We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of peace in Colombo's hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is in a small dead-end street and most taxi/tuk-tuk drivers had problems finding it, so make sure you have the hotel phone number if further directions are needed. That said, the area is very calm and there is not much you can do in the night beside drinking beer and chatting with friends in the garden. But actually it's quite nice activity after a day spent in the hustle and bustle of Colombo. Even better if you have a torrential rain as a backdrop.

There is certain atmosphere in the hotel that looks more like a colonial mansion from the Ceylon days than a modern hotel. The rooms have character, with high ceilings, maybe a bit dark for my taste.

We paid like EUR 100 per room, so obviously you could go much cheaper in Colombo and not much value for money. Service as everywhere else in Lanka was impeccable, breakfast also quite good. Did not try the restaurant.

Airport is quite far away, plan at least an hour to get there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panican_Whyasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 787 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We didn't have long in Colombo. We stayed at this place and were really pleased with it. Very clean, quiet, friendly environment with really nice rooms. Bathroom/shower in particular was great. Refreshing change from the very average showers we experienced in a lot of other hotels across Sri Lanka.

The window in our room faced out onto a brick wall, but that wasn't really an issue. In a city like Colombo, on the first floor of a building, a window's purpose is just to let some natural light in!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I loved the styling of this hotel. It's largely cast concrete, but rounded edges and polished surfaces make it sleek and comfortable, not to mention cool. It's all very open with lots of nooks and crannies to tuck yourself away in. Food is good, service great. A very friendly vibe. Close to the town centre but peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaHavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights on our arrival to Sri Lanka. I highly recommend this hotel for all that it offers. The airport pickup is over priced in comparison to meter taxis, but it's convenient. The service is fantastic and the rooms are immaculately clean. We'd certainly return, given the opportunity.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a first floor room. We arrived in Colombo very early in the morning but were picked up by a hotel driver and were able to check in straight away. Lake lodge is a beautiful up open air style building with places to sit and relax or enjoy breakfast on the ground and first floor. I particularly enjoyed sitting on the deck area with a beer and some snacks, it was a lovely spot to relax.

The room was lovely, clean and a decent size. The A/C and ceiling fan in the room was very welcome in the heat. The only strange thing about the room was the moth ball scent in the bathroom, which we got used to after a while.

Lake lodge is located down a quaint laneway near a lovely lake in Colombo. The location was perfect for us as it was out of the hustle and bussed and very quiet at night. It was also really easy to walk to most sites or take a tuk tuk if the heat was too much.

The staff at lake lodge are wonderful and only too happy to assist. Raj at the reception was particularly excellent and made our stay very enjoyable.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely come back to lake lodge next time we visit Colombo.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a fun first night stay in Sri Lanka at Lake Lodge. Rooms we're clean and comfy and the breakfast was great. We ordered the Sri Lankan breakfast the night before which was weird but tasty. Curried eggs for breakfast is a good way to begin your holiday in Sri Lanka! The upstairs bar was nice and they did great cocktails and spicy cashew nuts. Only negative was mothballs in the shower drain which made the bathroom and room smell a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joybould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely, stylish and understated remodel by the owner. Staff are also very friendly without being overbearing. Location is great - tucked away in a quiet nook, yet close enough to some nice shops and cafes within walking distance. And if you need to get around Colombo, the staff will be more than happy to give you recommendations and/or get you a tuk-tuk.

The hotel also has a restaurant that does a really nice curry dinner as well as Western dishes. Some of the best food we had on our Sri Lanka trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $87 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing