We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
217
209
59
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
209
59
18
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 510 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

As we pulled into the garage at the back of the building in our arranged airport pick up ($25) I feared the worst. The back alley is a bit of a slum and our driver had to slowly drive across a plank to get over a ditch.

However we were then shown up to the main building, bags being carried for us. The hotel is very very basic but this is shown in the price. We are then shown the drinks fridge in the lobby which had really good prices! It was around $1 per drink.

We got to our room, we had room 15. It was really nice. It was modern and clean the bed was comfortable as well. My only complaint about the room was the door was a bit hard to close, you really had to slam it to lock it properly.

In the morning we had breakfast for $1 it consisted of a yoghurt, toast, bananas and a boiled egg. I feel for $1 it was totally worth it and filled us up for the day ahead.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a cheap stay while they explore the city as it’s amazing value for money and a great location. However if you want more luxury I would spend more money!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank ThePaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear ThePaulC,


We appreciate the detailed wording.. Thank you! it is indeed a budget hotel !

We wish you safe travels and yes, we will be having a look at the No: 15 door!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

Really lovely room in a great location for Galle Face Green. The hotel seems a little dodgy when you first go in but our room was modern, stylish, very clean and had a really nice bathroom. It was great value for money. They also offer a cheap ($1) and perfectly adequate breakfast. The staff were friendly. They offer airport pickup for $25, it’s a bit off a pain to organise as you have to ring on arrival but seemed like good value for money. Would definitely recommend for a cheap and cheerful overnight stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HeatherSp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear HeatherSp1,

Thank you for the Kind Words! we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

The Airport Transfer; a quick ring to set everything into motion is all it takes hehe!

We wish safe Travels!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019

Great location near the train station. Room (on 2nd floor) was new, super clean and bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and modern. Great AC in the room. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
When in Colombo DO NOT miss the Buddhist Gangaramaya Temple and Temple of Sri Kailawasanathan Swami Devasthanam Kovil which is Colombo´s oldest Hindu Temple. These two temples were the best we have seen anywhere is Asia. Make sure you spend a decent amount of time at both as there is a lot to see. Also, walk to Old Dutch Hospital to an excellent choice of restaurants.
I would do without their breakfast as it was uninteresting; untoasted bread, hard boiled egg, a yoghurt. There is a nice little shop just outside the hotel for very good food and juices. Just take a taxi from the airport to the hotel. It is VERY easy and cheaper that having the hotel send a taxi to pick you up.

Room tip: Stay on 2nd floor for sure.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eshana2013, Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear Thea B,

Thank you for the kinds words. The breakfast is designed to be very basic, to start one off for the day!

We guarantee safety of passage, safe drivers and vehicles with the airport Transfers!

We wish you safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed on the second floor and the rooms are clean and modern. Very powerful air con which can be fully adjusted.
Hotel is very close to the train station roughly a 5 minute walk which was great for us.
The hotel was however very noisy at night being close to the main road.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 660ciarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Front Office Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Dear 660ciarah

Thank you for the kind word! all rooms come with a double glazing to cut the noise out!

We wish you safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

CityBeds The Regent offers outstanding value for a hotel right in the middle of the Fort area of Colombo. As other reviewers have said, the hotel doesn’t look like much from the outside and doesn’t offer many common amenities like a lobby or lounge, however it makes up for this with the cleanest, most spacious and well appointed rooms we came across in our two week trip. Very comfortable. Stay in the Super Deluxe Queen room and avoid the breakfasts and overpriced airport transfer.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank harrisong414
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Front Office Manager at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Dear harrisong414,

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation! The Breakfast is designed to be "simple" and just as a start off for the day.

The Airport Transfer is based on its surety of complete service!

We wish you safe Travels!

Kind Regards,
Citybeds Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews