We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing so Great About it!”
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nothing so Great About it!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Goods:

Located near the shore - However, the views of the shore gets limited as the windows open towards the other side and not towards the shore.
Being a vegetarian, this hotel had less choice for us and I had a really difficult time. However, Hotel Amaravati is right opposite this place.
Banks are located right opposite and next to it.
You can reach to the shore in walking distance.
The Roof top swimming is beautiful as you can enjoy the sun set from there and the gym is fantastic as well.

Bads..

Can improve the lobby area.
Can improve the menu in the bar.
Can improve the options for vegetarians in the list.

I have stayed here twice, have used their banquets! h

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoravJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    280
    182
    39
    26
See reviews for
97
199
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I booked looking at the pictures !. I booked a sea view room .. Look at the sea view that I had in the pic that I hve uploaded .! The staff refused to change saying they were full when surely the hotel was pretty empty .!

Apart from the pool being a nice place thre is nothing to this place! The other rooms have a beautiful view of the next door buildings wall and for the price this place is rubbish .!


Never her never wish it on my enemy .!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please understand that we do not guarantee a sea view room. They are given only on availability, which was informed to you when you made the booking.
We have always strived to provide the best facilities and service possible in our price range.
All our 99 rooms (including 24 deluxe rooms) come equipped with a host of facilities, including flat screen TVs with local and cable channels, air-conditioning, safety deposit lockers, mini-fridges, 24hr room service, tea/coffee making facilities, bath amenities, Wi-Fi, IDD call facilities and much more.
We are centrally located in Colombo 3.
Our hotel facilities include a rooftop infinity pool with a fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, a restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan, Indian and Continental Cuisine, two well stocked bars, laundry and dry cleaning services, a business centre, airport transfers, parking facilities and much more.
I hope you will visit us again and try the full range of services we have to offer at Renuka City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Balikpapan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

the only thing which is good about this hotel is the cleanliness..
the rooms was very small, the pillow was disaster ( cant sleep at my first night)the breakfast not much choices, the staffs lack of services..lucky near the hotel, u can find other restaurant to have meals..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaNtienya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please note that we provide extra pillows on request.
We have a daily breakfast buffet that serves a full American breakfast with many Eastern options and Sri Lankan specialities at a very reasonable price.
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Roof top Infinity Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Renuka city on the Galle Road is a good business hotel with the rooms have the latest decor and style. The infinity pool at the terrace is the best feature of the hotel and trust me you would definitely like it during the day as well as during the evening. It has a bar too and overlooks the sea. Try to take the rooms in the new building(s). The old buildings do not have that good rooms when compared to new building. Also try to take the room which has the balcony. You will also get a partial view of the sea. Although the rooms are great, it lacks facilities like tioletaries, iron board, bathrobe etc. At the same price there are other hotels who provide these things as a part of the room. Also there are fewer rooms which has the double bed facility. The food is ok and the breakfast has very limited variant. I have stayed here multiple times however I didnt like the food since the menu is very limited ( taste is ok). The hotel is nearby some restaurants so you can go try and eat there. Wifi is free and for multiple devices which is another good thing about the hotel as compared to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajitdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

With spotlessly clean, smallish rooms and super friendly staff, the Renuka is a reasonable mid range option if you are just needing a bed and breakfast.
There are no areas to lounge around this hotel in the evening, except the rooftop pool which is small but enjoyable for the view and the tiny bar, gym and half dozen banana lounges up there. Finding the pool is somewhat of an adventure through the rabbit-warrenesque passageways, as is finding the restaurant! Therefore eating out and lounging in one of the fab bars and restaurants in Colombo is in order here.
Breakfast is what you would expect and perfectly OK - with no outdoor option.
Once again, (solo traveller) I found myself in the situation of being shown to quite possibly the worst room in the hotel, and having to ask to be relocated to a better room (even though I had paid for a couples room with view). I'm not sure if this is a hotel tactic or purely my luck! So If you don't like the first room you are shown, ask for a better option!
For just a few dollars more, I would probably upgrade to a better hotel next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkydoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of here and was quite pleased with the hotel. Booked a city deluxe room which is the newer part of the hotel. There seems to be 3 different sections. The room was new, spacious and comfortable. Spotlessly clean. The new rooms are a bit of a journey through the old and new building and required a change of elevators, very odd but fine when you get used to it. The star of the hotel would have to be the pool area. Perfect place to relax and see the sun set. Infinity pool was lovely and modern. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay again. My only faults are the under sheet on the bed seemed plasticky and slipped resulting in the sheets not staying tight and the underside of the quilt cover seemed to end short of the bed, quite strange. Breakfast was great, enough choice and the Sri Lankan options were delicious. I did feel it was a bit overpriced considering you can get rooms at Cinnamon Grand for not much more (at my time of staying).

As a previous poster commented, I too was approached on the street by someone claiming to work at the hotel and convinced me to go to the temple with him on his way to work as there was a festival on, it was on the way. There was no festival and then tried to talk me into buying gems. Then claimed the tuk tuk fare was RP4000. I didn't pay and reported this to the hotel. This has nothing to do with the hotel and they can't be held responsible for outsiders claiming to work there. Just a fact of Colombo. Be wise.


.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed in Renuka hotel and everything is excellent. Laundry service and room cleanliness is very good. Our stay was good and comfortable. All staffs were very pleasant except a waiter named Madhu Shah in restaurant. He was very arrogant and need some training to cope up with hospitality sevice. it is advisable to put names in the uniform to identify the staff as we had to ask them the name every time for personalised service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santhoshkumarmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for sending us your feedback. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and a review such as yours is so rewarding.We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with one of our restaurant stewards. We will look into this in detail and we apologise for any inconvenience caused in this regard.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Renuka City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#16 of 54 in Colombo
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#21 of 54 in Colombo
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#18 of 54 in Colombo
187 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#13 of 54 in Colombo
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#23 of 54 in Colombo
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing