We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #14 of 162 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Charming & peaceful place, just distant enough from the noisy city center. Easy access off a main road.
Nice staff. Good food in a lovely garden with flowers and birds to accompany you. The menu is interesting, varied and tastefully prepared.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selalupergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 363 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, quite and romantic hotel, Havelock is your place! The rooms are very nice, furniture is great (very stylish) as well as nice and clean bathrooms! The staff is really friendly and the manager is a dream! She helped us organize our trip and answerd all our questions.

It is a bit far away from the city center but you can take a tuk tuk if you wanna visit the city (which is not that great, you can easily skip it and stay at the bungalows little pool).

The food is also really great. We hat a great calamare salat and sri lankan beef. Nice!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clauco1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 30 day visit around Sri Lanka. Located down a quiet leafy side street you enter a beautiful garden setting to find two beautifully furnished colonial bungalows with greenery and a small swimming pool in between that make up Havelock Place Bungalow.

On arrival we were greeted warmly but no welcome drink offered unlike many of the other places we stayed during our trip.

We found the location good and used metred Tuk Tuks to get around. To get to the main areas of Colombo only cost between £1 and £1.50. We took a metred Tuk Tuk to drive us all the way along the coast up to the Dutch Hospital and this only cost £2. At the top of the lane there is a petrol station with a very good supermarket attached to it. There are buses that go along the busy main road at the top to take you in to the centre.

Our room was number 7, situated in the same building as the reception and the inside dining room. The room was a decent size and very comfortable with a standard size four poster double bed with a mosi net over. Air conditioning and fan. Wardrobe, TV, writing desk with a chair and an easy chair. There are french doors to get out to the pool. Hairdryer, kettle and tea/ coffee are not supplied, which I am surprised at. Drinking water was provided but in a carafe so we didn't use it.

Nice bathroom with shower over bath and toiletries (not individual) provided.

In the other bungalow there is a beautiful lounge area with elegant furnishings.

Breakfast is taken outside in the tranquil garden and there is a good choice and the food was very good. We did not dine here on an evening as the Pererha was on and we went to this each evening but there appeared to be a good choice of menu but prices had ++ so 10% service charge to add + 13% local tax so this appeared to make it pricey. But for a major city and good food I suppose acceptable.

The hotel very kindly allowed us to use the computer to check in online and print our boarding passes as we had had a real problem with Emirates on the journey from Dubai to Colombo.

We had to leave the hotel at 6.45 am on our last morning and as this was before breakfast was served they said they would deliver a packed breakfast and coffee to our room at 6.30am This did not appear at 6.30 so had to go and ask for it. Eventually it arrived a few minutes before we had to leave. Breakfast was a very thin sandwich with a bit of cheese in it, we were not impressed. Not even a small banana!

If you stay here and are departing for the airport, leave in good time as the traffic can be bad. I took 1 1/4 hours to get to the airport leaving at 6.45 am.

Overall we found it a good place to stay, actually expected more for what we had paid eg hairdryer and kettle but it was very clean and comfortable and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed four nights and really enjoyed the garden setting and private nature of our room. The food was great and the breakfasts outside wonderful. The overall ambiance of an old home and the attentive staff really help the experience.

That said there were some minor maintenance issues in the room that should be attended to and you expect this to be done at this price point.

There is not a lot to do in the immediate area so you need to be prepared to travel. We did find a local Thai restaurant which was excellent! YMMV

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights whilst travelling around Sri Lanka and LOVED it. The rooms were beautiful and clean and the bed very comfortable. The house is literally a little peace of heaven among all of the noise of Colombo. The gardens are amazing and the pool, although probably not suitable for more than a quick dip, a fantastic addition. The staff here were amazing, so helpful, arranging cars (and advising us to pay cash to save money) and always on hand. The food here was also some of the best we had in Sri Lanka and although a little pricier than many other restaurants, well worth the money. We would not hesitate to recommend the Havelock Bungalow to other travellers, we could have happily spent our entire time here sitting in the garden, chatting with the friendly staff and sampling the cocktail menu. A real treat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbypur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this magnificent place. The service was excellent, as was the food and the rooms and the rest of the facilities were just amazing. A great place for a romantic little getaway or to hang out on your own in the company of a good book.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Havelock Place Bungalow. It is a beautiful house with dito garden. The house really feels like home, but we felt the rooms were not in line with the price. All (!) sheets and towels came with stains, the airco did not work properly and one night leaked heavily onto the desk with television and electric wiring. Also no hot water one morning. All small things we don't mind overlooking in a budget/ lower mid range hotel but that is just not What the havelock place bungalow is supposed to be.
Maybe the friendly staff could start renovating the rooms when guests are off sightseeing, as they do know how to take excellent care of the great garden and pool area?
All in all we did enjoy our stay, and we hope management makes the renovation their 2013 investment for their lovely bungalow.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
3.7 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 55 in Colombo
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $71 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing