We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful !!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We enjoyed the rooms, the surroundings, the food and the welcome. A good beginning to a wonderful visit

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to welcome you once again, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    1,210
    318
    121
    89
See reviews for
690
911
207
990
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Check-in was slightly slow, early in the morning, which was irritating. The rooms was good, service by the butlers exceeded my expectations, everyone was smiling, and the executive lounge was a treat! Unfortunately, we didnt have hot water, which was slightly dissapointing. But never mind, food was also delicious at the restaurants like TAO, The Lagoon, and even the room service. Best Business hotel in Colombo!

Room Tip: Any room on the Executive floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

As much as we are delighted to hear of your positive comments, particularly on our executive lounge facilities, w are sorry if there was any inconvenience caused to you due to the interruption of the hot water supply. However, please be assured that action has been taken to resolve this issue. As regards the delay at check-in, we have also taken measures to speed up the process.

Thank you for enjoying our Tao and Lagoon restaurants. Hope you will have the pleasure to dine in more of our restaurants, perhaps on your next visit to the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Cinnamon Grand is a high quality hotel that sets the benchmark for luxury accommodation in Sri Lanka.

We stayed here for 3 nights and simply had nothing to complain about. The staff are excellent, the facilities top class and the food is wonderful.

My reviews on TripAdvisor are normally much longer than this. But in this instance I can simply say I will be back. Simple as that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, and for your wonderful compliments on TripAdvisor.

It gives us tremendous satisfaction to know you were more than happy about our services and facilities. We are delighted for the confidence placed in the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you once again with our Cinnamon hospitality, on your next visit Sri Lanka.


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

in a busy week of meetings I've really enjoyed the down time in the Colombo lounge - a benefit of being on the executive floor and the staff really look after you well - nothing is too much trouble. There are so many dining options in the hotel that I couldn't try them all but those I did served goo food in pleasant surroundings. The Cheers Pub showed the World cup rugby at the weekend albeit in the smoking room - but it was a cracking atmosphere!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbybroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted to learn you’ve enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Indeed the facilities and services provided at our executive floor has been appreciated by many a guest and we are glad you enjoyed it too. No doubt, our staff would be pleased with your comments.

Whilst thanking you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand, we hope you would have the opportunity to stay with us once again, perhaps on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed at the cinnamon grand for 2 nights and ate too much!

Food is excellent and super cheap!!!
A meal costs as much as a mc donalds meal in singapore. And its so good! Breakfast was wonderful.

Not as wonderful as a Singapore 5 star but acceptable.

In a pretty central area too!

Would recommend it to friends but will advice anyone needing internet to go to the internet cafe in the shopping mall next door $1us per hour instead of $10us.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swedaporean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are honored that you’ve enjoyed our food and appreciate for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for enjoying your stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcome you once again, for more of our indulgence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights for a business trip and can highly recommend this hotel and its sister hotel the Cinnamon Lakeside, that is situated close-by. Both are of similar layout and structure though the lakeside looked slightly more modern and upmarket.
The rooms have all the usual facilities and are clean and functional though showing signs of getting slightly old and worn.
All staff were courteous, well groomed and knowledgable, making every effort to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing.
We dined in the "Cheers" pub on the 1st night, which offered an english pub experience (sport TV) with a standard food menu of good value and portions. We also ate at the "London Grill" which was an excellent fine dining experience, with prices to match.
There is a small shopping mall next to the hotel with a supermarket in the basement, along with the normal array of basic items available (clothes shops, hairdressers, souveniers etc)
Wi-Fi internet access is chargable throughout the hotel, which I would have expected to be complimentary at such a high class of hotel.
Only downside was the crows that have become resident in the trees around the pool area. In the morning and at sunset there are hundreds of them, making a nuisance and causing considerable disturbance to such a peaceful setting.
All in all we enjoyed our short stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Columbo.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor and maybe get a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundodger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Your detailed feedback on the overall experience of your stay at our hotel is much appreciated. Thank you also for dining in at least two of our restaurants, even though you were on a short stay and we also highly value your comments made about our “London Grill”.

As for your concern regarding the Wi-fi charges, we are pleased inform that by end of October we hope to provide this facility at a very nominal cost for the benefit of our valued guests.

Thank you once again for your patronage and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, during your future visits to Sri Lanka.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
335 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

A good choice in Colombo. One grouse that we had when we visited was that the four rooms booked by us were far apart though on the same floor. It was a lack of planning on their part.
The pool is good. The buffet breakfast was also pretty good.
We ate at Chutney Mary their specialty Indian restaurant and really enjoyed the food there.
The lobby area is very vibrant. The cake shop gave us a delicious birthday cake for my mom and my niece.
I do recommend Cinnamon Grand for all prospective visitors to Colombo.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We appreciate your positive comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for enjoying our facilities. We are happy you liked the food at our Chutneys Restaurant. However, we regret for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you in the allocation of your rooms, although it was located on the same floor. This may have been due to unavoidable circumstances, but where possible, we will certainly do our best in the future.

We would take this opportunity to thank you for your kind sentiments mentioned about the Cinnamon Grand and look forward to welcome you once again, for more of our indulgence.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing