We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first hotel on a three week tour of Sri Lanka and it proved an excellent place to start from. It's well located near the sea front but within easy reach of the city's attractions.
It's a large hotel but despite that its not impersonal and the staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are standard for a large modern hotel, clean and the beds are extremely comfortable and a choice of four different pillows is offered. Something that would be welcome in every hotel.
There is a choice of five restaurants to eat at within the hotel and the ones we went to were excellent (the seafood supermarket restaurant and the London Grill) compared well in terms of food and service with external restaurants. The lobby patisserie was also great for lunch particularly if you like pies!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are so glad you decided to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo at the start of your three weeks tour of Sri Lanka.

It is a pleasure to read that our friendly staff and amenities made your stay a memorable one and thank you for your words of praise on our pillow menu and choice of restaurants. We are certainly glad that you left with good memories of your dining experience at the Lagoon and London Grill as well as the Coffee Stop.

We do hope you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to delight you with more of our cinnamon hospitality if you do visit Sri Lanka again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,784 - 2,790 of 3,849 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for the last 5 years whenever I visit Sri Lanka for business trips. I have stayed in almost all the hotels in Colombo, Sri Lanka and find this one the best to stay. The staff is extremely helpful and always cheerful. Right from the doorman to the reception to the staff at the restaurants, you dont feel lost. All the restaurants are top notch and my favorite is the Lagoon for the best sea food you can ever eat!!!

It's amazing that the management does a good job to retain this people as the service industry is always a challenging job. I recommend anybody visiting Colombo Sri Lanka for business or holiday to stay in Cinnamon Grand. I am looking forward to staying in their other property called the Cinnamon Lakeside on my next trip to see the difference :-)

Room Tip: Choose the one with the pool view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santoshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for patronizing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed staying with us on every business trip to Sri Lanka. It was truly a pleasure for my team and I to read your complimentary review and we do appreciate your commendations on our helpful and friendly staff. We are also glad that you were able to experience our dining options, and note that Lagoon is your favourite.

Whilst thanking you for recommending Cinnamon Grand on TripAdvisor, we do look forward to you staying with us again, maybe sometime in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very big hotel. However rooms are a little small but good. I went during Christmas season and the decoration was all around. Very big and busy lobby.People are all around. Excellent service at the hotel restaurant. Good managers who can handle issues. Overall a good hotel. Try to explore the hotel as there are many restaurants. Also there is a outdoor restaurant where you will get a change to have traditional srilanka way of eating. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand.

We are delighted to read you had an overall good stay with us and enjoyed the service and amenities. Whilst appreciating your compliments on our traditional Sri Lankan restaurant, we do look forward to having you stay with us again in order to experience more of our dining options and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. It was my first visit to Colombo and I was very pleased with my hotel choice. I got quite a good rate online and found it very good value. The staff were helpful, food was excellent (and varied, with several restaurants to choose from) and pool really good. Although the rooms were a little dated they were clean and well maintained. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to know that we did meet up with your expectations and that you got good value for your money. We appreciate your words of praise on our amenities, service and food, and choice of restaurants; and look forward to indulging you with more of our cinnamon hospitality, on your next visit.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I made a few days stay here during a business trip to Colombo and can honestly say this is a true 5-star with all the credentials worthy of any top-class hotel.

From the moment I arrived I was very well looked after and found that nothing was too much trouble.

The many in-house restaurants are excellent - the London Grill is a little more expensive although by Europeans standards this is still good value, not to mention the best steak I have eaten in many years.

The poolside bar is a gem with a great team who are a huge asset to the hotel.

The rooms are very comfortable, all service is first-class and the location is good.

Room Tip: No tips in particular - opt for exec room if funds allow for free breakfasts, drinks (6-8pm).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLoveCamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It was a delight to read your complimentary review and we are so glad you had a memorable stay with us, enjoying the facilities, services and choice of restaurants, with London Grill topping the list.

We very much appreciate you recommending our hotel and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality, perhaps in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel in Colombo and provides all the standard services expected of a 5 star hotel. I stayed 1 night on my arrival in Sri Lanka, I ate at 2 of the restaurants. The Sri Lankan village style restaurant that was very interesting and a nice concept for lunch & at the Indian restaurant for dinner.
The room was standard with all amenaties and nice AC, there were some fruits in the room, the bell hop explained the working of the room on bringing up our luggage, also they had left the Ac on before out arrival which was a nice touch of cooling the room on a hot day.
Our room overlooked a parking lot that was an eye sore and a dump. After lunch we retured for a short siesta due to the Colombo heat, we went down for Coffee to the coffee shop and sadly all the nice rolls and buns were gone and replaced by cakes. We order a couple of cakes that were terrible, very rubbery and a shame for a 5 star establishment. We dicided to have the tea instead of coffe and that was alright.
After a brief evening stroll at the Galle Face greens we returned for dinner, they had some wedding banquet and there were kids running amuk over the entire lobby, our 2 year old wanted to join the other kids running around, so we quickly ducked into the Indian restaurant.
The menu sounded very authentic and eleborate, the food took an age to arrive, and refils that we orded took their own sweet time, so not a pleasent experience if you are real hungry and want to finish you meal in a reasonable frame of time. Over all above average " it was a very large restaurant and we say that it was 85% packed", so that explaines the slow service.
We had requested a wake up call that was prompt as we need to catch a 5:45 aM train to Badulla. On the previous night we spoke to the reception about early morning transport to Fort Railway station and they said that private taxi was available and will not be an issue.
However when I check out in the morning I was strong armed into using the Hotel car saying private cabs are not avilable --- this is not a good practise and I explained this to the duty manager that I should have been informed the previous day.
Anyway It was late I folked out the extra $$, the driver was a very nice guy who help to get us on the train on time and also helped with the luggage etc as no ported was available at the railway station, anyway I handsomely tipped him for his help.
I will not stay here the next time and try others like the Hilton / Galle Face etc.

Room Tip: Ask for as room that does face the parking lot dump, overgrown with plants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xkuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your experience at our traditional Sri Lankan restaurant. Please be assured that your feedback on the various issues mentioned will be taken up and corrective measures implemented.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

After doing a good ground work, i think this is truly the only 5 star with the international feel in Colombo. Choice of restaurants. Nice rooms. The best location. Of course it felt a bit expensive but then all around it with features lesser then Cinnamon, the tariffs are at par. The italian there in the speciality restaurant is wonderful..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankajdaga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Your high recommendation of our hotel on TripAdvisor was a pleasure to read, thank you. We are indeed delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; and your appreciation of our location, amenities and choice of restaurants, with special mention of the Italian restaurant, is very encouraging.

We look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay with us, to indulge in more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 55 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $140 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing