We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorial stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A memorial stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our first stop in Sri Lanka was at the Cinnamon Grand colombo.We were pleasantly surprised at size of the hotel and the amenities it had.There were number of restaurants to choose from, but my favourite was the Sea food restaurant. You get to choose your own fish and have it cook in the style you want.... indian,thai ,continental etc..which was fun.
The rooms very fairly big and comfortable. Very clean and good service. Stayed 2 nts .Wished we could have stayed longer, but we had to see the other parts of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superduper123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for making the Cinnamon Grand Colombo your first stop in Sri Lanka.

We are glad you had the opportunity to experience some of our restaurants, and note that the sea food restaurant has been your favourite. We also thank you for your appreciative review of the hotel, amenities, and service on TripAdvisor.

Thank you once again for the confidence placed in the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and we look forward to delight you with more of our hospitality, on your next, longer stay with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    1,211
    318
    121
    89
See reviews for
693
911
207
990
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A really large hotel with many facilities that I didn't get chance to use....however, rooms were fully equipped with nice toiletries and all the other bits and bobs that you'd expect . Spotlessly clean, hotel staff were very attentive and came to check your room a couple of times during the day.

Breakfast was a good mix of western and eastern food to meet all tastes, coffee shop in the lobby was a great source of both sweet and savoury treats.

For those with very little time it's right next door to a little shopping mall where gifts can be purchased.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed the amenities, cleanliness, food and attentive staff. We are also delighted that the shopping mall next door did facilitate some quick purchases.

We do hope you would stay with us longer the next time, in order to enjoy more of the facilities and dining options and enable us to indulge you with more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband & I spent a few glorious weeks traveling around Sri Lanka & stopped off for two nights to do some shopping in the capital en route to the Maldives on our honeymoon. The hotel is everything you would expect from a large chain so compared to the personalised service we received in the smaller boutique hotels along the way, we were totally anonymous and there were no perks for being on honeymoon. The restaurants were ok, we ate at the delicious west Indian restaurant both nights as the themed restaurant was a bit cheesy. The breakfast spread was pretty sad though... The room was big enough with lots of light and best thing about this place was the pillow concierge service that made sure you had the type of pillow that would make your sleep enjoyable. We popped down to the mall for a foot massage at Dr Scholls which was divine after weeks of travel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTownYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and we do appreciate your constructive feedback.

We are glad that you liked the room with the pillow menu and enjoyed the food at Chutneys. However, we have noted your comments and in our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our guests, we will certainly ensure that these issues are looked into.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments to help us serve you better and we certainly hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you sometime in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I had first stayed here five years back when it was under different mgmt. This time I did visit the hotel at least thrice primarily to have lunch at their awesome sea food restaurant called lagoon. The food was simply devine. I saw some ofhe rooms and they looked very comfortable. The hotel is right on galle face so the best location you can ask for in the city

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for patronizing the Sea Food Restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your appreciative review of our amenities, location and food.

Your words of praise are truly an encouragement, and we will certainly strive to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests.

We hope you would plan to stay with us in the future in order to experience more of our dining options and indulge in our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Tao is an outdoor restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand.

The ambiance is great & we wouldn't feel like it is crowded, even if it was. We we given a table near the pond, where you can watch the large decorative fish swimming around. There was a large, attractive looking bird closely eyeing the fish all the while, almost like the show was put on for us...

For the main course I ordered the pork chops & was served one of the most succulent pork chops I have had. The dressing on dish was very nice. There was ample of a wonderful sauce to go with the meat.

For desert I had the caramelized banana tart & it came with a strawberry, berries, chocolate strips, etc. It was a delightful desert & again the dressing was attractive. I think the desserts here are on the expensive side, but I kind of did feel like what I got was worth it.

The service is excellent! Well mannered, polite waiters, who know very well how to serve their guests.

We even got complimentary almonds with a sweet sugar coating when I called for the bill.

(Tao is one of the restaurants at the Cinnamon Grand & I don't know why it doesn't have a separate TripAdvisor page...)

Room Tip: Choose a table close to the pond, you can have a nice view whilst you dine. I think there are about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_DeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for appreciating the Tao restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

My team and I were very pleased to read your very descriptive and appreciative review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed the culinary experience along with the ambiance and service.

Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we do look forward to have you stay with us, enjoy more of our dining options and also enable us to indulge you with more of our cinnamon hospitality

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our first night in Sri Lanka and it was very convenient and pleasant. The hotel is big, busy and modern, with all the facilities of a good hotel. We had an excellent dinner at Tao restaurant and the ambiance was very nice. Our room was big with a view of the city, comfortable and cozy. I only wish the decoration was a bit more local and a bit less western but I suppose that's normal in such large busy hotel... All in all, it was everything we needed after a long flight from Europe!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dolores2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It is greatly satisfying for us to learn that our hotel has met with your expectations in facilities, comfort and cuisine; and we sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience for all our valued guests and we look forward to welcome you back, should you visit Sri Lanka again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very nice rooms possibly geared more towards the business traveler. Comfortable beds with big enough rooms. Excellent buffet breakfast catering for most tastes and a very good selection of restaurants. The fish restaurant is a must with great and reasonably affordable food. 2 swimming pools which are both unfortunately outdoors so they are not useable during the rainy season. The cafe offers great coffee and snacks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your appreciative feedback.

We are indeed pleased you found the rooms big and comfortable and enjoyed the dining options, particularly the Lagoon restaurant. Whilst assuring you of our best services, we hope you will give us another opportunity to indulge you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality, perhaps in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing