We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another fabulous stay at Lake Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yet another fabulous stay at Lake Lodge”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my third visit to Lake Lodge and would definitely stay at this charming boutique hotel again without any doubt. Location wise it was perfect to where I wanted to go and the places I wanted to see whilst in Colombo. This time round I stayed in the garden suite which was fabulous as I had my own outdoor space in the form of a small patio and courtyard where I would have my breakfast in the mornings. It was a lovely way to start the day!

What puts Lake Lodge ahead of the rest of the hotels in Colombo for me is the staff and the way they looked after me and accommodated my requests in terms of what I wanted to have for breakfast when it was not on the menu. The food at this hotel is terrific. Having a Caipalanka cocktail on the upstairs terrace was the perfect end to the day. I feel I should say a special thank you to the manager Rizwan who went out of his way to accommodate my requests for my dietary requirements etc. I would also like to say a special thank you to all the staff, in particular Mohan and Ramesh, who really looked after me during my 9 day stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Having stayed in the upstairs room and downstairs room my preference and tip would be the Garden Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    256
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
96
466
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Oasis in the hot and dusty city with first rate staff, delicious meals and clean rooms. Would return in a heartbeat. Splendid all around: perfect for the vacationing couple. My only hesitation is that the reviews will attract rude tourists to this spectacular hotel that should be a well-kept secret

Room Tip: excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleanandsimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We'd seen good reviews of this hotel and decided to give it a go.
Our first impression was that it was difficult to find - tucked away at the end of a cul-de-sac close to a maze of one-way streets. It was also hit and miss whether tuk tuk drivers had heard of it, when returning from shopping/eating. The solution to this was to take a hotel business card out with us.

The hotel itself was clean and pleasant, and modern. Due to its proximity to the lake, the rooms seemed to have a strange smell. The beds were comfortable, and bathroom was well equipped. The wifi was slightly hit or miss and the breakfast was pleasant. The staff were very attentive, particularly when our travel adaptor didn't work in the power socket - they let us borrow one which did work!

We only stayed here one night, and it was adequate for a final night before our flight home. However, I would have liked to have been closer to the "beaten track". If you like peace and quiet though, this is for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondehotelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this small and quiet boutique hotel. Great location with restaurants within walking distance (try Mango Tree for a great Punjabi restaurant) or a short tuktuk ride. The staff is extremely friendly and helped us find equipment stores for our month biking tour on Sri Lanka. Try their passion fruit parfait or their lime sorbet if they still have it on the menu.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beriksso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in the garden suite after flight from london. Very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was great both dinner and breakfast. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days on arriving into Sri Lanka. Colombo is a bit of a 'fulll on experience' but Lake Lodge makes it all good. If you are looking for a small boutique hotel, like a decent sized room with a great bathroom, good bed, great food, interesting architecture and building surrounds in a quiet street over looking a sports ground (but your not looking for a pool or gym) and just over from the lake then this is your ticket. The staff are wonderful and very helpful and a great introduction to Sri Lankan hospitality. We had an upstairs room (16 I think) and it was a great choice. Just beware that many tuk tuk drivers find this a bit of a challenge to find so don't be surprised if you get a bit of a tour whilst they try to locate the hotel. Just get orientated with the lake and direct them to that if there are challenges. You can also get a tuk tuk for next to nothing to Cinamon Grand Shopping complex for staples (and adaptors for only $2) if you want to stock up on water etc.

Room Tip: Upstairs is definately the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Lake Lodge was a wonderful place to stay on our first few nights in Sri Lanka. It is in a great part of the city and we found most of the main attractions were a short walk or tuk tuk ride away.
The hotel is in a safe and secure compound and the staff were very charming and helpful.
The rooms were spacious, bathroom great and very very clean.
The whole place was very peaceful and the design stunning. The bed were super soft and oh so comfy.
The deck was a great place for a fruit platter, a cold beer and a book after a long, hot day of sight seeing. The breakfast was delicious and was a great start to the day.
We highly recommended this place to anyone considering staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtripstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 55 in Colombo
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 55 in Colombo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing