We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Stay, Nice View, Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Global Towers Hotel
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall Good Stay, Nice View, Good Service”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We arrived on Dec 29 and checked in quickly. Excellent service from staff; very helpful and polite. The noise on the roof top was annoying but bearable. Very clean for Sri Lankan hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    87
    94
    44
    32
See reviews for
90
51
40
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed for two days in december in a a three bedroom apartment. Rooms were clean but kitchen was empty and smelled of mold, damp and rot, as did the fridge. It was bearable as we didn’t do any cooking and used it just to wash our dishes and make cups of tea. The convenience was helpful as we had young children and grandparents in with us. We then went for a week to a beach resort, and were returning to Colombo so booked and paid for an apartment before we left. We paid upfront to confirm the three bedroom apartment would be available and informed the manager, Azhar that we would be arriving late on the night of 31st December. We were told to purchase dinner dance tickets at 4000 rupees per adult (four adults in the group and four children) if we wanted to stay the night of the 31st, which we also agreed to do.

When we returned from Kandy after a 6 hour van ride, we were told there were no apartments available and we would have to wait several hours for one to become free. We waited with three children (8,6, and 3), an infant and two elderly grandparents, both heart patients, in the lobby for two hours. Then we were offered three single rooms for free on three different floors for free, or a return of our deposit and we could find another place to stay. It was now 11:30pm on New Year’s eve. We took the three separate rooms, one was too noisy to stay in so we crammed into two rooms. The hotel manager Azhar promised us free dinner and breakfast. The other hotel manager Dinesh came to our room to tell us we were not entitled to free food, as soon as we had put the kids and baby on the bed.

The next morning we were moved to a 3 bedroom apartment and were also billed by Azhar for the first night for three individual rooms. We wasted another hour in the lobby talking to each manger, and they refused to acknowledge they had offered us free rooms due to their mess up.

We had to speak to the general manager through the front office lady called Ganga, and she was aware of all the stress we had been put through and she agreed to not charge for the first night.

Grandparents were to move to a one bedroom studio when we left but we moved them to the Ceylon Continental instead because we didn’t want any more hassle for them when we left.

Terrible management, they will promise things to get your money and then try to overcharge you when you check out. This happened to a large group who was there while we were also trying to check out. The manager Azhar tried to charge the group of 32 people 4000 each for the dinner and dance they didn’t attend the night before.

Nice place to stay but avoid the kitchen and don’t believe the deals and offers, you will be billed for EVERYTHING and more even if they mess up. They never admit it and offer absolutely no compensation regardless of how much distress they cause. We were vey happy with the rooms but will never return there and would not recommend it to to anyone. If you do stay, make sure you confirm all costs in writing.

Quick to take your money and very slow to return any service for it, if at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel wasnt all that bad as all the reviews here state. We had booked into a triple bedroom apartment. The rooms were very spacious. The buffet breakfast was good. Each of the rooms overlooked the sea, which meant that the view was fabolous. The loo's are very clean and chic.

The room service and the front desk is slow. It took them 3 hours to arrange an extra bed for us. WIFI is extremely expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajitjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

While there are good things to say (location, staff, spacious suites) there were just too many problems during our 10 day stay to return to or recommend this hotel. Loud music from the rooftop club past 3am every night, very dirty floors, biting bugs in at least one bedroom, kitchen lacking vital equipment, electrical wiring issues, missing room service orders, broken fridge, broken microwave, broken a/c... Some of these issues were resolved during our stay, but to have to deal with so many of them in one stay was unacceptable. I would not consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I stayed at Global Towers for 3 days in a room with sea view. Pros: Above average service and great sea view from the balcony. Cons: Rooms are small, wi-fi is expensive, music from the adjoining club was just too loud and could be heard all the way to the top floor. This was an everyday event during my stay that went on until 3.30 am in the morning. I had my windows closed and still could hear the music blazing into my room. The mattress was very soft and had no protective cover besides a thin sheet cover.
This hotel is not worth the price they are charging per night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Lovely Place overlooking the sea
The place where road, ail & sea all seen at the same time.
The terrace view is fantastic
The 2 bed room apartment is value for money with all gadhets available for use for families to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uttara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I was booked to stay two and a half weeks at this hotel. I arrived at three in the morning to be subject to unbelievable rudeness by their manager over who was paying for my stay. I would have walked out if it was during the day. They demanded a copy of my credit card for registering my details, but without my permission and knowledge they were wanting to taking a deposit.
The room was small, water dripped constantly next to my bed from the ceiling, I got bitten several times all over by bugs. Trains (about 30m away) wake you up about 6.00am everyday. The food was disappointing. I can honestly say is the worst hotel, I have stayed in during 18 years of business travel. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisred87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.5 mi away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#32 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#17 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#24 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#25 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Towers Hotel

Property: Global Towers Hotel
Address: 11 Marine Drive, Colombo 00900, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Global Towers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Global Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing