We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Hotels.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Destinia.com
$85
View deal
Booking.com$129
Trip.com$93
eDreams$129
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,740)
Filter reviews
10,739 results
Traveler rating
8,464
1,608
389
149
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8,464
1,608
389
149
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noodles breeze bar cheers pub nuga gama shisha bar coffee stop lagoon restaurant tao restaurant london grill excellent service seafood sri lanka special thanks coffee shop executive floor high tea keep up the good work
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9,689 - 9,694 of 10,739 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking forward to ending our Sri Lanka holiday on a high note.

On checking in at Cinnamon Grand reception we were given a room key and sent to our room unescorted. On arrival we found we has been allocated a small room containing only twin beds that was not even prepared for 3 guests.The intention apparently was for them to add a fold up bed. If they had done so the room would have been wall to wall beds with no room for 3 quests plus 3 large suitcases etc Surely if the rooms are not big enough bookings should not be accepted for tripple occupancy.. Two hours later after complaining to the manager we were given a suite with a separate bedroom and had one fold out bed installed in the dining area and another bed in the TV area. Not ideal but at least it was very spacious.
The requirement for 3 single beds proved a hassle in all but one place throughout our stay in Sri Lanka but was expecting more from a 5 star establishment.
The manager arranged complimentary wine, fruit and chocolates to appease us but the problem should have been avoided in the first place.
The hotel itself was quite plush with an elaborate buffet breakfast. The location next door to shops was convenient and a good base for touring Colombo.

Room tip: Dont expect too much even if it claims to be 5 star
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your comments on TripAdvisor.

Whilst we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you were faced with during your check-in, we assure you that this issue has been addressed and corrective measures taken to ensure there is no recurrence in the future.

We also sincerely hope that these shortfalls will not deter you from staying with us; instead you would give us another opportunity to indulge you with our Cinnamon hospitality, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is the best hotel i have stayed in Sri Lanka while we were travelling. Breakfast was great, i love the hotel location and design. The staff are very professional and friendly.i definitely would love to stay in this hotel again and longer time next time when i come to Sri Lanka

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor, of your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you loved our hotel, location and design and enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you also for commending our staff. Indeed, we do look forward to welcome you to a longer stay that will enable you to experience more of our dining options and give us the opportunity to indulge you with more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel was pleasant enough but it was not really international 5 star class
Check in albeit in the middle of the night was slow and given I had come off a long flight aggravating.
The staff in the cafe off the lobby did not speak even basic English
The hotel provides a car service however the driver I got was trying his best to scam me to do things that I did not want to do, in fact he became a pest that I had to get rid of him

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are most concerned with your feedback and would appreciate if you could kindly let us know more details regarding the issues faced by you, via our e-mail address indicated below, such as dates of your stay, name of the driver etc., for us to look into this matter and take corrective action. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies.

We do hope you will respond to our email address and that these experiences will not prevent you from staying with us, when you visit Sri Lanka again.

Thank you
e-mail: gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love Lanka...lovely people, beautiful country , great food and outstanding hotels. Fab rooms, great and I mean out of this world food in the restaurants, amazing service, really friendly people...despite the T20 cricket world club that brought me there, amazing service. A very helpful concierge, polite and efficient, good value for money hotel limo service..I really can't complain.....BUT I will..wifi Internet was a pain to get working, many many calls later, finally got a wifi router in my room..hate these outsourced DOCOMO Internet service providers and their long list of questions, easier in the past, when the IT guys comes from the 6th floor...alas, budgetary constraints and process optimization has changed even the guest services..overall though excellent.

Room tip: Overlooking the pool at the back, take the exec floor and have a private breakfast
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imrannasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your feedback on TripAdvisor is much appreciated.

We also appreciate your compliments on our country, hotel, and rooms; food, service and hospitality. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the internet issues.

We are working on this and as it is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience for all our guests, we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to the Cinnamon Grand to delight you with our improved services and facilities.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Cinnamon Grand has a terrific location and a grand layout. The gym(s) are excellent, as is the spa. The foyer splendid. The rooms adequate and the service most pleasant. Great value for money for either of business or pleasure, and a couple of very good restaurants. The incoming competition will be only improve it further

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nairobijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review on TripAdivsor.

We are glad to have impressed you with our grand layout, great location and splendid foyer. We are also pleased that you were satisfied with the rooms and service, including the dining experience at our different restaurants.

Whilst thanking you for your very encouraging review, we sincerely look forward to delight you once again with our Cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews