We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellen’s Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellen’s Place
Ranked #11 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Hotel is located in a quite area that is also not far from the busy city center. It is extremely easy to get to the city center . The private road which the Hotel is situated on is secluded and pretty. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The managers are easy to talk to and always keen for your feedback of your experience at the hotel. The room was spacious, clean with a very good WIFI signal for when i needed to access the internet. The bathroom was very modern spec and also very clean. The hotel itself is picturesque, well maintained and has a very relaxed vibe. The food was outstanding. The head chef speaks to each guest and gauges exactly what it is you would like to eat . I was never disappointed with any of the food served and could not believe how good the food was ! I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Colombo and would recommended the Hotel to anyone who requires a calm and peaceful location of a high service standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Clem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
33
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stayed here four times now on two separate trips - one for business and one holiday with my family. The Manager is very friendly and we were soon on a first name's basis - nothing is too hard and anything can be arranged from pickups from the airport to getting your clothes washed and ironed - all at reasonable prices.

The location is quiet and secluded and the rooms are all first class - I have stayed in 4 of the rooms. If you want to spoil yourself, the grand suite upstairs is amazing with a bathroom bigger than most hotel rooms and walk straight out onto the deck for cocktails at night over the pool.

My kids loved it here as well - fast and reliable wifi helps.. and a beautiful pool with frangipani and nice garden atmosphere, No mosquitoes, and the restaurant is better than any you will find in Sri Lanka.

I will never bother to try any other hotels in future in Sri Lanka - I have been along the big ones at the Galle Face Green and they just don't come close. This place is now my home away from home and you can rest assured you will feel the same. Book early as you can as there are only 7 rooms but this is a great start and finish to any visit to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: They are all good - choose the upstairs suite for hedonistic luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

After spending the week in a few spectacular beach front hotel in Sri Lanka, you will be spoiled and have high expectations of your next hotel. On our last day in Colombo we stayed at Ellen's Place situated just outside the bustle of the city, turning off into discreet side road with a discreet entrance. So location wise it's ideal for a city hotel.

First impression, met by personable staff and by the cheery and relaxed manager, who made you feel welcomed instantly. And they also had the obligatory welcome drink and towel. No fuss check in.

A small charming boutique hotel with spacious room, and all the amenities you would expect of a good hotel, and each room comes with a patio. As we had two rooms the patio acted as our connecting door, clever! Like being hosted in grand home. Am told it actually was before it was converted into a hotel, less then a year old.

We stayed a day and half with a late check out as our flight was midnight. After having a casual chat with the manager he mentioned that for his long staying guests he prepares things outside the menu. I took advantage of the flexibility and ordered dinner for our family of 4, left the menu to their discretion with only instructions of 3 Sri Lankan dishes and not too spicy. Dinner did not disappoint, it was authentic and was charged very reasonably.

There is good wifi speed all around the hotel so it makes no real difference in staying in a big chain hotel, infact a plus because of the privacy and quiet.

The personalise and private setting compensated for luxury. If you want a city hotel, no fluff & fuss, privacy and personalise service this is it.

Ps. The hotel has only 7 rooms; so if you have a small group you can actually secured it exclusively for your own private event.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkBoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikum p, Director of Sales at Ellen’s Place, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

i would like to take this great opportunity to thank you for staying with us at Ellen's place Colombo.
we are very much delighted with your comments and recommending the hotel for the future viewers of trip adviser.
our promise is to continue the same service and standards and hope on your next visit you will choose Ellen's place for your stay.

best regards

Maheel Narasinghe
Director of sales & marketing
Freudenberg Leisure hotels
Sri lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

excellent staff and good accommodation for the business travels. i stayed for 2 nights and it was very personalize service from the staff. i happens to entertain some of my friend as well. the chef created a delightful meals and my friends was so excited about the food as well. complements for all the staff at ellens place and hoping to stay at the same in my next trip to sri lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed her for seven nights on a business trip. It is a delightful little boutique hotel with extremely nice and attentive staff. The rooms are big and spacious and the food very good. I am hopefully staying there again next week!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmdawney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My Deluxe room was very comfortable and I had a good night's sleep, which was what I was looking for. The management also handled everything very professionally and attended to my requests promptly. I unfortunately didn't get the chance to eat at the hotel but I hope to do so on a future stay.

Room Tip: Apparently each individual room offers a different view (city, garden or swimming pool), in case you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.0 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
2.5 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.9 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 134 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen’s Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen’s Place

Property: Ellen’s Place
Address: 31 Shady Grove Avenue, Colombo 00800, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellen’s Place 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen's Place was named after Ellen Senanayake - the youngest child of Mudaliyar Don Charles Gemoris Attygalle and his wife Peternella Abeykoon. Ellen Senanayake contributed much to Ceylon's independence struggle, being the supportive wife of F. R. Senanayake, one of the post independence national heroes who propelled the Independence movement. Ellen Senanayake, who at one point owned all the houses and land down Shady Grove Avenue in Colombo 8, built a house for her personal physician who was expected to live there and treat her and other members of her family. Years later, the house was inherited by her great grandson Hon. Vasantha Senanayake, a young and dynamic parliamentarian who decided to convert the beautiful house to a modern boutique hotel, yet retaining some features of its original decor. He decided to name the property "Ellen's Place" in memory of his great grandmother, an ardent Buddhist, generous Philanthropist, astute businesswoman and a devoted mother to her six children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellen’s Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing