We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stay in Colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Stay in Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wife and me stayed here two days during our 6 day honeymoon in SL....very nice hospitality...comfortable rooms.....they gave us a nice high sea facing room when we they found out we were honeymooners..
Only peeve was that its a bit busy during checkin /check out and you may have to wait a while.. but the staff are very nice...
The Cinnamon air freshers add a nice touch...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us. We are delighted to have been a part of this special start in your lives together. We wish you wedded bliss and look forward to seeing you at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo again.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    639
    190
    67
    49
See reviews for
429
511
120
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I checked into Cinnamon Lakeside right after a stay at Cinnamon Bey-Beruwala (which was absolutely gorgeous!). Cinnamon Lakeside is a lovely looking hotel and has excellent facilities.
The food was extremely good and so were the desserts. I did have a chat with the chef, a fantastic person who had worked earlier in some of the top hotel chains in India.

I did expect similar high standards of quality and service like Cinnamon Bey, but i was a little disappointed.
What let me down :
The Carpets : The carpets in the corridors on the hotel floors looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in years and had a lot of dirt stains (pics attached). Also felt the same about the carpet in the hotel room. This was quite a turn off.
The bathtub in my colleague's room got clogged and they had to use my bathroom as the water wouldn't drain.
In another colleague's room, the AC just didn't work (room no 110) and that made the room stuffy for the entire night.
The iron box in my room didn't work, but they replaced it with a working one in under 2 minutes.

I love Sri Lanka and its fantastic people, and hence would love to visit this beautiful country over and over again. If I hear of these little issues mentioned above being addressed, I'd probably consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel have the lake / pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your constructive criticism of our hotel. We appreciate the time taken to review us online as well as to give us feedback during your stay.
Your suggestions are being addressed and we are confident that you will enjoy your stay more next time around.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a value for money hotel, luxurious by all means..... situated at the lake, it gives a great view from the room, specially if its raining.... Great customer service and never say "no" staff.
You can start your day with unending breakfast spread and in evening relax by the pool enjoying your drink at the pool side cafe. Great food..... loved it.....
At night this place becomes more happening since the locals also enjoy this place for dinner and party etc..... Hotel lives by its name - Cinnamon, since you're greeted with lovely aroma of cinnamon and enjoy your room at the lakeside...
Its an hour from the Colombo airport, so that could become a little troublesome, specially during peak traffic hours... Otherwise its a great property which I would love to return to, every-time....

Room Tip: Get a room with lake side / pool side view...... Its a must must have......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shashwat_bedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and service at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. Thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers.

We are glad that you will be choosing to stay with us on your future visits too. We look forward to seeing you again.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

hi all.. well let me explain about my stay @ cinamon.. wonderful location amazing room in 6th floor delicious food.. but.. :( yeah i was in need to call airlines as well as hospital & called front desk,i was told to dial 0" i did and i requested to check with hospital naloka if any appointment need for Complete Arthritis Checkup, i prefer to do in sri lanka as it's cheep than my country, i am sure my english was good but the lady answered is so clue less what i am talking about again i question her can you hear me ÿes' fine i was disconnected what i heard from her is "your line not clear mam" again i dial "0" same lady samty i ask her why did you disconnect me she replied " your line was not clear" oh fine she can hear me clearly again i asked to check with hospital naloka if any appointment need for Complete Arthritis Checkup sorry mam cant hear you.. lie cant understand language during our conversation i notice that, and i was disconnected.. i went to office in 6th floor to check online that lady got me full details about Arthritis Checkup procedure & my question if they cant understand language why they disconnect me, if it happen so how we can get our information, check out i had issue thanks a lot for alex lobby manager for helping me

Room Tip: pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomez d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our location and rooms but were concerned to read your comments about our telephone lines and operators. We will look into this and rectify any shortcomings should there be any.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

we were at the Lake side for two days on the 6th floor.the room we got superb view with over
looking lake & pool side.
Thai & Long feng restaurant are are booked up specially weekend.both restaurant are good.
The pool looks over the lake & is the perfect spot for realaxing.
we were spent more time in the pool side, the staff who worked in the pool side very friendly &
attentive also pool side manager is very helpful he lookafter us very well.
overall it was great experience, the staff are so good they make us feel like home.

Room Tip: 6th floor over looking lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It is a pleasure to have made you feel at home during your stay with us at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We look forward to seeing you at our hotel again.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya-shi, Aichi, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is as the name suggests located on the south side of the lake in the center of the city. It is roughly half-way between the commercial part of the city and the port & railway station area. The other part of the name is evident when you enter the hotel and are met by the delightful aroma of cinnamon. Check-in is done as you sit in comfortable chairs, and with a minimum of fuss. The rooms are large, modern in style and opulent with all conveniences you would expect. Our room overlooked the lake and gave a beautiful view over it and the gardens below.
There is an excellent choice of restaurants. The Chinese restaurant was booked out when we came to dine, but that was no problem as we were put in the Thai restaurant and served from the Chinese menu. An added bonus is the excellent cafe-style restaurant in the basement which serves international food of an excellent standard all day at very reasonable prices. The outdoor bar overlooks the lake and provides a beautiful setting for evening drinks. The staff are very obliging. The large pool also overlooks the lake and is open till late. The spa and sports center is spotless and very comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for an odd-numbered room as these overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

We are glad you appreciated the relaxed ambiance we hope to convey, not just by our lake front setting, but through the warmth of our associates as well as through little touches such as a more personal check in.

We are happy also to extend flexible dining options and glad you enjoyed the food at our hotel.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days as I had heard a lot about the amazing rooms and service and I was not disappointed. I went with my family and from the moment we stepped foot inside the hotel, we were buffeted with smiles and free drinks. The rooms were gorgeously decorated and the view over the lake was great, but the best thing about this hotel is the food. There was such a variety to choose from and the prices were fairly reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are delighted to read of your pleasurable stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. Thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to seeing you at our hotel more often.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
3.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing