We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Base for Colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 135 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Base for Colombo”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel is in a quiet location in Colombo and so provides a relaxing escape from the busy city. The room we were in was very pleasant with a fantastic bathroom. However, there was only one window looking on to a wall. This wasn't a problem for us as we were out and about during the day. The food was excellent, we had breakfasts and evening meals there which really tasted like goog home cooking.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    247
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
90
453
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I used Lake Lodge for my first night's stay in Sri Lanka. Arrived early afternoon on a public holiday so very quiet everywhere. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the food excellent. The room was quiet and comfortable. The upstairs eating area offered some breeze. Can't really offer more advice as I was there for such a short time and with no opportunity to get my bearings before I was away the next day. It would seem the perfect place to recuperate after a long haul flight or after a hectic tour.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EluwaiLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citta della Pieve, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everything about Lake Lodge was fantastic from the very moment we arrived. The staff were so friendly and helpful, they went out of there way to assist us in every way. After staying in Sri Lanka for 5 weeks and trying at least 15 different places this hotel was voted our best hotel by far. Seelan is a real gem and a tribute to the 5 star service that you receive.
Congratulations to all the staff.
Anthony and Antonella from bella Italia.

Room Tip: All you need to do is book a room everything else is top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed one night in Colombo - hotel so fab nearly didn't want to leave it to explore the city. Restaurant staff are very friendly and service in general is very good. I definitely recommend the Sri Lankan breakfast. Great location, had cocktail at sunset at Galle Face Hotel by sea and then could walk back to hotel for delicious dinner in Lake Lodge. If you appreciate good design this is definitely the place to stay in Colombo. Hats off to the architect, builders and other designers involved. Even the plates and cutlery have been designed beautifully. The attention to detail is somthing else. Smooth concrete walls, beautifully crafted hardwood furniture and this along with the most relaxing music ever makes you quickly forget you are in a busy city centre. I highly recommend Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was my first stay at Lake Lodge and it certainly wont be my last. It is well located to many key spots in Colombo and is a short walk to Galle Face Green. The staff were exceptional helpful and friendly. The breakfast choices were excellent and provided plenty of choices without having a buffet. All the food was great. I am looking forward to my next stay there already.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a great modern guesthouse, stylishly decorated and recently refurbished with helpful and friendly staff.
The restaurant has a limited selection of dishes but everything I tried was well prepared and tasty. Certain items for breakfast must be ordered the previous night.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our first hotel on arrival and a good place get used to it all. Very friendly, welcoming staff at reception and in the restaurant. The room was modern, clean and had all the things that make it good, fridge, good shower, nice toiletries, bottle of water etc. the food at the restaurant was great. Good position in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing