We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a typical city hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“a typical city hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you want to see colombo (b.t.w. not a very special city...) this lakeside hotel has a good restaurant and a good pool area. the rooms are quite big, but outdated and do not reflect a very special atmosphere. It is within walking distance of the old dutch hospital where a lot of trendy shops and restaurants are.
Next to the dutch hospital there is the hilton als a good alternative

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you like the location and the sumptuous food of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. The pool area is one of the best attractions for nature lovers and is relished by many a guest. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope we would have another opportunity to indulge you in our Cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    626
    188
    66
    49
See reviews for
418
496
115
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is at the heart of city and has all the amenities, its a great place to stay in except for the service. As if it is just beyond their capacities to deliver the best. new rooms are really good specially with the balconies.

Room Tip: Look out for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the five star review of your stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed the comfort of our new accommodation and amenities, even though you encountered some service issues. We hope you had the opportunity of visiting our fully equipped gym/spa facilities and savouring the sumptuous authentic cuisine from across the globe, featured in many of our restaurants. Thank you for your patronage and we hope you will visit us for a longer stay next time.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just a 3 day stay with a group. When we booked in, tired and just wanting to unpack and relax, half of us got to our rooms and found the card keys didn't work - trek back to the reception. The lounge bar just couldn't cope with the most basic requests on day one. Thankfully things improved and we enjoyed good and pleasant service from the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flookie2695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are concerned to read your review and we do apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the keycard issue. However, we are glad that your rest of the stay was pleasant and you experienced good service. We thank you for bringing up your observations. Notwithstanding the issues, we hope you will spend your next stay in Colombo with us. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I spent a week at the Cinnamon Lakeside for a week and I have to say I was more than impressed. The standard of the rooms, guest areas and restaurants were excellent and I thought the staff were cheerful and very helpful. I would not hesitate to return to the Cinnamon Lakeside hotel when I am next in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review and your assurance to return to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo for your next stay in Sri Lanka. We are inspired with your kind sentiments and are delighted that you consider our facilities as excellent. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and indulge you yet again in our warm Cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had booked a Twin and a Single at the Cinnamon Lakeside. When we checked in they couldn't offer us rooms on the same floor so they asked if we'd mind a Triple and a Twin for the same price next to each other ! Suited us. The check in could have been faster but the staff were very cordial and courteous so no complaints there , plus we got a free Early Check In. The room was well appointed with a partial view of the lake. The general standard of cleanliness was high. We had a quick breakfast in the coffee shop the first day and a proper lunch buffet; both good. The breakfast buffet the next morning was good with a nice variety of both Sri Lankan and Indian and Western food. The check out, however, took almost an hour because the Front Office wanted to charge us for half a day extra ! They supposedly had not been informed of the free early check in offered to us. That was eventually sorted out but it did leave a bit of a bad taste especially since our departure was delayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGolfer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo and enjoyed the food and the facilities on offer. However, we regret that the check-out conditions did not meet with your expectations. Our commitment is to provide our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry, thus constructive observations are welcomed positively. We hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from visiting us again. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Yet another overpriced Sri Lanka hotel. By Sri Lanka standards this is probably rated good overall (there wer lots of locals there for the buffet. See below) but I am rating based on how it holds itself out against other 5 star hotels around major tourist countries to be fair and consistent in reviewing. i.e. Not just relative to Sri Lanka.

It is in serious need of refurbishment. I don't know when it was last refurbished but it looks like 20 years ago. Amazes me that a top hotel (so it claims) has dirty, marked carpets even on check in. The room controls were quite funny if you like the retro theme. I felt like I was Goldfinger in the James Bond movie. The only thing they didn't have was the "gas everyone in the map room" button

Check in and check out is laboured and slow due to ridiculous manual process and segregated tasks.

We asked for non smoking room but got one stinking of smoke. So much so that when we got home we could still smell the smoke.

We were travelling with small children and they had no interconnecting rooms or alternatives to the smoke smelling one.

Positives were, fantastic pool and great friendly staff.

Food in 7degrees was awful (at usual over inflated prices seen across Sri Lanka whatever star of hotel). I have had better cardboard economy pizzas in my time and the hummus dish was swimming in a tub of olive oil. The sandwich bar in the basement was little better. nice, overpriced, croissants but the smoothies resembled a cross between milkshake and baby powder. Don't think they had ever seen a fruit in their making! Plus point was lobby buffet where we had lunch. Value here was excellent and food a very high standard. Also poolside bar where we had fish and chips was well made and tasty.

This was our fifth hotel on our trip to Sri Lanka and what we have learnt through experience is you get little more quality as you go up the chain of prices. Staying at budget to top (supposedly) 5 star hotels I have to say you are better of staying in budget in Sri Lanka as all you do is pay 5x the price depending on how posh the name is but with no extra service, quality or benefit and come away feeling ripped off. Additionally, my son and wife went on rugby tour the week before where all of the accommodation (most food) and travel was arranged by an Agent. This was excellent value and by far the better way to experience Sri Lanka. Given where the language barrier is always an issue in agreeing prices and deals (i.e. claim of lack of understanding) until you come to pay and find the bill is way higher than agreed and then their level of English appears to switch to professor of language standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank critchdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are concerned to note from your review that your stay with us has not been up to your expectation, even though you have experienced some memorable moments at the pool and our Cinnamon hospitality. We however thank you for bringing up your observations and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Should you wish to stay with us again, notwithstanding the mentioned, please feel free to contact me personally and I shall make arrangements to make your next experience with us a pleasant one.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great location but also staff is terrific from the time you meet them at airport baggage claim. Gentleman at baggage clairm could not have been more helpful arranging last minute transportation to hotel.
Spa staff are great and a bargin by US standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo and indulged in our great Cinnamon hospitality. ‘Azmaara Spa’ is a Balinese inspired spa which is very popular among our guests and we are happy that you got the opportunity to enjoy their spa treatment. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing