We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Place”
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An OK Place”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The place is average. The rooms are basic but clean. The rooms have no view. However, the breakfast buffet is good, especially the Sri Lanka dishes. The service is nothing special; but the staff is polite and cordial.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    276
    180
    39
    26
See reviews for
96
198
60
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

No news paper provided. No hot water in reality. No quality TV channels. Restaurant having very limited food menu for Indian food. Food costs are little higher for the quality they provide. Untrained local guys for restaurant services and a black stout guy often disturbed with silly and stupid questions like food is good? every time I ate there and tried to clear the table before I finish.
Business trip, so i used this hotel only to sleep at night. Ok to try for solo travelers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leadhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in October for 6 nights during the cricket World Cup, the hotel was very clean, staff were very friendly and the breakfast was perfect.
The only downside is there was some building work going on next door meaning it was quite loud in the morning and it was always hit and miss with hotel pronunciation with tuk-tuks! But overall it was exactly as we wanted and perfect value for staying in Colombo.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My visit to Colombo was a nostalgic visit. I looked up for a hotel on the internet to suit my requirement and budget. Renuka Hotel came up with my requirements. The location was perfect. The price per night was slightly more than I expected but I was willing to pay for the comfort offered. I checked in to the new wing called Renuka City Hotel. The bathroom was extremely clean and fresh linen was provided. Due to hot weather I had to have showers three to four times a day and housekeeping happily provided the extra towels (had to call twice or thrice to get the towels). Breakfast was included in the room charges. They provide Indian and continental buffet for breakfast in their restaurant "The Palmyrah". The staff were not attentive and chatted among themselves when I was trying to attract their attention. Few days I had to get up from the table and walk up to them to get their attention. The same restaurant provides North Sri Lankan dinner on menu. I entertained guests there and the service from staff were far superior in the evening than in the morning. My advice regarding WiFi charges is not to take the service offered by the hotel if you are staying in the hotel for more than a day. It is costly and I couldn't even connect to it - despite the technical support from the internet provider. On the second day of my stay I ended up buying a dongle with a local data SIM card and got a faster, a superior service and was much cheaper. The swimming pool and the gym were under repairs t the time of my stay and the staff were not helpful for an alternative venue to swim or gym. Its cheaper to hire a car with driver for 8 hours per day from a local car hiring company found by googling on the internet than haphazardly hiring a tuk tuk or a car from the hotel. Overall I would rate Renuka above average, but due to the staff attitudes I am rating average. Would I stay again at Renuka Hotel? Possibly at the Renuka City Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter even if they were next to the main road. Only thing that woke me up many nights we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very pleased with the service and the location of the hotel is quite central too. I could only book a standard room as the deluxe ones were fully booked. Rooms were a bit small specially the bed with 2 of us and a 10 month old baby. The hotel manager Babu was very helpful and arranged Colombo sightseeing for us. Swimming pool was closed for removation but we went to Cinnamon grand for lunch and used their pool for a nominal fee. We stayed in the city wing which is the newer wing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose the hotel so that my 2children under 8 could primarily use the pool. A tour rep booked it for us after being assured it had a pool. Straight up to our room to change and back in foyer with arm bands in minutes 5 ! Sorry sir pool under reconstruction! Thats ok we 'll check out and go to another hotel with pool! ok but we must charge you for 3 nights!!! After a 4 hour standoff this was reduced to one night charge for the 5 mins in the room getting our costumes on. When I asked to see the manager they sent me the head of cleaning.After I found out the duty managers name they told me he was on holiday...just after he'd walked past me. I created a huge poster for the lobby with a poolnot in use sign on and left. Obnoxious staff!!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were booked in this hotel for 3 nights in this hotel. although we stayed just for two nights but we were charged for 3. We were 3 adults in a single room on 4th floor but it didn't look cramped at all. Spacious rooms, Access to a balcony, perfectly clean bathrooms and hardwood flooring with a nice selection of tv channels made our stay a good one. The location is better for the people with business purposes. Not a lot of restaurants and cafes are nearby. Breakfast was not included so it became a 200 USD per night issue for us. I think there are better options out there which include breakfast in their package. In my opinion the services are good but not worth 170 USDs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHZallrounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,726 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#20 of 51 in Colombo
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 51 in Colombo
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#26 of 51 in Colombo
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Property: Renuka City Hotel
Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing