We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midcentury Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Midcentury Modern”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent our first night in Sri Lanka at the Lake Lodge. We were impressed with the design, the staff and the food. It is located on a quiet lane very close to everything in Columbo worth seeing. Very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    249
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
91
456
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Close to the lake and the templemuseum of Colombo . Nice building .Luxurious and good price !!!
The staff are very friendly , excellent dinner , good breakfast. After traveling in 26 days around the island with our bikes we belong a quiet clean nice place .

Room Tip: Choose a dry clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent location near the lake and very close to the sea, temples, train and bus stations. The food was excellent but it took a little bit of time to be served (the only down point of our experience). The rooms are simple, nice and clean. The hotel' verandas are really nice to take a drink or a meal. The staff was really nice. Ask for a hotel card to give to tuk tuk drivers as not everyone knows its location. Lake side was our favorite accommodation choice in Sri Lanka.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank filipaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

1st time visit to Colombo (Our stay was during T20 Cricket) and opted for 3 nights in Lake Lodge. Booked via RedDot and the only room available was the Garden Suite - was so pleased this was the only option. Location is well placed and nicely hidden away from the noise and pollution that is SL's capital city.
Would recommend this to anyone planning a stay in Colombo,very clean and good eating. The staff were very helpful and polite at all times.

Room Tip: If available it is definatley worth the extra cost for the Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FozzyEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for our last night in Sri Lanka so we could have a look around Colombo - the hotel is beautifully set in a nice building, close to a lake with a roof terrace that is pleasant for an evening drink. The room was stylish and nice bathroom, we found it particularly luxurious after some of the places we had been to in Sri Lanka! The staff were all courteous and helpful and we really liked the breakfast - especially the chicken sausages!

Room Tip: I would try and get a room upstairs - we were downstairs which was fine but you are right next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 954 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed there as the last place on our trip all around Sri Lanka and it is a peaceful oasis in the hustle & bustle of Colombo. It is located near South Biera Lake (about a 2min walk) and very central to the main shopping areas (only a short tuk tuk ride away).
The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The showers were hot with good water pressure (something of a miracle based on other experiences around the country).
The staff were extremely helpful (if you're not certain of tuk tuk prices ask at the desk and they give you a guide as to what you should be paying) and the service was excellent (obotrusive and efficient), with staff on hand 24 hours. The meals were tasty both the western and Sri Lankan dishes. Wi-fi is available throughout the lodge.
There are six rooms downstairs and six rooms upstairs seperated into two groups of three by a central staircase, as well as a separate garden suite (which we didn't get to see). The two downstairs communal areas act as a lounge/dining area and the two upstairs communal areas have a balcony overlooking the adjoining play field & lake.
If I am ever in Colombo again this is definately somewhere I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the rooms upstairs then take it, as the communal areas downstairs are also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dingo_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place to stay in Colombo. It was recently renovated and it feels like an oasis in the middle of
The crazyness. It is next to the lake, beautiful and clean rooms, nice breakfast, helpful staff, good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing