We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I spent a week at the Cinnamon Lakeside for a week and I have to say I was more than impressed. The standard of the rooms, guest areas and restaurants were excellent and I thought the staff were cheerful and very helpful. I would not hesitate to return to the Cinnamon Lakeside hotel when I am next in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your five-star review and your assurance to return to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo for your next stay in Sri Lanka. We are inspired with your kind sentiments and are delighted that you consider our facilities as excellent. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and indulge you yet again in our warm Cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had booked a Twin and a Single at the Cinnamon Lakeside. When we checked in they couldn't offer us rooms on the same floor so they asked if we'd mind a Triple and a Twin for the same price next to each other ! Suited us. The check in could have been faster but the staff were very cordial and courteous so no complaints there , plus we got a free Early Check In. The room was well appointed with a partial view of the lake. The general standard of cleanliness was high. We had a quick breakfast in the coffee shop the first day and a proper lunch buffet; both good. The breakfast buffet the next morning was good with a nice variety of both Sri Lankan and Indian and Western food. The check out, however, took almost an hour because the Front Office wanted to charge us for half a day extra ! They supposedly had not been informed of the free early check in offered to us. That was eventually sorted out but it did leave a bit of a bad taste especially since our departure was delayed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGolfer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your five-star review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo and enjoyed the food and the facilities on offer. However, we regret that the check-out conditions did not meet with your expectations. Our commitment is to provide our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry, thus constructive observations are welcomed positively. We hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from visiting us again. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Yet another overpriced Sri Lanka hotel. By Sri Lanka standards this is probably rated good overall (there wer lots of locals there for the buffet. See below) but I am rating based on how it holds itself out against other 5 star hotels around major tourist countries to be fair and consistent in reviewing. i.e. Not just relative to Sri Lanka.

It is in serious need of refurbishment. I don't know when it was last refurbished but it looks like 20 years ago. Amazes me that a top hotel (so it claims) has dirty, marked carpets even on check in. The room controls were quite funny if you like the retro theme. I felt like I was Goldfinger in the James Bond movie. The only thing they didn't have was the "gas everyone in the map room" button

Check in and check out is laboured and slow due to ridiculous manual process and segregated tasks.

We asked for non smoking room but got one stinking of smoke. So much so that when we got home we could still smell the smoke.

We were travelling with small children and they had no interconnecting rooms or alternatives to the smoke smelling one.

Positives were, fantastic pool and great friendly staff.

Food in 7degrees was awful (at usual over inflated prices seen across Sri Lanka whatever star of hotel). I have had better cardboard economy pizzas in my time and the hummus dish was swimming in a tub of olive oil. The sandwich bar in the basement was little better. nice, overpriced, croissants but the smoothies resembled a cross between milkshake and baby powder. Don't think they had ever seen a fruit in their making! Plus point was lobby buffet where we had lunch. Value here was excellent and food a very high standard. Also poolside bar where we had fish and chips was well made and tasty.

This was our fifth hotel on our trip to Sri Lanka and what we have learnt through experience is you get little more quality as you go up the chain of prices. Staying at budget to top (supposedly) 5 star hotels I have to say you are better of staying in budget in Sri Lanka as all you do is pay 5x the price depending on how posh the name is but with no extra service, quality or benefit and come away feeling ripped off. Additionally, my son and wife went on rugby tour the week before where all of the accommodation (most food) and travel was arranged by an Agent. This was excellent value and by far the better way to experience Sri Lanka. Given where the language barrier is always an issue in agreeing prices and deals (i.e. claim of lack of understanding) until you come to pay and find the bill is way higher than agreed and then their level of English appears to switch to professor of language standard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank critchdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We are concerned to note from your review that your stay with us has not been up to your expectation, even though you have experienced some memorable moments at the pool and our Cinnamon hospitality. We however thank you for bringing up your observations and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Should you wish to stay with us again, notwithstanding the mentioned, please feel free to contact me personally and I shall make arrangements to make your next experience with us a pleasant one.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great location but also staff is terrific from the time you meet them at airport baggage claim. Gentleman at baggage clairm could not have been more helpful arranging last minute transportation to hotel.
Spa staff are great and a bargin by US standards.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo and indulged in our great Cinnamon hospitality. ‘Azmaara Spa’ is a Balinese inspired spa which is very popular among our guests and we are happy that you got the opportunity to enjoy their spa treatment. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our first two nights in Sri Lanka before embarking on a two weeks tour around the country. Everything was very good. The staff were helpful, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. There is a good selection of restaurants and bars and the buffet at breakfast and dinner were both very good. Overall a great start to the holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a great stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo experiencing comfort in a spacious room and enjoying sumptuous cuisine in our many restaurants. We appreciate your kind sentiments and we hope that your next stay at our hotel would be a longer one. We value your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Comfortable rooms, 9 restaurants and bars, friendly helpful service, amazing breakfast buffet, I couldnt want for more.
I was really pleased with this hotel. The bedroom was spacious, bright with the curtains open but blacked out when they are fully closed, the bedside lighting control box took care of that though with about 8 different options. The room was spotlessly clean with a luxury bathroom and a brilliant shower. A complimentary paper every morining is a nice touch.
After arriving on the early morning flight via Doha we decided to relax in and by the pool. The attendents were there to find a seat or sun bed, issue fresh towels and bring a refreshing drink. After a short while we were overcome by the delicious smells wafting from the poolside barbeque and had to order, my fish kebabs with salad really hit the spot!
Generally I dont eat in hotels because my experience is that they dont seem to try very hard. The Cinnamon Lakeside is certainly an exception and we enjoyed a couple of great dinners on the terrace where you can combine chouces from the Chinese, Thai and Indian/European fusion restuarants that front onto it.
The terrace is also a great spot to sit with a pint of Lion or whatever your tipple and watch the pelicans, terns, egrets, cormorants and a guy on an outrigger canoe casting his net, all competeing for a share of the teeming little fish in the lake adjacent to the hotel.
The buffet breakfast is awsome, and that is not a word I use lightly! Fresh fruit, cooked breakfast buffet, curries, etc., etc, omelets and other egg styles cooked to order. If you have not had them before, be sure to order an egg hopper, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fearlessbiker916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind review with a five-star rating. We are glad that you had a perfect stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo savouring great food at our many restaurants that feature authentic cuisine from across the globe and relaxing by our large infinity pool with its surrounding scenic view. It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. Having indulged in our Cinnamon hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Centrally located hotel, easily accessible. Not too far from airport. Taxi's are easily available.

Huge spread of breakfast. Very courteous staff. Please ensure that you thoroughly check the bill at the time of checkout, as the hotel doesn't give a bifurcation of room tariffs & the applicable taxes.

Room Tip: Book rooms on higher floors which are lake facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khyats24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Cinnamon hospitality and also enjoyed the huge spread at the breakfast buffet. We seek your kind understanding with regard to the final bill generation, where the system automatically calculates taxes/service charge percentages already fed into it, and produces the final bill. But the tariff breakdown is not printed on the bill. However, we regret any inconvenience caused and we hope this issue would not deter you from staying with us again next time you visit Colombo. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $120 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee, planning your dream wedding or organising a conference, attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing