We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, close enough and still away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 140 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake George, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, close enough and still away from it all”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are tranquil and well appointed. Breakfast features three delicious menus and is included. We woke early each morning and walked around the lake before breakfast. A short tuk tuk ride to bustling metropolis

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annabanana74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    254
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
93
464
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Smaller room but so clean with every essential needed. The breakfast served free with your stay was terrific. We ate dinner here, again, great food and eaten on the outside balcony. Wine by the glass and the best mojito in the country. They welcome you with open arms!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nicely decorated hotel. Location is very quiet at the end of a small street. Restaurant food was excellent and correctly priced. Staff was very helpful and had these little attentions that make a big difference

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martigo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed for ten days. First five in the garden suite with my wife who joined me for the first half of the trip. Then five days in an upstairs room.

The booking process was done by e-mail. E-mails was responded to quickly and my non-standard booking was handled without any issues.

The hotel is located in such a way that it is a bit away from the busiest roads, yet really close to most places in central Colombo. To have a centrally placed hotel with such a quiet location is really nice when you spend all day in the busy city.

Only problem is to explain to Tuk-Tuk drivers with varying proficiency in English where the hotel is. My best tip: learn the street name of the closest main road: Perahera Mawatha. I don't think I met a single driver who did not know that street. Perahara MW is a not a long street, so you will have no problems giving turn-by-turn direction to your driver once your'e on the street.

The rooms are concrete and designery. From my discussions with people you either find this difference from normal hotel room boredom refreshing, or you really don't like it.
I quite liked it, the world has enough standard hotel rooms at it is. My only issue where that the rooms could have used a bit more or brighter light.

Food was really good, had dinner at the hotel twice (and was even treated with a special dessert the Chef was trying out for the menu). I also tried the Sri-Lankan breakfast which was also good.

The best thing about Lake Lodge is the staff. They are friendly and attentive, and they really went out of their way to make me feel at home during my two weeks stay. In particular I want to extend my thanks to Raj and Silan for making the stay something I will remember and think about for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We only stayed here one night before flying home, but could easily have stayed longer. The hotel is small but stylish, we loved the minimalist feel and polished concrete in the rooms. In many ways it’s a calm oasis, away from the hustle and bustle and heat of Colombo. Location is great, only a short walk to the Seema Malaka Temple and National Museum, or a short tuktuk ride into Colombo Fort. The manager was very helpful in arranging us a driver for the morning trip to the airport, and a breakfast pack as we were leaving very early. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed there for a night before my onward journey back home. The location is extremely central and ideal. The rooms were well designed, connected with WI-fi and was practically what i was looking for. The staff was courteous and responsive. Would highly reccomend this place for a qucim stop-over during your journey.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShebzGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here just before leaving Sri Lanka. It is a great place for an overnight stay. The rooms are concrete modern designed with air con and a nice bathroom (no views). There is a terrace with chairs and tables where you can have breakfast, dinner or an evening drink. The property itself is very small though, so it is not a place for lounging in the sun and recovering from Colombo's humidity and city bustle.

Staff was friendly and helped us organise a taxi to the airport. Overall, this is a nice little design hotel at a great location. You can walk to the Fort area and also further down Galle Road. I would definitely recommend for a one night stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippypppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing