We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit warn and shabby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Havelock Place Bungalow

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #8 of 131 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit warn and shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

A nice place to stay however the rooms could do with an overhaul to remove some of the poor wiring, curtains and greying towels. Not a bad spot, with nice attentive staff, although over priced for what it is, especially the price for a cup of tea! Location works for a nights stay in colombo.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    113
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
85
160
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Lovely place - small, stylish, beautifully furnished with traditional teak and mahogany furniture. Great cuisine, lovely small pool. Run by charming, sophisticated family. Highly recommended if you want somewhere small and personal in the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anarchy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We ended our three-week visit to Sri Lanka with three nights at this wonderful small hotel. We were thoroughly impressed by the quality of the accommodations and the warmth of the service. We booked a standard room, which we found to be extremely clean, spacious, comfortable and charmingly furnished with period furniture. During our first night there was a monsoon of biblical proportions that caused a very minor problem in our room. We were immediately moved to a suite for the remainder of our stay without additional charge. The suite - consisting of sitting room , bedroom, and bathroom - was also spacious and charmingly appointed. The wireless internet was strong and readily available. We ate breakfasts and several dinners at the restaurant and the meals were uniformly excellent and also very good value. The dinner menus were very creative and included both western and Sri Lanka dishes. The management and staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, helping us with luggage storage, transportation, currency issues and good advice about shopping and dining in Colombo. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolderGater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday having visited about 4 years ago and had forgotten how wonderful it was. So comfortable, friendly and homely. We had a suite which was very spacious and could step out to small pool outside from our doorway. Clean and very comfortable bedroom. Also sampled food which tasty and good mix of asian and european items to select from . Look forward to staying again when we next visit Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed here on our first night in Sri Lanka and were initially very impressed with it. It is set in two colonial bungalows and has heaps of colonial charm - don't expect a plush, luxurious hotel, although you do get your own garden area. The location is not ideal - around 20 minutes to the centre of Columbo, but the garden is very peaceful. Swimming pool is rather small and freezing cold. We ate dinner here and it was tasty and good value for money.

However, the major downside was the beds - the mosquito nets were very poor (and there were plenty of mosquitoes about) and the mattresses rock solid. It is not a comfortable night's sleep! On balance, I would choose one of the other colonial places - I heard good things about Mount Lavinia hotel and the Galle Face. We stayed at the Cinammon Grand on our return, which for $50 more represented a totally different and much better experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelockbungalow, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
To our knowledge there are no heated swimming pools in Sri Lanka. There was heavy rain in Colombo during this time and the water would naturally be cold.

Travel to the commercial centre depends on time of travel and mode of transport used. We are less than 5 kms away.

Our rooms are all air conditioned and the mosquito nets referred to are the decorative canopies on the four poster beds. In the tropics if windows are kept open after dusk mosquitoes and other insects will be attracted to the lights. We have provided electrical insect repellent in every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

I love this small intimate setting, good food and delightful hosts. Perfect location to access key businesses and institutions in Colombo . Lovely colonial houses joined by bridge over pool. Fantastic 24hr wireless internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_lamSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have just returned from a two week trip to Sri Lanka and we stayed at Havelock Place Bungalows for our first three nights. It's a really lovely place to stay to acclimatise to Sri Lanka. The rooms are nice and the location is good, it's easier to get a tuk tuk into town. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was a Western menu but it did look good, if that's what you want. Our only complaint would be that we were put in a suite for our first night after arriving at 6.00am and we were charged the full price, after that we changed rooms. Other than that, a lovely place to stay. We would recommend not staying long in Colombo, as there is not so much to see or do, so head to Kandy or south to the beaches, like Unawatuna.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenecluercoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
We informed our guest at the point when we confirmed the reservation that our standard rooms were all taken up on the first day and that they would have to take a suite for one day, Our check in/out time is 12 noon and as the clients requested early check in the only way we could accommodate them was to reserve the room for the night. Their flight was scheduled to arrive at 1.15am.

This response is to clarify any wrong impression that may be created in the minds of a potential guest reading an otherwise favorable review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Property: The Havelock Place Bungalow
Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing