We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unique decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lake Lodge has excellent service. It can't be beat. I had the need to refrigerate some medicine and they fetched it for me twice daily and were very pleasant about it. The food here was delicious: breakfast, lunch and dinner-Sri Lankan and western.

The hotel is owned by a top designer in Sri Lanka and her renovation of this hotel which is about 40 years old is unique and very pleasing. The desk, bed platform, bedside tables are all in concrete that is beautifully finished with rounded edges. I loved this place and would definitely stay here again. It is in a good quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triciab1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    244
    37
    12
    7
See reviews for
89
445
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is an unusual place but my family and I liked it. Not sure about facilities, but the room was good, as was breakfast. Staff very friendly and prompt with service. Great place to kick off your holiday in SL. We popped round the corner to the Mango Tree and it was also nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the lake lodge and the service, rooms and restaurant quality was so high we returned there at the end of our holiday for another night's stay. The hotel owner safely minded our extra luggage for the 2 weeks that we went off to explore the rest of the country which was a great convenience for my boyfriend and I. Would happily recommend this tasteful hotel to anyone stopping in Colombo.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natkinson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Set back in a side road, close to the lake, Lake Lodge is a small boutique hotel.

Due to an error by our booking agents, we weren't able to get the garden suite, and instead had a downstairs room next to the kitchen serving room for 5 nights. Not ideal from a noise perspective, but the fabulous staff did their absolute best to keep the noise down.

There's a bar upstairs serving beer and wine, with a lovely terrace (watch out for mosquitoes).

The rooms are spacious, beds comfy and the en-suite had a great shower. The breakfast was a delicious choice of hot or cold (or local).

Only a couple of streets away from Lake Lodge, the hustle and bustle of the city seems like a world away.

We'd certainly stay again....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the start of our Sri Lankan trip, as we got to find out the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff throughout the country was outstanding and the lake lodge was no exception. Very central location with good food and rooms, with great communal 'living areas' to relax in if Colombo gets too much. The only slight complaint and the reason why I didn't give 5 stars is that our room was quite noisy not from standard city noise but from staff quarters upstairs. Maybe I am being over critical as I was tired from a long flight, overall it was a good experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for one night at Lake Lodge and we were thoroughly impressed. We normally stay at the Galle Face Hotel when we stay in Colombo, and whilst Lake Lodge can't boast the location of the Galle Face, it certainly makes up for it in style, comfort and value for money.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. The bathrooms are modern and very clean and the breakfast served up in the morning was delicious. This is one of the best value for money hotels that I have stayed at and will suit the tastes of the most discerning of travellers.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs double room which was absolutely lovely however friends were upgraded to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

excellent service.worth to money..nice Very welcoming and helpful staff. Would definitely stay again. We get nice bf in there.Very close to city center.Only lack is there haven't a pool.Really if it is grate place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HutsonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Property: Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 01000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing