We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top 5 star hotel”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed at cinnamon grand for the first two nights of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka . Efficient check in and our room was lovely with a great view of the pool. We were on the 5th floor. Plenty of staff available for any assistance. Room was large and had everything in it we needed and more . We ate at Tao one night and the Lagoon on the other . Food was amazing! Drinks quite expensive though. Breakfast Buffett was lovely with a huge choice .... As a vegetarian I would have liked to have seen vegetarian sausages as an option +/- quorn bacon although I am not sure if this is available in Sri Lanka. Pool is lovely with plenty of loungers and towels provided. It is very much a business hotel which was great for us as hardly anyone around the pool! Really nice complimentary steam room , jacuzzi etc in adjacent building- seperate for men and women. Additional roof top pool although we didn't use this one. Tourist office right opposite the hotel which was very handy. Overall a great stay.... Set a very high standard for the rest if our honeymoon hotels! Thank you cinnamon grand.

Karen & Steve , London, England

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo on the first two nights of your honeymoon in Sri Lanka.

It was such a pleasure reading your complimentary review on TripAdvisor and we are most delighted you had a great stay. Thank you for appreciating our location, standard of service and amenities. In our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests such impressions as yours are definitely an encouragement to us.

We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the experience of some of our restaurants and we do look forward to your next visit to enjoy more of our culinary delights, cinnamon hospitality and for yet another memorable stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    1,235
    325
    125
    90
See reviews for
732
931
209
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Cinnamon Grand is a great hotel, especially the service at the Breeze Bar Restaurant and Pool. We always look forward to the waiter Kushal and his senior captain Kapila who go out of their way to serve you with great satisfaction.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for patronizing the Breeze Bar at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and we do appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and service; and in particular, the services provided by Kushal and Kapila. I will certainly be pleased to convey your appreciation to them.

We take this opportunity to thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality, when you visit us again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking forward to ending our Sri Lanka holiday on a high note.

On checking in at Cinnamon Grand reception we were given a room key and sent to our room unescorted. On arrival we found we has been allocated a small room containing only twin beds that was not even prepared for 3 guests.The intention apparently was for them to add a fold up bed. If they had done so the room would have been wall to wall beds with no room for 3 quests plus 3 large suitcases etc Surely if the rooms are not big enough bookings should not be accepted for tripple occupancy.. Two hours later after complaining to the manager we were given a suite with a separate bedroom and had one fold out bed installed in the dining area and another bed in the TV area. Not ideal but at least it was very spacious.
The requirement for 3 single beds proved a hassle in all but one place throughout our stay in Sri Lanka but was expecting more from a 5 star establishment.
The manager arranged complimentary wine, fruit and chocolates to appease us but the problem should have been avoided in the first place.
The hotel itself was quite plush with an elaborate buffet breakfast. The location next door to shops was convenient and a good base for touring Colombo.

Room Tip: Dont expect too much even if it claims to be 5 star
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your comments on TripAdvisor.

Whilst we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you were faced with during your check-in, we assure you that this issue has been addressed and corrective measures taken to ensure there is no recurrence in the future.

We also sincerely hope that these shortfalls will not deter you from staying with us; instead you would give us another opportunity to indulge you with our Cinnamon hospitality, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is the best hotel i have stayed in Sri Lanka while we were travelling. Breakfast was great, i love the hotel location and design. The staff are very professional and friendly.i definitely would love to stay in this hotel again and longer time next time when i come to Sri Lanka

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmW678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor, of your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you loved our hotel, location and design and enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you also for commending our staff. Indeed, we do look forward to welcome you to a longer stay that will enable you to experience more of our dining options and give us the opportunity to indulge you with more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel was pleasant enough but it was not really international 5 star class
Check in albeit in the middle of the night was slow and given I had come off a long flight aggravating.
The staff in the cafe off the lobby did not speak even basic English
The hotel provides a car service however the driver I got was trying his best to scam me to do things that I did not want to do, in fact he became a pest that I had to get rid of him

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are most concerned with your feedback and would appreciate if you could kindly let us know more details regarding the issues faced by you, via our e-mail address indicated below, such as dates of your stay, name of the driver etc., for us to look into this matter and take corrective action. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies.

We do hope you will respond to our email address and that these experiences will not prevent you from staying with us, when you visit Sri Lanka again.

Thank you
e-mail: gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love Lanka...lovely people, beautiful country , great food and outstanding hotels. Fab rooms, great and I mean out of this world food in the restaurants, amazing service, really friendly people...despite the T20 cricket world club that brought me there, amazing service. A very helpful concierge, polite and efficient, good value for money hotel limo service..I really can't complain.....BUT I will..wifi Internet was a pain to get working, many many calls later, finally got a wifi router in my room..hate these outsourced DOCOMO Internet service providers and their long list of questions, easier in the past, when the IT guys comes from the 6th floor...alas, budgetary constraints and process optimization has changed even the guest services..overall though excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool at the back, take the exec floor and have a private breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imrannasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your feedback on TripAdvisor is much appreciated.

We also appreciate your compliments on our country, hotel, and rooms; food, service and hospitality. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the internet issues.

We are working on this and as it is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience for all our guests, we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to the Cinnamon Grand to delight you with our improved services and facilities.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Cinnamon Grand has a terrific location and a grand layout. The gym(s) are excellent, as is the spa. The foyer splendid. The rooms adequate and the service most pleasant. Great value for money for either of business or pleasure, and a couple of very good restaurants. The incoming competition will be only improve it further

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nairobijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review on TripAdivsor.

We are glad to have impressed you with our grand layout, great location and splendid foyer. We are also pleased that you were satisfied with the rooms and service, including the dining experience at our different restaurants.

Whilst thanking you for your very encouraging review, we sincerely look forward to delight you once again with our Cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
2,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing