We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Global Towers Hotel
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Cleanliness: excellent
Rooms: Great view of the ocean
Pool: Pool Attendant was so helpful
Restaurant: busy and efficient staff

Overall a good stay. value for money. great location. but some improvement to be done.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicos408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 385 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is a decent place to stay. Its located on marine drive looking over indian ocean. The rooms are decent and clean. Staff is helpful and cooperaive. Hotel have a good buffet breakfast which you can enjoy in train-spotter restaurent. The promotional events and saturday sunday buffets for lunch and dinner are also good. Hotel has a smallish pool. Better to cross the road in front of hotel and jump straightaway into indian ocean. Hotel has a decent karaoke and bar. Hotel is close to many good restaurants which s[ecialises in sea food, indian cuisine, srilankan fare.

Room Tip: better to go for sea view rooms and that too on lower floors. Higher floor rooms might have water fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neelonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here with friends. The location is simply superb. The beach is just across the road. You have a KFC next door. Also a sea food restaurant Beach Wadia just across the road - good food, but over priced. The restaurant in the hotel is reasonably priced, but the food is just fine, can not be called great. You have the hotel cabs, they drop you free of cost to the Casinos. For other places, three wheel metered taxies are available once you get on the road. They are reasonably priced. Insist on a room with the sea facing balcony. Service is not quick, probably the service team could not handle the full occupancy the hotel had during our stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location of this hotel is good. Its on Marine Drive and faces the beach. Its well equipped with a restaurant and bar. The bar has karaoke nights during weekends. The check in is a breeze as the front desk staff try and accommodate you as fast as possible even if there was a bevy of us checking in at the same time. The bar is well stocked, but the bar menu is sparse and the food is not that great. If you dont want to go out much, even the 'Beach Wadia' bar right across the property which is good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staying with 3 couples we were assigned a 9th floor 3 roomed apartment. Nice clean rooms, great views, en suite with every room, nice lounge area. The A/C didn't work when we got to the room, took an hour for them to fix it but OK afterwards. Kettle in kitchen didn't work, took them an hour to replace it. We had to threaten to leave the hotel before above faults were attended to.

Telephone in the lobby outside our suite rang frequently with no one ever answering it.

Restaurant was good for dinner, fair prices and well prepared food. Breakfast buffet was dissapointing with fresh cooked eggs the only good thing available unless you like cold curry and stale pastries.

The wifi is free in the lobby (when it was working which was about half the time) but you have to pay to receive it in the room...not only that but at $8.00 per DEVICE per 24 hours this is ridiculous. Our party had 8 wifi devices in total, so two days internet would have cost $128.

Views from the front of the hotel are great but you'll get lots of train noise, especially morning and evening rush hours.

Room Tip: Great views from ocean facing rooms but very noisy trains during morning and evening rush hour. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times since I arrived in Sri Lanka in Nov 2012. I liked this hotel as it faces the sea and give an spectacular view. There are several restaurant around to choose and have fun. However, when it comes to services inside the hotel, I always had a complaints, especially on the quality of rooms as they promised. Since last 3-4 visits, I was not given the expected standard of room. Sometime, you don't find a safety box, TV, writing desk and sometime all in one, compacted in a very small room – making difficult to move. I have made this complaints and requested to have such improvement and hope when I check in again next time (next week), I will have no more complain. One big challenge here is the disturbance from the train moving round the clock from just in front of the hotel.
In addition, I would like to recommend the hotel management to teach some etiquette and principles of hospitality to their restaurant staff as every time, I visited the restaurant during the breakfast, I never saw anyone bothering even to ask if I need water or tea/coffee. Even to ask for something, one has to call them several times and finally when they come, they come with arrogant mood - no smiles at all. Looks like they are forced to work their.....but this should not be the case.

Beside these two issues, rest all okay in this hotel and I liked this very much.

Room Tip: High floor from the back side - not facing the road if you want to have quite sleep. In case you lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mukesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Worse hotel..thats the only one word is enough for this hotel to describe.pls ppl becareful dont waste ur money for this junk.front desk was not professional. Room was not for Two ppl at all its like a nest.no place to walk keep ur tiny luggage u can keep.pathetic

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bashonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.8 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#23 of 55 in Colombo
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#34 of 55 in Colombo
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Towers Hotel

Address: 11 Marine Drive, Colombo 00900, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $55 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Global Towers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Global Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing