We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pretty good hotel but way overpriced.”
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a pretty good hotel but way overpriced.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Renuka is a quite decent place to stay. It has great staff. The pool and gym are classy. The restaurant serves good breakfast. It is extremely expensive for the standard that they serve, though.
Beware of tuk tuk drivers from around the hotel who may stalk you as you walk down Galle Rd. Hey are relentless.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roachie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your stay at Renuka City Hotel and taking the time to communicate your feedback to us. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and the staff took good care of you.

We are sorry to hear about the tuk tuk drivers but the hotel has nothing to do with them. Taxis can be ordered through the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    276
    180
    39
    26
See reviews for
96
198
60
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed a single night here when we got into Colombo quite late and couldn't face finding a guest house. Ok, it's expensive for what it is but really it's all that we needed for the night to raise our downwards spirits a little bit. The rooms are a good size, very comfortable and well equipped. The only things to complain about where some tiny maggot like bugs which could be seen around the floor (the hotel later explained they were from the wood fittings and they would look into it) and also the light in the bathroom was not sufficient for a shower! But these were quite minor things. The breakfast was very good. The staff were great and very helpful to us. The location is great too. So all in all it was actually a good stay here and a good hotel, it's just the price is too steep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow am See, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located, to go shopping and buy souvenirs and gifts to your friends and family. Clean but small rooms, modern bathroom, price is a bit overstated - however, like everywhere else in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I absolutely loved my stay here. Great location; it's located right along the shore line where we caught the stunning sunset. We stayed in the new wing and the room was extremely spacious. The room and toilet were spotless. The service was very impressive too. The service crew were very efficient and helpful.

We had our breakfast the next morning in their sister hotel which was right next to Renuka City Hotel. Breakfast was amazing. There was an array of choices from local Sri Lankan dishes to Western cuisine like cereal (cornflakes and koko krunch) as well as toast, eggs (poached, fried, scrambled, omelette) and topped off with an assortment of fresh fruits and juice.

All in all, I was very impressed by Renuka City Hotel. It far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed 2 nights (with our 2yr old son) at Renuka City hotel and were really pleased with the quality and hospitality. Great area info and suggestions. Help with a taxi to Arugam Bay. And general cleanliness and service (with a smile). Food was good in restaurant (although a little pricey) but staff were friendly and helpful always (especially with our little boy). Room was great, clean and an ocean view. They provided a baby cot and although old it was satisfactory. Bed was comfy and clean. Room was in good condition - presumable recently renovated. All round a good choice as a starting point in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Renuka City Hotel and was happy with the service provided by our staff. Our restaurant the Palmyrah serving authentic Sri Lankan cuisine has been world renowned for over 40 years. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meals there.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Renuka City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a very good hotel for the money you spend and in a good location situated in the heart of Colombo... Nice and friendly staff and food was perfect and nothing to complain. I must say Its really worth for the money spend...

Room Tip: Little bit noise during the peak time other than that well worth for the money you spend because its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirangaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at Renuka City Hotel on your recent trip to Colombo and for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy that our staff looked after you during your stay.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments which will help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation.

We look forward to seeing you again soon in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It is quite difficult to get a good budget hotel in Colombo but Renuka is one.Pricedat around $120/- you get quite a decent room.All facilities and service available.The showpiece/USP is the fabulous Sri Lankan restaurant Palmyrah .Here ,one can induige the palate in all kinds of the best of Sri Lankan food-Appam/Pittu/Pol Sambol and a great chicken and potato curry.Nice clean rooms,good service.Very good wi-fi services.Convenient location.

Getting a taxi maybe a problem so one may have to stand on the main road and take a trishaw which is now metered and convenient to travel

Excellent value for money especially for biz travellers !

Room Tip: Take the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,724 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#20 of 51 in Colombo
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#19 of 51 in Colombo
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#25 of 51 in Colombo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing