are a huge asset to the hotel.

The rooms are very comfortable, all service is first-class and the location is good.

Room Tip: No tips in particular - opt for exec room if funds allow for free breakfasts, drinks (6-8pm).
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLoveCamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It was a delight to read your complimentary review and we are so glad you had a memorable stay with us, enjoying the facilities, services and choice of restaurants, with London Grill topping the list.

We very much appreciate you recommending our hotel and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality, perhaps in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
2,068 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#17 of 54 in Colombo
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $149 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing