We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful respite from Colombo hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #11 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful respite from Colombo hustle and bustle”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This charming hotel is a tranquil escape from the hubbub of Columbo city centre. The rooms are traditional and bathrooms modern and connected through wonderful courtyards and water pools. Friendly helpful staff and generous home-feel cooked breakfast complete the hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    113
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
89
162
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I spent four nights on a business trip in April-May 2014 in this nice old house. Rooms are simple, but very charming and clean. The small hotel in a quite garden has everything you need and more: a good restaurant, a friendly and helpful staff and a fancy pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victormerten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed in Colombo for a week in May 2014, and enjoyed our time at the Havelock Place Bungalow enormously. It's a small oasis in the bustling city: central yet quiet, green and calm. Clean rooms, good beds with firm mattresses, fantastic breakfasts (also true for lunch and dinner), reliable internet, lovely service. Much better than a large hotel!

Room Tip: If you are in Colombo for work, ask for one of the bigger rooms (2 and 3) – they have a good-sized d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time off to review our property It is always a pleasure to me and my staff to have a satisfied guest.
Hope we see you back at The Bungalow someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Pros - Colonial bungalow, lots of green spaces, understated elegant décor.
Cons - Shoddy service, my server could hardly comprehend English, very cantankerous Manager---the lady had oodles of attitude and very short on patience--needs to brush up on her people skills--had a go at her staff in our presence and was very rude --also short on patience while responding to our queries, Quirky washroom design---floor dirty when I visited and the switch panel outside had grubby finger stains around it---Most surprising of all, I noticed a panty liner cover outside the washroom door in the main walkway--surprisingly it was still on the floor in plain view when we were exiting the premises---- Very poor attention to basic details.
The food---
Moroccan steak was terribly overdone and chewy----nothing Moroccan about it, pork chop was terribly chewy and overtly sweet, Sri Lankan chili beef was the saving grace---great flavor but the rice accompaniment was hard and probably rushed to our table before it was fully steamed,
For the prices charged, one would expect --Better service and more attention to housekeeping detail.
I would also suggest that the Manager improve her attitude towards her staff and guests.
Pity --Its a lovely colonial property and could give The Paradise Road café a run for their money---if only they get their act together.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I am sorry you were unhappy with your visit to the restaurant.I will look into this.As for the reference to the panty liner this is the first time we have had a complaint of this nature and it is hard to believe as first I wonder how it got there and it would have been picked up as it is the main walkway which is constantly used by us.
As for the manageress she is known to be very helpful and this is quite out of character.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A quite place to write and reflect on ones journey, plan and meet friends. In a central location, quite and reflective. A place where I can listen to the birds singing and write. I can sit in the pool to cool off, I don't have to put the air conditioning on if I open the window and watch the happening in the garden. The food is good, as a vegetarian I would like to see more vegetarian sections and more curries. The bread is homemade and so are the various Jams and marmalade. I have stayed there twice in April for a total of three nights the first time and two nights before my departure. The staff is helpful the management responsive and considerate. It is an alternative to big hotels, it is like going home and have a room of your own. I will be going there again.

Room Tip: If you want a small colonial room and you don't mind being in the middle of the house, number 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after arriving in Sri Lanka, it was like a little oasis, so pretty and very quiet and relaxing. We stayed in room 5 with the outside bathroom, which was beautiful. Ate in the restraint in the evening, food was really good. Staff all very helpful, will be back next time we are in Colombo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

In January 2014 I stayed at this hotel with following the local friend's recommendation as my first stay in Colombo. Then, I've fallen love this hotel, it gave me strike into my taste as I have to admit that I am quite picky person what I can satisfy for my taste. So, I came back three months later with bringing my husband from Europe. My husband was same, he instantly loved so much this type of hotel, so he did not want to go out anywhere in Colombo, just whole day stayed at the hotel. Nowadays, it is so difficult to find this sort of hotel, it is secret treasure in Colombo. In fact, I would rather prefer to keep it as our secret place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangli53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I am glad your husband enjoyed his stay as much as you did. looking forward to seeing both of you back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 55 in Colombo
762 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
2.2 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 148 in Colombo
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highbury Colombo
Highbury Colombo
#15 of 148 in Colombo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Property: The Havelock Place Bungalow
Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing