We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Male
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 6 days. The service was great with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were clean but our room was old and needed renovation. We picked a room from the old building because it was cheaper. The beds were a tad too hard for my taste. The amnesties were good in the toilet but would have liked the minibar to be stocked. The best part was the infinity pool and on the terrace. It was small but nice with a great view of the Indian Ocean. Breakfast was a little disappointing. The prompt room service and laundry service was appreciated though. The best thing about this hotel is the service. Overall a nice place for a good price in a great location.

Room Tip: Take note to book a room from the new wing. The old rooms in the old building need renovation. And r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraNazeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write this review about your stay at Renuka City Hotel! We felt very happy to read about your overall satisfaction with the offered services. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Renuka City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    272
    172
    39
    26
See reviews for
94
190
59
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is by far above and beyond the rest. The location is spectacular. The hotel are immaculate and well maintained. The wonderful staff are friendly, helpful and genuine in their kindness. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlynellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the hotel. It was a pleasure to read about your experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it would be a pleasure to be your host again in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights before getting the train to Kandy. On arrival we requested a room at the back of the hotel as we had read that these rooms were quieter and the staff were very helpful in finding us a pleasant room. The rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped, the staff were very helpful and friendly and we found the location ideal for seeing some of the sights in Colombo.
The pool on the rooftop was a relaxing spot and the gym was newly renovated - it certainly made this apparently 'business' hotel much less formal. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyHudsonHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We thank you for taking your valuable time to write this wonderful feedback for Renuka City Hotel. We are delighted to know that you liked our hotel and that our staff took good care of you. Our great team is always looking for ways to make your stay more comfortable. We wish to see you back soon and we thank you again for your patronage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

three nights here and it was fantastic. after a long journey around sri lanka it was so so nice to stay in a clean hotel with a great bed, amazing shower and bathroom, tv and fantastic rooftop pool. staff were really friendly and professional. loved our stay here definitely recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eanddbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We thank you for your valuable time to write this feedback on Tripadvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We always thrive to make sure our guest expectations are exceeded and as mentioned by you, we feel we did achieve our goal to an extent. Such positive reviews help our team to further improve their performance and do even better next time. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Renuka City Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Its worth the price, stayed here for two days. The location is the best part, It is situated right next to the shore and in central colombo so everything is close by. Not much to do in the hotel and food options didn't look that appealing but if you are a on a small budget its pretty decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amritpaldesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your time to write this review about your recent stay at Renuka City Hotel! We are happy to know that you had a great experience here at our hotel. As you have mentioned, we are located right in the city center of Colombo, which compliments well with our service standards as well.

We thank you for staying with us and wish to see you soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was really good and comfort to stay there.Express check in.Though I booked city view room, They upgraded to sea-view room upon our request. Room service is quick. Break fast is nothing to complaint.Really helpful staffs. Great hospitality.
what I disliked- they charged for the disposable shaving razor. Usually , shaving razors are the
basic bathroom kits in Asian Hotels. Even IN SOME hotels, though they do not keep it,upon our
request,if they provide, they do not charge for that. Water force in the shower is very slow.

Room Tip: I recommend this hotel to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mondyKarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a review for Renuka City Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our level best to make sure every guest is looked after and their needs are met. Also, please accept our sincere apologies for the areas of concern mentioned by you and we will review these comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel offer outstanding service and dedication to guest. No one has the forced smile or fake greeting, they really enjoy you and are wonderful. The best part about the property is that it does not in any way feel like a hotel. The rooms are offer a very personal and private experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padonhelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeewa P, Manager at Renuka City Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We thank you for your stay at Renuka City Hotel! We are flattered with your positive comments. We are glad that we were able to make your recent stay a memorable one. We thank you again and hope to see you back soon on your next visit to Colomboi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing