We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Nearby Hotels
$98
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Samudra Colombo(Colombo)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
$76
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$117
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,302)
Filter reviews
5,302 results
Traveler rating
3,341
1,376
352
132
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,341
1,376
352
132
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreeze barcheers publondon grillcoffee stoptaprobane restaurantjaffna foodnuga gamalagoon restaurantnoodlessri lankaseafood restaurantbig hotelfood courtcoffee shopbusy hotelchoice of restaurantsexecutive floor
Filter
Updating list...
4,252 - 4,257 of 5,302 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here 5 days in November. Actually my company booked this hotel for me.
I got to stay on the topfloor, in the executive floor. Drinks, high tea, snacks etc were included in the separate lounge on the 9th floor.
Staff was really kind and I absoluely loved the cinnamon chocolates on my pillow every evening.
Smell of cinnamon in the rooms was also very nice.
Would stay here again if I could.
Slight disadvantage are the functions and seminars that are held in the grand atrium. you can hear the noise a little bit in your room.

Room Tip: 8 or 9th floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for spending 5 days at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are indeed delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for appreciating our facilities, hospitality and services at the executive floor. We are glad you would opt to stay with us again.

Whilst thanking you for your kind words on TripAdvisor, we hope you will have the opportunity to indulge in more of our facilities and hospitality, during your future visits to Cinnamon Grand.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Not really my idea of a luxury hotel. It's not as good as it's hyped up to be.

Avoid the smoking floors at all costs - despite what the front desk say, the rooms still smell like old cigarettes.

We had a view of the a massive air conditioning unit. Not exactly romantic.

The only things I like about this place was people watching, TRUNK and the coffee shop.
We could never get a seat in the restaurants in the mornings....so go around to the Courtyard one - the staff are fantastic and doesn't feel like a watering hole in the jungle.

The guy in the business centre was very helpful and friendly.

Don't waste your money staying here if you're expecting something that you'd consider 'luxury' at home.

Room Tip: Have a look at a few places / rooms - you could probably find something of better value.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We have noted your comments on TripAdvisor and regret you did not find our service and facilities satisfactory. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very arrogant staff at front desk. Hotel doesn't not respect to comment put in booking. Do not count loyalty, ask you fill up the form every time instead of pull put the profile from the system. No matter you are first timer or returning guest.
I requested a room to be in a higher floor but not available. I asked it again check in staff told me no other room available. Upon enter the room, right outside the window, there are movers moving heavy items with noisy wheels moving. It was middle of the night, 2am! I called the duty manager and when they come to the room and suggest me to move to a higher floor. Wait a min, i just been told no other room available. They even offer me to just use the room to sleep and keep the luggage in the original room as they do not need the existing room.
Hotel booking were done through the official website not from a travel agency. Why details and request were not sent to the hotel?
We made booking for 2 rooms, we been charged different price upon check out. When we inquiry for the differences, without checking on the system simply tell us it is the additional charges. We have to call the duty manager again. Wait a min, shouldn't this guy who talking to us is the supervisor of the check out desk??
You can imagine from check in to check out we have to go through these.
No choice, instead of hardware, this hotel is the latest available in Colombo. However like i complain before, all shower hose in the bath room are broken. Shower screen could not be close and end up with a full water bath room. This time happen again!
Hotel F&B outlets are good and that's all about it.
Wait for the rest of the hotel coming up with new renovation and new built hotel down the road like Shangri La in two years. We can all forget about this hotel by then.

Hotel booking were done through the official website not from a travel agency. Why details and request were not sent to the hotel?
We made booking for 2 rooms, we been charged different price upon check out. When we inquiry for the differences, without checking on the system simply tell us it is the additional charges. We have to call the duty manager again. Wait a min, shouldn't this guy who talking to us is the supervisor of the check out desk??
You can immagine from check in to check out we have to go through these.
No choice, instead of hardware, this hotel is the lastest available in Colombo. However like i complain before, all shower hose in the bath room are broken. Shower screen could not be close and end up with a full water bath room. This time happen again!
Hotel F&B outlets are good and that's all about it.
Wait for the rest of the hotel coming up with new renovation and new built hotel down the road like Shangri La in two years. We can all forget about this hotel by then.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review on TripAdvisor, we are very sorry to learn about your disappointment from check-in to check-out. All the issues you faced are not in keeping with the high standards that we try to maintain at all times and we will certainly investigate into your complaint and take necessary action to ensure this does not happen again. As such we shall be grateful if you would send us more details of your stay, such as room no, names, and dates etc., to the email address given below.

Once again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and we do hope you will get back to us with the details.

Best regards
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Completely awesome experience, We stayed here for almost 4 days, this was just completely unwinding trip, got a good deal from my existing supplier, and the choice for stay is excellent, got the room at the 4th floor, Excellent house keeping and great food, Indian restaurant is moderately okay on the indian menu, but the continental buffet is excellent, with wide range for all. Overall the Hotel is simply superb and location for relaxation and business is best, as it is on the galle road, walkable to beach, neighborhood is good, rear side lake is good for brisk walk in the evening, gym is decent.

Room Tip: Take high floors, Pool view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bharanimuthuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are truly delighted that you had an awesome experience. Thank you for your words of praise on our facilities and services. . In our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests, such impressions as yours are definitely an encouragement to us.

Whilst thanking for your review on TripAdvisor, we hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had booked non-smoking rooms (on the same floor) at this property over New Year's. We paid top dollar for all the rooms and even paid in advance in full two months prior to coming to Colombo. About a month before arrival we were asked to provide the guest details (along with passport copies). We also highlighted to the hotel that there were two expecting mothers and 7 children (from 10 years - 3 years) which they had the passport copies of as well.

When we checked-in to the hotel, we were all given rooms on the smoking floor and were not even told about it. When one of the pregnant mothers walked into her room she could not stand the smell of the room and we called the reception and the individual told us it was a smoking room.

We spoke to the Front Office Manager and finally had all our rooms changed to non-smoking rooms but on different floors. This hotel did not keep their word as per the reservation and the staff were not apologetic or anything. It seemed they were more important in making sure they have all their rooms filled at the highest prices as it was the New Years time.

So if you are traveling in a group beware of this hotel if you are going during a holiday period. They may screw you like they did us.

Room Tip: As them to give you rooms in the new wing and not the old / renovated wing. 4th floor in the new wing is the smoking floor!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grandmaster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review on TripAdvisor, we are very sorry to learn about your disappointment and inconvenience over the issues you faced. However, it is pertinent to mention that it was not a direct booking with the hotel but through a Travel Agent.

Therefore the only special requests we received from your Travel Agent were “please allocate king size beds in all the rooms” and “flower bouquet and cake on FOC basis for 40th wedding anniversary of client”. There was no request for non-smoking rooms, neither was there any mention that two ladies in the group were pregnant mothers.

However, please accept our sincere apologies. Nothing is more important to us than regaining your confidence and we sincerely hope this incident will not prevent you from staying again at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews