We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the City - Ideal for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #13 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Havelock Place last August (2010). We stayed for only one night, at the start of our trip, but as soon as we arrived we wished we had booked to stay longer. It is an oasis in an ideal location for exploring the city. The rooms are lovely, boutique - if not slightly shabby (if I was going to be at all critical I would say the rooms could do with updating). The outdoor shower, was however very cool. I would very much recommend this hotel - for those at the start or at the end of their trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie_Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for The Havelock Place Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 350 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

Wonderful place with lovely staff and owners who couldn't be more helpful. Not in the centre of town but not far and that's no drawback in Colombo. Fantastic breakfasts and dinners home-cooked - don't miss the ice cream. Almost don't like to publicise the place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at Havelock for three different nights, and were able to stay in 4 of their 7 rooms. We were very pleased with both suites and one of the double rooms that we stayed in - lovely furniture, spacious bathrooms and nice little garden access from the rooms. Room 5 is a disaster -- it is set aside from the rest of the rooms, and is a different "concept" from the rest of the colonial style rooms. The entire room is cement and reminded us of a dank basement. It consists of a large mattress on a raised cement platform, with a lamp also on the floor and a television. It is much smaller than the other rooms, and the floor never quite seemed clean (although it was - it was just the feeling of cement). This room does have a lovely outdoor bathroom, but it was not worth the price of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely every morning. The hotel is on a peaceful street, but you can just walk down to get a three wheeler or taxi very easily. The wait staff and guards were very helpful and attentive. Keep in mind that as with other hotels in Sri Lanka, the price quoted does not include a hefty service charge and tax- this amounts to a lot! I noticed that Havelock has raised their rates - we enjoyed our stay, but now that we know about the tax, etc I'm not sure we would pay the new rates to stay there. Overall a nice place to stay - just request to not be put in room 5!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

A nice place to stay however the rooms could do with an overhaul to remove some of the poor wiring, curtains and greying towels. Not a bad spot, with nice attentive staff, although over priced for what it is, especially the price for a cup of tea! Location works for a nights stay in colombo.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Lovely place - small, stylish, beautifully furnished with traditional teak and mahogany furniture. Great cuisine, lovely small pool. Run by charming, sophisticated family. Highly recommended if you want somewhere small and personal in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anarchy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We ended our three-week visit to Sri Lanka with three nights at this wonderful small hotel. We were thoroughly impressed by the quality of the accommodations and the warmth of the service. We booked a standard room, which we found to be extremely clean, spacious, comfortable and charmingly furnished with period furniture. During our first night there was a monsoon of biblical proportions that caused a very minor problem in our room. We were immediately moved to a suite for the remainder of our stay without additional charge. The suite - consisting of sitting room , bedroom, and bathroom - was also spacious and charmingly appointed. The wireless internet was strong and readily available. We ate breakfasts and several dinners at the restaurant and the meals were uniformly excellent and also very good value. The dinner menus were very creative and included both western and Sri Lanka dishes. The management and staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, helping us with luggage storage, transportation, currency issues and good advice about shopping and dining in Colombo. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolderGater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday having visited about 4 years ago and had forgotten how wonderful it was. So comfortable, friendly and homely. We had a suite which was very spacious and could step out to small pool outside from our doorway. Clean and very comfortable bedroom. Also sampled food which tasty and good mix of asian and european items to select from . Look forward to staying again when we next visit Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $66 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing