We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
217
209
59
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
209
59
18
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 510 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2019

In the heart of the city centre of Colombo in the most busy neighborhood and next to the train station, this hotel exists at a good rate. it is something between, a hotel, a hostel and an Airbnb. Using it for a couple of days (you do not need to spend more than 2 days in Colombo) it is at an ideal location, and very clean. The receptionists speak very good English, they give you good information on what to do, where to eat and what places to visit. They also give warnings on possible scams that are taking place outside the hotel and the nearby area.

Highly recommended. The rooms offers hot water, toilet paper, soap, shampoo, clean bed linen, and even though they are next to a train station (made us worry in the beginning) they are pretty quiet to sleep in.

Drinking water can be purchased (a bit expensive) through the shop floor.

The only thing that we would like it to improve, is that the entrance is not very visible and taxis are not always able to stop in front of the main entrance as it is in the main junction of Colombo, meaning it is busy at all times.

In addition, in the morning during our stay, works were conducted in the room next door, and we woke up quite early - something that we did not like at all. The workers were rude when we told them that we are sleeping and should not bang things around.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mglap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear Mglap,


Thank you for the Detailed Review and the 5 stars!

We Sincerely apologize about the disturbances, since then, we have rectified it!

Yes, the entrance is on the main road. But we do have a basement available round back, both for easy access and parking!

We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

I spent my last night in Sri Lanka at this hotel and am pleased to say it was very comfortable and ideally placed for visiting Dutch Hospital area for bars and restaurants. The staff were very helpful in organising my transport back to the airport.

Date of stay: November 2018
2  Thank Grahame D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear Grahame D,

Thank you for the kind words! we would like another green dott there hehe!

We wish you safe travels! Hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Room is as exactly as per pictured on booking site. Very nice cement-style renovation.

Good location - walking distance to the train station, bus station. But expect noises from the train and traffic. It’s walking distance to the hosp building where the atas food places are, casino too.

Staff was nice and friendly.

Oh, only thing is that the bottled water in the room’s chargeable.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank daniellefyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear fangyingy,


Thank you for the wonderful review!! it was our pleasure to have been a service to you!

Yes, the water bottle is just a $1 hehe.

We wish you Safe travels and hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

+ nice welcome and tips, room ready before the expected time, excellent cleanliness, complimentary tea & coffee (not the bottle of water though), good free Wi-Fi in the room, excellent location (close to the train station), calm despite the fact the place stands in the middle of a busy crossroad, hot water and air-con available, towel and toiletry
- the super deluxe queen room was NOT great value for money: poor soundproofing, lack of furniture (no chair, no small table...), no fridge, breakfast not included

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CREYME
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2019

Dear CREYME,

Thank you for the detailed review. It was our pleasure to have been a service to you!

We are sorry that it was "not value for money". The rooms come with double glazed windows to cut the sound out and the room design is a "minimalist design" and is as the title suggests.

We do include a basic breakfast.

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

We stayed here for only 6 hours as it was a quick overnight stop between landing in Colombo & heading onto the Train to Kandy & Ella.
Great location, right next to the Colombo Fort Train Station in the city.
For the price, it's great value, very basic room, good bed & bathroom.
Air con & concrete, so rooms were cooled (which is a must in Sri Lanka!)
Service was good & friendly, they picked us up from the airport which made things easier, but I recommend looking at Uber if you have it (it's a bit cheaper)
Free Wifi which worked, and overall good value for money for location.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galanta19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Dear Galanta19,

Thank you for the Kind Words! it was our please to have been a service to you!

We wish you safe Travels and Hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews