We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over All services were great”
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Male, Maldives
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over All services were great”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

All the services given by staffs are in a very much appreciated level. Service staffs were polite, foods were great though less variety in room service menu. Rooms were tidy and clean. Services were faster than many other hotels.
We were not happy on arrival as we were given a twin bed instead of double bed. But they change it at same moment, but non smoking room then. Check out was bit confused, may be information provided to reception was incorrect. I should thank everyone for being prompt to any request.
Recommended for couples on short trips or Business stay. Shopping centres and other food outlets are reachable distance by walk. I can assure you will not be disappointed by choosing it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NGELMALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    276
    177
    39
    26
See reviews for
95
198
60
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days in May 2014, we got a sea facing room, quite a big room at that.. very comfortable,clean, pleasing and helpful staff. The pool is a bit small and we did not find time to chill out there. Easy to get tuk-tuks from the hotel to get to different sight seeing spots in colombo. Breakfast was good and tasty. The Kollupitiya station is just a 10 min walk away from the hotel, recommend a ride on it to get a taste of the local life...

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean, room exceeded expectations, a drink by the pool on the roof is a must at sunset beautiful view of the sea. Breakfast was average. Location isn't the best but only ever a tuk-tuk ride away from most areas of Colombo.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

nice three star hotel clean comfortable but located very busy area plenty of restaurant out side hotel small resorption easily find taxi or tok tok.older older renuka hotel room not clean but new wing rooms nice clean

Room Tip: please first see the after decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahuman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
677 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nothing great about this Hotel, except that it is located close to the business district. Amenities in the room were very basic, though the room was reasonably clean. There are a few restaurants on the lane opposite to the hotel and that may be a better option to eat out.
The worst breakfast I have ever had in all my 30 years of travel in hotels of similar price. Besides, you have to walk across the road to grab this poor breakfast. The hotel is completely insensitive to vegetarians. It took about 20 minutes to get a cab in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghuraman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 days from 18th to 20th and the rooms shown to us and the rooms given were very different. The AC in the rooms were pathetic and even after complaining about it nobody came to fix it, the food was also really bad.. No choices for vegetarians at all except bread and omelette. The staff aren't very polite and when we showed them the room we saw and booked they just argued saying that these were the rooms we booked so we have to stay in those itself. Beds were pathetic too. Couldn't sleep well and had a sore neck in the morning. Also they smelt like cigarettes and alcohol probably from the previous guests. Really disappointed and would not recommend to anybody

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vishisht B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed at Renuka for a few times now because of it's great location - on the Galle road you can easily find trishaws to get around but also there are a few places to eat and basic shops. The rooms were clean - always go for the Renuka City wing though - the older Renuka hotel is very dated with the rooms showing signs of wear.
My room was facing the Galle road and on the third floor - not as noisy but their Laundry lady will not fail to wake you early in the morning to collect your laundry - perhaps this could changed.
It's by no means a 4 star hotel, even with the recent addition of a swimming pool and gym but for a very clean room and decent location I don't mind paying.
There is also this funny policy which the hotel requires you to pay up even half way into your stay so a guest apparently cannot have an outstanding of more than Rs. 20,000 I found this quite annoying especially since you would expect to pay when you check out but the staff were patient with me on this.

Room Tip: Always go for the Renuka City wing - sea facing rooms are alright but not worth the extra money - yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prakashh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing