We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good situation for sightseeing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A large modern hotel with a good selection of various restaurants. The swimming pool is large and the chairs around the pool comfortable. The pool staff were not exactly helpful or readily available. There is a shopping centre next to the Hotel with a supermarket, fashions shops and an excellent foot spa

Room Tip: The higher the rooms the better and avoid bedrooms on the front of the hotel as the traffice is nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you had a good stay at our hotel, and thank you for the words of praise on our design, facilities and dining options. We are also glad you found the adjoining supermarket of great service.

It is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience for all our valued guests and we look forward to welcome you back, should you visit Sri Lanka again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,321 - 3,327 of 4,253 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ver stayed here for 3 nights in November 2011. Great place, a true five star. Very good location with sea beach at a walking distance. Hotel itself is beautiful. Many options for food...and food is great. Good Service.

Overall a very good experience..will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyHigh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your 3 nights stay at Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you’ve had a good experience and appreciate your compliments on our hotel, location, service, dining options and in particular, the food that you have enjoyed during your stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you to the Cinnamon Grand again, to indulge you with more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the main road close to the sea front, decent size rooms, staff is warm and friendly like most sri lankans in colombo. Pool is nice and has a great bar next to it. Most locations are close by and there are quite a few restaurant choices to pick from. Breakfast is elaborate, over all great value for money.
Rooms in the front on higher floors have the sea view, and at the back have the lake view, though most rooms have the pool view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review.

We are pleased that you found your stay, over all great value for money. Thank you for your commendation on our room and amenities, location, service, our choice of restaurants and breakfast.

We hope your next stay with us will be longer, in order to experience more of our dining options and indulge in our more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Had one night here before setting off on our travels. Although a fair distance from the airport!

We ate in one of the restaurants think it was called Tao? The food was absolutely amazing and good value, friendly and knowledgable staff.

We also had a drink in the bar near the pool which was good.

Very much a business hotel but would recommend for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brettandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We are glad you chose to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, though it was only for just one night.

Thank you for your compliments on the food at Tao and the hospitality of the staff. Thank you also for your recommendation on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you, maybe for a longer stay, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is one of the best in Colombo but I gather that the international chains are just starting to come and new hotels are being build that would push this hotel behind.

The rooms are decent both in terms of size and upkeep. The service is good. It was a 100% packed house when we stayed and we ordered room service quite a few times at peak hours and at odd hours. The service was always on time.

The hotel has a great pub on the basement with a lot of character, I highly recommend it to everyone.

Overall a decent stay and a good stay option in Colombo till newer hotels come up.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We are glad that you liked your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are very pleased that our service has excelled your expectations; the rooms decent and that you have particularly liked the Cheers Pub. Thank you for your recommendation.

It is our endeavour to maintain our standing as the best city hotel and indeed will continue to excel in our efforts to do so. As such, it is encouraging to read such complimentary comments.

Whilst thanking you for your review on TripAdvisor, we hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a great stay here
- Fine facilities
- Good rooms
- Nice location
- Good breakfast spread
- Clean and nice facilities
- Hospitable staff, though I did have issues with my electronic keys not working a few times
- Nice eating options too

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikram_Singh_Chauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and appreciating our rooms and facilities, location and service along with the food and eating options on TripAdvisor

We hope we would have the opportunity to delight you with more of our Cinnamon Hospitality, on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am not a fan of 5-star properties and I am not a fan of Cinnamon Grand. Its clean, its large, the service is good but like most 5-star properties, the place lacks any character. Its the same old restaurants, coffee shops, swimming pools and gyms. The only good thing about the Cinnamon Grand is the tiny little shop behind the coffee shop which sells really good Sri Lankan rural stuff and that it adjoins a rather cost effective shopping mall next door. And yes, the tea at breakfast was exquisite. I don't have anything against the hotel and I don't have anything for it either. Comfortable beds, modern rooms, clean toilets, good location and friendly staff - its worth the money, I guess.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on higher floors and towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mraquamarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback.

We are pleased you found the hotel and rooms clean, comfortable with good service, friendly staff, good location and worth the money. The rural stuff you had picked up is from the little Shop at ‘Nuga Gama’ which is a typical Sri Lankan Village Restaurant.

Hope you would stay with us longer the next time and experience our several dining options and indulge in more of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
2,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo
1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#14 of 55 in Colombo
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $162 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing