We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 140 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A quiet place in a busy city”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Lake Lodge on our last night as it was convenient for the airport and we had a very early start.
The location is good at the end of a quiet lane but within walking distance of the lake and Galle Face. We didn't eat at Lake Lodge but came back after our walk, having eaten out at The Inn on the Green, and sat on the roof terrace with some cold beers and watched bats flying overhead.
On our early departure (5.00 am) we were given a packed breakfast. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and would recommend this accommodation for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souxie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    254
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
93
464
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I liked this hotel, I just didn't feel it lived up to the reviews i had read on Tripadvisor. The room was adequate, certainly very clean, but the only view was of a brick wall and of a side entrance with bits of broken glass cemented into it! Also, the hotel was described as being of a high design standard, which I don't agree with as the smooth concrete that looks a little like marble in the photos just made everything dark.
That said, the people there were lovely; they really couldn't do enough for us and the breakfast was superb, especially the traditional Sri Lankan curries! I'd like to be more positive as the staff were so delightful, but two night here cost the same as three nights at The Mansion in Kandy!

Room Tip: Avoid the one that overlooks the brick wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweepkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived quite late at night to the Hotel around 10.30pm, our daughter was tired and they made no fuss of checking in, let us take our daughter straight to the room. They also offered us to order some food, which we did after a big trip, I didn't expect this as it was late. We ordered some sandwiches which were great and good value, we also ordered the Sri Lankan breakfast for the morning.
We stayed upstairs in room 9, this was very comfortable for the 3 of us, comfy King size bed, and an extra bed set up for our daughter, at an extra cost. (no problem for us)
We all slept well, our room was quiet and great shower/bathroom as well, with basic amenities.
The next day we had a great breakfast, food was enough, coffee, tea, juice etc. We got one Sri Lankan and 2 continental to share.
I think the Hotel looks better in real life, better than photos, it is very modern and clean.
Our airport pick up was waiting for us, we organized this through the Hotel.
Check out was eventually sorted, at the time our Visa's cards wouldn't work in their machine, but this can happen and we were able to use the manual zip-zap machine for payment.
All staff at the Hotel were pleasant and helpful, we would not hesitate to return again one day.

Room Tip: Room 9, was quiet, good size and good bathroom. (No view, but this didn't worry us)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lake Lodge is tucked away at the end of a laneway next to a recreation field. Great place to stay. Very modern, clean - just loved the smooth, concrete interior and bathroom design. Theres also a good roof terrace - We stayed a couple of nights, with friends, and we all loved the place. There were always a couple of tuk-tuks parked in the laneway to take you into the city. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaGlennM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived very early in the morning on a flight from the States. The Lake Lodge was ready for our arrival at approximately 5AM. The room was a nice size, with a large king bed and fresh linens. The stained concrete construction cooled the very humid atmosphere and gave the hotel a serene atmosphere. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was top-notch. After touring the hot and busy city of Colombo, it was so nice to return to this oasis. We are very happy that we chose Lake Lodge as the first stop during our Sri Lanka honeymoon and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealCanada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very good hotel and very clean the stafff is amazing. It is a quiet hotel outside the city but only 10 minutes away
It is a big plus it is very quiet. Breakfast and dinner were great. The hotel is not expensive for the quality you receive . We will not hesitate to go back we enjoyed very much

Liseand Sylvain from Canada

Room Tip: Choose a room on a seconf floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeRobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

this place lives up to its brand as a luxury B&B. a comfy and stylish place but perhaps in the attempt to look good, some practicality is sacrificed. eg. bathroom sink is too low, resulting in water splashing out easily; taps too far away from sink (imagine having to feel around for the taps when your face is covered with soap); rain shower is great with good water pressure but difficult to control the hot water (ie nearly getting scalded); walls hv unfinished concrete look but make the rooms look dark. these r small gripes tho, overall this is a good place to stay for 1-2 nites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing