We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renuka hotel - Great value for money”
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Renuka hotel - Great value for money”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Renuka hotel

Located on the top security Galle road, Renuka is a good hotel to stay at. The breakfast (buffet – with tasty Sri Lankan dishes as well as continental fare) is very good, staff very courteous. Room service too is affordable. Since the hotel is developed slowly by converting existing spaces in buildings it appears like a maze. Once inside the room, you never realize you are on a bustling street – rooms are plush, TV has a limited number of channels (about 12?), air con good, the baths are big with bathtub etc.

The hotel is about 1 hour from Colombo airport, and about 15 minutes from the railway station. An inter-city bus stand lies between Galle road and the sea, about 5 minutes walk away.

Further off on the road lie a few more plush hotels and the Indian embassy. Perhaps now the number of police and army must be lesser, but I remember them checking nearly every vehicle – it kinda’ made me feel real safe!

Rate = 8,000 SL Rupees per night, breakfast included – worth the stay.

For the address – see the attached photo.

The reception changes US Dollars and gives a good rate compared to outside money changers. The hotel taxi too has reasonable hire charges.


Things to do –
Try the trip to the Pinnawala elephant orphanage. It’s where they take care of elephants who got injured in the civil war with LTTE. Some of the calves are real cute and you feel sad for them. But mind you – these are wild elephants – as you are reminded immediately when they trumpet real loud and wild! So those chains on their feet are mere ornaments!

There are interesting sessions, like feeding the calves with a HUGE milk bottle. The fiunniest part is when the calf tries to pull the bottle from it’s caretaker doctor and push him in it’s childishness…. And the doctor nearly falls off. Wow – are they strong or what! The elephants are very well taken care of. The unfortunate part is that most of them cannot be put back in the wild, since they have already lived some time away from the forest.

See the attached photo for timings of the various programmes. A good thing is that this place does not feel crowded as it is so large, and people are extremely well behaved – including the visitors.

It’s a long 3 hour drive. But on the way, you can also see the beautiful and serene “Temple of the Buddha’s tooth”. Give at least 2 hours here – there is an audio guide available at the entrance.

  • Liked — Comfortable big rooms, value for money
  • Disliked — Boring neighbourhood
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    280
    182
    39
    26
See reviews for
97
200
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Decent & Clean Hotel, Nice Courteous Staff

  • Liked — NIce Location
  • Disliked — Lacks Luxury for the price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

I booked this hotel for our first night in Sri Lanka based on the reviews listed on this site. Satisfied guests must have stayed in the new room section, because the old room we stayed at was horrible - we were exhausted after a 16-hour trip and wanted desperately to have a nap. The noise of the street was unbearable, and the single-glazed windows didn't shut properly.

Our bathroom was dark and dirty (and I'm not judging based on European/North American standards...).

When we called down and asked the reception staff if they had any other rooms because of the noise, they just indifferently said no.

We ended up packing our stuff up, and leaving. The staff then looked pissed off, but little more.

If you want to stay at this hotel, only do so if you can see the room before!!!!

  • Liked — The fact that we got away with leaving the reserved room after 10 minutes without paying
  • Disliked — The feeling that our double bed was in the middle of Colombo traffic
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Canton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

If you ever visit Colombo, this is the place to stay. Great rates. Wonderful, friendly service...and the food at the on-site restaurant, Palmyrah, is the best Jaffna-style food in the city. All in all a great experience and a wonderful property.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I chose the hotel because of it´s situation, which was shown in wrong place in the map.It should be close clocktower in Forth. I ordered a quiet single room with breakfast. I got one; with not a sigle window. Room was nice, clean and really really quiet, in noisy Colombo. I had to struggle to get breakfast included to prize.
I stayed there for 5 days. I prefer Galle Face for same price :-)

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Helan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

The location is good and ambience is not bad. But when you go through the menu, you'll wonder how a hotel operates with such a limited items at very high rates. Breakfast is also very poor. I've stayed for 3 mnths continuously in this hotel because my company preferred so. I sincerely wished to move to any other hotel. There are lots of areas which can be improved.

  • Liked — Nothing can be called as best
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Goodscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2006

My stay at Hotel Renuka was gud. It is a little over priced.......but i think its ok....rooms are kept clean, facilities provided are fine.....in short a well maintained hotel, but i think it can be improved in few other ways..but u can have a nice stay at hotel renuka

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SriLalitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#17 of 55 in Colombo
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#21 of 55 in Colombo
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#18 of 55 in Colombo
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#13 of 55 in Colombo
1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#23 of 55 in Colombo
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing