We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud - Good food - Poor Service - Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taphouse by RNR

Taphouse by RNR
Ranked #256 of 550 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loud - Good food - Poor Service - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

They have a good selection of drinks. and prices are also good. This is a very good bar experience and a nice place to hangout with friends. cocktails are not so good, but manageable.
Do not forget to reserve a table. it gets crowded on Fridays and Saturdays. You can sit outside or inside. and they have live bands too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chathini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taphouse_by_RnR, Public Relations Manager at Taphouse by RNR, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you Chathini for your review .
we are glad you enjoyed your night out at Taphouse by RnR . we have live bands on everyday except for Mondays and Wednesdays.
we like to go that extra mile for our customers and become an exceptional place in Colombo so let us know how we can improve on our services. visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    39
    14
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's the place to get together ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

A good place to get together with friends and have chat while having a drink. It's always busy in the evening. Love to spend my time there on weekends

Helpful?
1 Thank JonSnowSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taphouse_by_RnR, Public Relations Manager at Taphouse by RNR, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you MadhuRaBathiYa for review . we are glad to hear that you love to spend time at Taphouse by RnR, it is definitely the favorite hang out spot in Colombo for many. hope to see you at Taphouse soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food with Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Perfect place to unwind and relax in the evening with Amazing food and service. Its not the typical restaurant . The Menu is quirky with some mouth watering food. The music just make you want to dance .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamierod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taphouse_by_RnR, Public Relations Manager at Taphouse by RNR, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review jamierod . our staff goes that extra mile to make Taphouse a unique experience for all of you , we are so happy to hear you enjoyed everything about Taphouse by RnR. do visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Decent food, poor service and poor acoustics”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This reincarnation of O Bar maintains the poor service standards of the previous location. The decor is quite drab but the food is decent and the drinks are decent value. The band playing was terrible last Friday and the acoustics were all messed up so ambiance was severely lacking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NarenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best at the heart of Colombo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Taphouse is one of my regular places in Colombo. Every Wednesday, Thursday & Friday they provide live music. Specially on Fridays there's electrifying crowd till late night. Also they have some attractive promotions on Fridays. Apart from beer, cocktails & bar snack menu are also resonable. Whatever the time we want there's a waiter looking at us & it just a matter of waving the hand. Very good place to chill out & reunion with some crazy friends of all ages.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suresh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taphouse by RNR also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Taphouse by RNR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing