We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel (it's almost a resort really) is a very special place in an amazing city/country. From the pickup by the hotel staff at the airport, to the refreshing towel at reception/check-in to the complimentary bottle of wine brought to our room, the service is impeccable. The female front-desk manager (Nayani?) was very friendly yet professional and was at pains to ensure our stay was memorable.
The room was huge and well equipped, as well as clean with room service choices being quite varied and reasonably priced. There were a couple of things in the room that could have done with a little maintenance, but they were tiny given the other benefits on offer.
The male host in the Executive Lounge (Darshi?) remembered us from the previous night - quite lovely.
Staff in the restaurants were friendly and most attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your five star review. It is most delighting to learn that you had a wonderful stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo enjoying our warm hospitality. Your constructive observations are very much appreciated, as this is how we could continuously keep improving our standards. Our hope is to see you at our property on your next visit to this island. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Cinnamon Lakeside hotel in Colombo Sri Lanka has nice rooms, great swimming pool, excellent breakfast and restaurants. The staff, e.g. Anuradhi Bulathsinghala, greets you with a warm smile and welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your five-star review. We are happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and also to receive your wonderful comments. We appreciate the sentiments expressed. It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests who have had a total indulgence of our facilities. We thank you for your patronage and hope to see you again on your next business trip to Sri Lanka.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Proteas stay during the Tour of Sri Lanka iN Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel. As we all know sport teams come with high and lots of demands. The hotel and the wonderful staff were always available to assist in any need what so ever. Special thanks to Omer Idoors for his hospitality and professional service. Also special thanks to Konara and the bell desk team that help every time with the 107 pieces of luggage. You guys made it looks so easy the way you organize this. We go away with good memories and thank you all for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Congratulations on winning the T-Twenty series! Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to have been able to delight you and the South African Cricket team with our Cinnamon hospitality. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are glad that we were successful in making your stay unforgettable. Our desire is to see you all again with us at your next trip to Colombo. Thank you very much for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked for three nights when the South AFrican, Sri Lanka cricket and rugby teams are staying at the hotel. The welcoming drink and cold towels were a welcome touch.The reservationstaff worked hard to rectify and accommodate my requirements with patience and attentiveness.
In the Goodies restaurant a waiter made extra effort to ensure my order was perfect. While the trainee in North 7 degrees served a tasty meal while keeping the crows at bay.
The shops in the basement provided services and quality garments at a very reasonable price.
Ten minutes from the main train station in Colombo...will definitely return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wajela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our warm hospitality and had a comfortable stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. Besides, “Goodies” and “7° North”, we hope you had the time to enjoy our Thai and Singaporean restaurants too to enjoy authentic food. Your assurance to visit us again for a longer stay is heartening. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and thank you very much for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

All of us came from abroad to attend a wedding of a sibling at ths hotel. Bride was offered a bridal lounge that did not have proper air conditioning working. At one point power failed. In the longe area of the room there were no working lights. Some other lights were also not fully working. Bathrooms were clean but could see the dated fixtures and fittings. Floor had confetti from the previous day.
I was planning to stay the night after the event which could have been well over $100. I do understand that the hotel may as well have a tier system for standards but when the an event like a wedding if put on you expect nothing but the best which was not my experience this time. There were other issues which did not relate to rooms that further dissatisfied me but I feel this isn't the forum for it. Overall I feel that the 5 star service is not offered to all the paying guests equally.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are deeply disturbed to read that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We would do a thorough investigation and check on the issues mentioned by you and thank you for bringing them up. It is constructive observations such as yours that facilitate us to keep improving our standards. However, should you wish to return to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, please be assured that we will make every endeavour to make your stay a comfortable one.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is very well located place in the heart of Colombo. Was here for a weekend trip. The staff is very hospitable and friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel overlooks the Beira lake and my room was facing the same. The view was awesome ! It is slightly costly for my budget, but it is totally worth it. The hotel seems to have been refurbished recently. It has got a spic and span feel to it. Very warm staff. Truly recommended hotel for any purpose be it business, leisure, wedding, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased that you indulged in our warm hospitality and had a comfortable stay enjoying the scenic view of the lake. We appreciate the sentiments expressed and your recommending the hotel to all travelers, be it for business, leisure or banqueting. We hope you will visit us again soon for a longer stay. Thank you for your patronage of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice hotel with a very nice lobby. Losa restaurants. Nice thai restaurant. Good food, but still lotsa room for improvement if it wants to match the ambience! Rooms are slightly better than average. The view i got was bad. Bathrooms seem nice, but shower lacked good flow and hot water. When i came back in the evening, i found my door not fully closed and could enter my room without the key.

Buffet breakfast and dinner was good. Live music in the lobby.
Overall a very good experience staying in a lively hotel. Other good hotel is hilton, but this one's more lively.

Small shops in the basement for any emergency needs. Fitness club was not bad either. Some cafeterias in the basement too. Location very central. Walking distance from hilton and also very near the casinos.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vineet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us enjoying our facilities in totality. Also we are glad that you found the hotel to be lively and happening. It would be wonderful to have you back with us when you next visit Colombo. We thank you for your patronage of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 55 in Colombo
2,139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#6 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $134 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee, planning your dream wedding or organising a conference, attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing